We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“woh! stunning presentation of stunning food”
Review of Jaan

Jaan
Ranked #27 of 10,607 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 50 - US$ 200
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Marina Bay
Description: Derived from the ancient Sanskrit word for ‘bowl’, JAAN is an intimate, 40-seat restaurant dedicated to showcasing the finest in Artisanal French cuisine in Singapore. The Artisanal menu by Chef de Cuisine Julien Royer is built around a passion to showcase the freshest ingredients through simple but beautiful dishes that reflect both culinary tradition and creativity. The result is an imaginative, innovative cuisine that celebrates and respects seasonality, terroir and the skills of the world’s best gourmet producers.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“woh! stunning presentation of stunning food”
Reviewed 12 September 2012

I have had a few high end meals in my life, but I think my meal at Jaan was the best. Each dish was perfectly prepared, and had subtle flavours that were a joy to experience. A lot of "fine dining" tends to overload you with intense and rich flavours that in the end make you feel a bit sick, Jaan soesnt do that, instead it takes great ingredients and fantastic chef's and makes for a perfect evening or lunchtime meal. Stunning stuff!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barnard666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    103
    49
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor service spoiler to am amazing meal”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

A feast for the eyes & tongue is how I would describe the meal. Each course was creatively presented & well explained. An amazing meal which does its creator proud.

The view from each table is spectacular.

However, service does not quite match up to the high standards of the food. We had to ask for a wine list twice, water & coffee were spilled on the table. The biggest letdown was when we had to walk out of an empty restaurant (around 2pm) without any service staff to see us out.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shital3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
79 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Top value lunch”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

The 3 course lunch special here is amazing value - you get the three course, plus chef's welcome gift, amuse bouche and misgsardes at the end of the meal as well. All with the million dollar views over the Marina.

The food itself is very modern and with fun touches too, so all in all a great package for a great price.

If you've ever wondered what fine dining is all about and would like to find out without breaking the back, this is the ideal way to do it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cpagia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Male
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent all the way”
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We had a Saturday lunch there with friends, and it was simply fantastic. I think we had around 7 or 8 courses ( I lost count) and each one was simply delightful. Chef Julien's creativity is truly magnificent. The presentations are just spectacular. Combined with the very attentive and genuine service provided by manager Max and his team made for an absolutely brilliant way to spend our Saturday afternoon. Max took the time to explain each one of the components of each dish, which made enjoying them so much easier and although I am a foodie I actually learned something that afternoon. The wine pairing was simply a match made in heaven and a must if you enjoy the degustation menu. Combine all this magic in a pot and add one of the most amazing views of the city and you end up with true luxury. My friends and I already have plans to return and we can’t wait to savour more of this truly outstanding gourmet temple

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank msyrbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A delicious 5 course degustation!”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

This is quite honestly the most amazing food! It was presented beautifully and the service was exceptional. The view from the restaurant is really special. I would highly recommend having the wine pairing because the wine complimented the food so well. Every dish was explained to us and made us feel so important.
Thank you so much for an unforgettable dinner!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leesa2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jaan also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Jaan? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing