We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“EXPENSIVE!!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jaan

Jaan
Ranked #33 of 10,311 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 50 - US$ 200
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, View
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Derived from the ancient Sanskrit word for ‘bowl’, JAAN is an intimate, 40-seat restaurant dedicated to showcasing the finest in Artisanal French cuisine in Singapore. The Artisanal menu by Chef de Cuisine Julien Royer is built around a passion to showcase the freshest ingredients through simple but beautiful dishes that reflect both culinary tradition and creativity. The result is an imaginative, innovative cuisine that celebrates and respects seasonality, terroir and the skills of the world’s best gourmet producers.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“EXPENSIVE!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

Really, really, really, really very expensive!! The food was OK, it was very good but the place is really very expensive!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank moises_jassan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    98
    43
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good food but not so great 'value'”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

The food is great and we enjoyed the scenic view and excellent service.

We've tried few items and personally I liked the fish. The starters were yummy and great with the recommended wine (Pinot noir). By the way take note of the menu is diff compared to their website.
If you wish to have a lunch meeting this is one of the best place.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank srikrishnak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Dining on a Higher Altitude!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

For the complete article and more photos, please visit http://PAOtotheLO.wordpress.com/2012/03/23/jaan/

Located on the 70th floor (Equinox Complex) of Swissotel at The Stamford in Singapore, Jaan is an intimate 40-seater restaurant that offers artisanal French cuisine.

Dining at Jaan is truly a wonderful and unique experience – it appeals to both the eyes and the tongue. Beautifully plated dishes, made with the finest ingredients, that’s what Jaan is all about.

They're having a 3-course set lunch menu every weekday which is relatively cheaper than dining there for dinner with the ala carte menu. The meal works out to be 7 course with all the freebies that they included so i must say that its value for money.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pao_Tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Most expensive lunch I've ever had”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

While in Singapore my family and I wanted to experience a Michelin starred restaurant for the first time and so we opted for Jaan. It was a 3 course lunch which turned out to be a AUD$100 bill per person which was a bit extravagant. However the food was beautiful, interesting and sometimes interactive. I asked the waiter if the bread was made in house but found out it was shipped from France which I'm a bit surprised about still.

The view was great from the 70th floor of the Stamford Hotel, but overall a good first time experience that I wouldn't redo to be honest.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mai L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Food 8.5/10, Service 5.5/10, Wine 2.5/10”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012 via mobile

Food is Michelin 2 star standard. But the front-of-house isn't doing the chef justice and the place needs a sommelier.

Ordered the 7-course tasting and some wine that was recommended on the wine pairing.

The wine was stale, and towards the end the waitress served me the petit four while I was still eating my dessert. When I asked why, she just kept insisting it's for after dessert, even when I said "Isn't it obvious I'm not done with dessert?"

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tym6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jaan also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Jaan? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing