We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great seafood and dessert” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Line

The Line
Ranked #72 of 10,424 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 25 - US$ 100
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese, Indian, Seafood, Sushi, European, Asian, Singaporean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Tanglin
Description: Modern surroundings designed by Adam Tihany and stylish bites from our enthusiastic chefs, make this all-day dining restaurant the place to be. International cuisine is featured at 16 theatre kitchens, while the bar offers a large selection of premium wines, juices and smoothies. After eight years, The Line remains as one of Singapore's favourite destinations for buffet lunch and dinner.
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great seafood and dessert”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

We went to the Line to celebrate my daughter's birthday. Book on line - there's a discount for making your reservation on line. If you love seafood - this will be the place for you. It has great fresh oysters. The japanese station also does freshly cut sashimi of a few different type of fish and octopus. My daughters loved the dessert wall. Cakes and puddings were all lined up. The chocolate fondue fountain had them as soon as we walked in. Overall, not a bad variety of different foods - there will be something to please everyone. Waiters were very attentive, clearing the tables very often and topping up drinks.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pinkiedink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

946 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    416
    339
    121
    42
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great breakfast...lots of choices!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012 via mobile

Besides coffee being $10 this buffet is fantastic! Incredible assortment of foods from Europe, America, Asia and all things in between. Asian hotels do breakfast well and this is no different.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Heiners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Amazing Dining Experience - Seafood Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

I was very impressed and enjoyed this 5 star dining experience. Amazing thing was, it was not buffet food, it was tasting and prepared as you would get at a 5 star restaurant ordering off the menu. There were areas set up as a market, Indian, Chinese, Indonesian/Malay, Pizza, BBQ, Thai, Salads, Breads, Japanese and Sushi Bar, Seafood (unbelievable selections and quality). Then the Dessert Area is something out of a complete bakery and ice cream shoppe. I really could not believe all the amazing foods available and the tastes and quality of what I had. The Seafood was so excellent and the chefs behind the seafood bar friendly and helpful and getting you the best selections. This is the best dinner buffet I have had anywhere in the world. It is the best you will find. The service was very good but could see the staff stretched as a busy place, but at a buffet you can get some help when your up for your next selection. Amazing!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aguy_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Buffet Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

First Class selection of all foods from all over the world some cook to order

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Appalling service, mediocre food, high prices”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

I have been spoiled by the food in KL but came to The Line with some friends to give it a try. We waited for nearly 15 minutes to get a table, and once seated another 20 minutes to order some wine and get it delivered. And then another 10 minutes for an ice bucket.

The buffet looked great, very well presented, but the seafood was bland, and there was practically a riot going on with what looked like locals going crazy for the crab. Honestly put me off the place - don't these people understand the concept of dignity...

Anyway we filled ourselves, paid the very expense bill and left.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Florence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Line also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to The Line? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing