We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class”

Senso Ristorante and Bar
Ranked #247 of 10,927 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 20 - US$ 100
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Chinatown
Description: Established in 2000 on 21 Club Street , Senso Ristorante & Bar is well-known for its authentic Italian fine-dining cuisine and its impeccable service. Senso Ristorante & Bar firmly believes in maintaining its high standards of excellent food, warm and sophisticated atmosphere.
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Top class”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Great service, good food, good wine and a patio. Recommended!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Traveler190511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    108
    47
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Elegant and smooth !”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Welcoming staff with an elegant decor. Italian / European cuisine. Highly-recommended.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank SteveandHazel52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
420 reviews
276 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A Perfect Lunch Venue”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Visited as Singapore celebrates Restaurant Week. The entrée of Buffalo Mozzarella wrapped in Parma Ham which is seared then baked, later served with black olive tapenade and a salad of arugula drizzled with vinaigrette is a meal by itself! The Boston Lobstar Taglierini, which they paired with a Sauvignon Blanc, was delightful. My husband's plat principale, the 8-hr Beef Cheek "Al Cacciatore", which was paired with a glass of Cannonao, melts in the mouth. We skipped the dessert of panna cotta because we were just so full, and had coffee instead. Service is attentive and informative without being bothersome. We will surely come back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YubaPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Senso”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Fabulous Sunday brunch, great service. Nice setting

Helpful?
Thank Emma521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ouch. that was shockingly bad!”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Unfortunately, Senso wins the award for my worst dining experience ever in Singapore. Here’s a quick summary why…

1. Amuse Bouche - i kid you not, they served Cole Slaw as an amuse bouche. COLE SLAW?!?!?

2. Bread – served 5 different types of bread rolls, all were dry and obviously not homemade. Why not one type that is actually edible instead of 5 dry types of inedible bread?

3. Starter – the $30 Veal Tonnato was a shocker – the veal was dry and tasteless. it basically looked like cheap, processed deli meat. The $30 Parma Ham and Mozzarella starter was equally poor. It was fried instead of served fresh – which killed the taste. It only tasted like oil.

4. Main – my Osso Bucco was a fatty, tasteless blob. When the took it to the chef, he said that was how the served it, but the chef did admit it was “tasteless”. Then why serve it that way?

5. Wine – a complete rip-off – the first wine was Terre di Talamo Vento Vermentino and was S$110, however, online it costs from $10 – 15 per bottle, which means I would expect it to cost $30 – 35 in Singapore. The other, Firriato Chiaramonte, costs under $10 online so I would expect max $30 in Singapore. The markup is ridiculous for poor quality wines.

I did complain to the sommelier - who i believe is the owner as well - and he didn't say a word. I think that they were shocked that someone called them out.

In summary, incredibly expensive for a VERY poor quality meal. There are good reasons that it was barely 1/3 full...

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cra24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Senso Ristorante and Bar also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Senso Ristorante and Bar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing