We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely restaurant ”

The Halia at Singapore Botanic Gardens
Reserve with Chope
The Halia at Singapore Botanic Gardens is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #50 of 12,644 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 30 - US$ 80
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Tyersall
Description: Nestled in the lush surroundings of the Ginger Garden, within Singapore's first world heritage - Singapore Botanic Gardens. The Halia was established in 2001 with great consideration to conform to the contours of the land and majestic trees. Our cuisine of Modern European with Asian Influences is a nod to Singapore's diverse and metropolitan landscape. Guests may choose to dine ensconced in the comfort of our air-conditioned Dining Room which still offer a view of the gardens through full-length glass windows or enjoy the natural breeze and surrounding view on the Viewing Deck.
Reviewed 7 May 2016 via mobile

The restaurant boasts a significant repertoire of ginger dishes. But if ginger is not your thing they have other options as well. The food was impeccable and the service friendly. We had the tuna starter and the vegetable in a pastry pouch for lunch and dessert was the Death by Chocolate and the the Other Bay. The desserts were out of this world. The prices are on the more expensive side but overall worth it. The staff also organized emergency ponchos for us as it was raining and we needed to leave, which I thought was very hospitable of them.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank JuanHLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher J, Owner at The Halia at Singapore Botanic Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2016

Dear JuanHLewis,

Thank you for reviewing our restaurant! As a sweet-toothed person myself, we take pride in our desserts and are delighted you find it "out of this world!" We hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,639)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

910 - 914 of 1,639 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2016

Lovely little restaurant situated in the beautiful Singapore Botanical Gardens, simple menu with several tasty options.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BusinessTravel1856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher J, Owner at The Halia at Singapore Botanic Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2016

Dear Jim B,

Thank you for reviewing our restaurant! We hope you have a lovely week ahead!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2016

I just happened to come across this restaurant in the heart of Singapore Botanic Garden after an afternoon walk with a friend. Who would have thought of a great restaurant right here in the middle of the forest?

Without any doubt, my friend and I went to try.
The restaurant is very charming, surrounded by a mini-forest. As the darkness enveloped the evening, we could hear the insects sounds from the surroundings. It's just peaceful, communing with nature right in the middle of the city.

Then we looked at the menu. Well it's our first time but just one cursory look at their a la carte dishes, I had the impression they were all delicious. Since we just came from a walk, we asked for recommendation for something light. Thus we settled for some salad, puff pastry and chicken. We were not mistaken with our choices. They all came in great presentation and simply delicious. In addition, we also had the lime and ginger yellowfin tuna kinilaw for starter as I was expecting it to be similar to the Filipino dish kinilaw, only to be surprised with a superbly unique presentation.
We ended up emptying all our plates. It was a superb experience and I am sure I will come here again to impress a friend, guest or anyone special.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FreeradicalGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher J, Owner at The Halia at Singapore Botanic Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2016

Dear FreeradicalGreg,

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant on TripAdvisor! The gardens is indeed transformed into a magical place at night and we try our hardest to accentuate this beautiful atmosphere. We are delighted that you took particular joy in it and enjoyed the overall experience! We look forward to having you back again and meeting your friends and family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

The restaurant is located in beautiful setting in the botanical gardens. To enjoy sitting outside I would suggest going in the evening. It was too hot to sit outside so we moved inside, which feels more cafe style. The food was great. (Not a lot of choice for the time we went lunch)

The food was all good. Except the artichoke and potato which was not eaten

Definitely recommend.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank CRYSTAL79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher J, Owner at The Halia at Singapore Botanic Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2016

Dear CRYSTAL79,

Thank you for visiting our restaurant and for taking the time to recommend us to the TripAdvisor community! The tranquility of the gardens is emphasised in the evening and the outdoor deck truly brings about a magical experience. Come by on a Sunday night to be further entertained by our resident band!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2016

Sporting a raging hangover from the previous night, a trek round the Botanic Gardens in 30 degree heat wasn't top of my list of things to do on a Sunday afternoon. However in doing so I discovered the best hangover cure ever; the absolutely delicious Wagyu Short rib Rendang on Toast at Halia. Super friendly service from our waiter Dennis and some killer Bloody Marys soon knocked my hangover for six. The main dining area is a very pretty space overlooking part of the Ginger Garden - it really is worth a visit, hangover optional!

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lulupupu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher J, Owner at The Halia at Singapore Botanic Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2016

Dear Lulupupu,

Thank you for the delightful review! It is great to know you loved the whole dining experience, from the service to our food and drink! We look forward to having you back again. Perhaps, during your next visit, you can skip the hangover!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Halia at Singapore Botanic Gardens also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to The Halia at Singapore Botanic Gardens? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing