We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very clean, very tiny rooms”
Review of Hotel 81-Bugis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel 81-Bugis
Ranked #233 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Not very clean, very tiny rooms”
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Location: great. Bus and subway nearby, shops, touristic areas.

Rooms: very very small, and smell humidity a lot. When you shower, the entire bathroom floods, and despite the use of A/C, the room smells humidity. Conclusion: bad.

Service: minimum. No smile, no help to get directions. 2 minutes after check-out, I asked to use the Wifi for 5 minutes... they refused as I had already checked-out... 2 minutes before !

Overall: location is ok, but hotel is definitely old, smells bad, and is not clean. I would not go there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Altazon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    50
    82
    33
    26
See reviews for
27
71
24
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

if you're staying here, you should be renting by the hour. Got to be crazy to stay the night... Hotel 81 is for one thing, and one thing only...

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

My usual Hotel was fully booked so I chose this particular hotel simply for its location.

The hotel is five minutes from Bugis MRT and a few minutes from Suntec City.

The tiny reception cannot cope at times and I found myself in a queue out to the street when I arrived. The receptionists with the exception of one gentlemen were monosylabic and really didn't want to talk other than amongst themselves.

The room was clean, I had a room with a window so that helped. I can imagine the ones without having a tomb effect. There was a large bathroom and everything worked.

I'm not sure I would stay here again as the price whilst understandable for the location is simply too high.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2011

In a very expensive city, this is one of the cheap hotels - reasonable and comfortable. I stayed here almost a week in June and July with a friend. We were not expecting too much (since it's been said that it is somewhat the cheap motel type) but it's quite reasonable compared to staying in a backpacker's hostel, where you have to share a room and bathroom with the rest of the guests. The room is quite small yet the bed fits just right. The room has a tv, a small closet, a water boiler, some stash of coffee, tea and bottled water. I just don't like the mirrors all over one wall. It might be there to make the space look bigger (but i dare not think of what purpose it serves for others). Same goes for the little toilet and bath, small but decent enough since they have enough soap, towels and toiletries. They have free wi-fi access and complimentary breakfast. The room may not be superb, but the location is EXCELLENT! I love it that everything seems to be just within walking distance - the malls, money changers, convenience stores (7-eleven is just beside it), bugis street and the different museums. There's also a nice coffee shop a few steps away from the hotel which serves really good food for 5 sgd. yum!

Room Tip: If you're going to any Hotel 81 location, I guess Bugis is the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sprinkled_dreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

This sleazy hotel has paper thin door so you really can hear every detail of sex-noises from the other rooms.
Trying not to thing about what happened in the bed you're in, but since the mattress is covered in plastic for a reason it's hard not to.

The room has no windows. For an extra 10$ you get "internet". Totally unusable, took over 5 minutes to load gmail.

After a horrible nights sleep, the paper thin doors allows you to enjoy the cleaning crews radion on full volume.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krillko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fragrance Hotel - Bugis
#167 of 312 in Singapore
433 reviews
Hotel Kai
#112 of 312 in Singapore
225 reviews
Downtown Core
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#209 of 312 in Singapore
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marrison Hotel
#246 of 312 in Singapore
284 reviews
Downtown Core
Park View Hotel
Park View Hotel
#220 of 312 in Singapore
221 reviews
Little India
Hotel 81 Rochor
Hotel 81 Rochor
#194 of 312 in Singapore
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 81-Bugis? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81-Bugis

Property: Hotel 81-Bugis
Address: 31 Middle Road, Singapore 188995, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #233 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,464 - ₹ 10,934
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81-Bugis 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 81-Bugis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81-Bugis Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing