We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, some bits need upgrading”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
Ranked #113 of 314 Hotels in Singapore
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location, some bits need upgrading”
Reviewed 10 June 2012

On arrival the hotel looks regal and welcoming after a long flight. The reception area looks modern and relaxing, baby grand piano and waterfall pool in the background and the staff were helpful. Found it a bit odd to have to change so many elevators to get in and out of the hotel but that's a minor thing. Like another review, our room was overly smelly, I wasn't sure if it was the aircon or a typical damp thing of Singapore, it was slightly overbearing at first but after a while it wasn't as noticeable. Large room with good tv and fantastic large windows with good views. The room was done out in a kind of 30s art deco look, mainly coffee and brown colours so it was a bit dark. The carpet could definitely do with an upgrade, I didn't feel very comfortable walking barefoot as there were some large stains and it was peeling away near the bed. Overall it was a good hotel for the two nights we stayed and if you're happy to overlook the smell and carpet you'll enjoy your stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brahanseeker29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    740
    1,906
    1,104
    369
    217
See reviews for
879
1,574
397
681
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (666)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We stayed here one night on a stop over visit.

On arrival we were told by the receptionist that we were given an upgrade, however we arrived in our room to find that the room was smelly and just average (so imagine what would the original room have been like)

Could not determine what the smell was, a mixture of cigarette and mould perhaps. We advised staff who were going to spray but never came back. As we were tired from a flight we did not follow up either.

Also, there was no complimentary wifi and the prices did not justify to use the paid internet.

Concierge staff on arrival did help with our luggage however on departure were less helpful. The porter on duty, whilst he humorous, asked us to follow him to the luggage rooms to identify our bags (initially we found this odd as we gave him the ticket to retrieve our luggage) but then we quickly found out that he wanted us to lift the bags as they were heavy for his old age ?!?! a bit odd. Then he pretended to help us with lifting the bags to the boot of the taxi so he could get a tip? unprofessional as would have gladly tipped had been more helpful.

Great facilities and a choice between 'the falls" or 'the still water' swimming pool

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SW1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed here on our first night in Singapore. It was close to several large shopping centers and food malls so it was extremely convenient to get around. We were also walking distance to Clarke Quay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We recenty spent 5 nights at this hotel. We booked one of the upgraded rooms, only to be placed into a very small room in the Peninsula tower. They had a problem with the lifts not working and expected us to use the staff lifts that where very untidy to say the least. Due to the lift situation we asked to be moved and it wasnt until this happened that we realised the new room was what we had actually booked and paid for. Yes our mistake for not realising and theirs for not picking up the error.
City Hall MRT is about 4 minutes walk as is the Raffles city shopping centre. Clark Quay is about 8-10 minute walk away.
The staff and housekeeping were very helpful and obliging. This hotel is well located but is a little tired and needs a facelift. Our room rate included both breakfast and free internet

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gailv60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Two words - shop around! This hotel was at best average and just not great. Our view was that they had just stopped trying a bit and were reliant on the fact they were a bit hotel in Singapore.

Location was good and the rooms were big - but they had a shocker with the lifts when we were there. When we arrived 1 out of the 3 was not working and within 24hrs all 3 went out and you had to use the 2 service lifts - one of which then went out.

We appreciate that these things happen but they could have dealt with it much better. Being almost on the top floor this was a real issue for us. When we asked the staff refused (not even plead ignorance) but refused to provide any updates which was poor. They made little effort other than some A4 signs and a note through the door to help out - you were left to stand in a service shaft with old room service plates and dirty nappies - poor, poor, poor. We were even provided the reassurance by a staff member that it was likely we would get stuck in the service lifts as they "broke more often than not".

Not sure if it was connected but we had to also ask to get our room cleaned - still had not been done at 5pm.

Pros:
* Rooms were big
* Good location

Cons:
* Service was average - their communications during a pretty key mechanical failure was poor
* Looks a bit date - some bits of the hotel need spruced up for sure
* Pools - not great, cramped with broken furniture

All in all - average

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBot77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Grand Park City Hall
#49 of 314 in Singapore
2,483 reviews
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#60 of 314 in Singapore
3,885 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#52 of 314 in Singapore
3,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Furama City Centre
#292 of 314 in Singapore
2,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Excelsior Hotel

Property: Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
Address: 5 Coleman Street, Singapore 179805, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#94 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,264 - ₹ 25,099
Hotel Class:4 star — Peninsula Excelsior Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of the city within easy reach to exciting landmarks in Singapore including the Singapore Night Race circuit which is just 2 minutes walk away as it is one of the trackside hotels.Just 5 minutes walk to City Hall MRT Interchange where the North-South, East-West MRT lines meet and also to the popular night spot at Clarke Quay. Only 5 minutes drive to the Esplanade, Marina Bay Sands Casino and Convention Centre, Chinatown and Orchard Road tourist shopping belt. 10 minutes drive to Resorts World Sentosa Casino and Universal Studios theme park. 20 minutes drive to Changi International Airport.The two towers of Peninsula.Excelsior Hotel offer 600 guests rooms and suites with simple luxury as well as function rooms for seminars and wedding banquets. The hotel also offers a business center and a tour desk to assist with travel arrangements.Peninsula.Excelsior Hotel Singapore is an excellent choice for business and holiday travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peninsula Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore
Peninsula Excelsior Singapore
Peninsula Singapore
Peninsula Hotel Singapore
Singapore Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing