We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent concierge” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peninsula Excelsior Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
Ranked #113 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Manila
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent concierge”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Peninsula excelsior. 
Receptionists pleasant.  Checking in was a breeze.  Checking out, too. 
Concierge was very helpful. 
Singapore was warm and humid so we looked forward to cooling down in our room after a whole day of traveling and shopping. But the air conditioning couldn't get the room cold enough to our liking even after leaving the A/C on the whole day by leaving our spare card key in the wall switch.  We reported it but the hotel explained that this is because they were using a chilled water system.  Another reason is that our corner room had too many large windows.   Hmmm, reasons left and right.  Well, let's look at the bright side now.  We got outstanding views from our room. We can see the Esplanade, the Marina Bay Sands, the Swissotel Stamford, the morning sun too! I guess that was the culprit. Street noise was minimal. The beds were comfy,  pillows low (2pillows/single bed).  Linens clean smelling, towels not worn out, got bathrobes and slippers, too. Carpets don't stink.  The bathtub was a bit small for me but good enough to soak my feet into after half filling it with warm water.  Good thing the shower head was movable and  I could wash my hair standing up .  Water was hot just the way I like it and the sink was the right height for me.  The lavatory is a new model and flushed quietly.  One peculiar thing about the bathroom was that it has a very loud and noisy drain.  Now onto the morning breakfast.  The elevators were fast. 
Breakfast buffet was simple but satisfying. Got monotonous on the 3rd day though so I just had fruits.   The hotel is walking distance to almost everything. It had its own mall downstairs.  You can walk to the Esplanade, the Raffles Mall, the MRT. If you don't like to walk, it's easy to get a cab from the lobby, too.  

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foot_adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    703
    1,832
    1,061
    354
    207
See reviews for
839
1,499
383
658
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (632)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We were a bit disappointed with the Peninsula Excelsior. We had requested a non smoking room, but were 'upgraded?' to a large smoking room. The whole corridor smelt smokey, as did the room. The room itself was large, but the bathroom was small. It wasn't that it was bad, but we felt it needed a good deep clean and freshen up generally. The silicon seal behind the taps on the bath needed replacing as it was mouldy - it was this sort of attention to detail that was missing. The hotel is very large (over 500 rooms) and consists of two towers with a vast connecting lobby. We spent a lot of time going from one set of lifts to the other, and getting lost! We sussed it by the time we had to leave! We only used one of the pools - I say we, but actually it was only my husband as I didn't think it looked very clean at the bottom of the pool. Breakfast was included in our deal and there was plenty of choice. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jilly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Bland hotel with not much going for it in the way of decor or service. More like a hotel you'd find in China than in Singapore and with the extremely hard beds to match.

We stayed for one night, put up by Singapore Airlines due to a flight delay. The airline has really picked a cheap one here. It's not a place where I will stay in the future as there are much better options in the city.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel if you seek quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

From the moment that we arrived at this hotel for a 3 night stay, things started going backwards.

Firstly, we booked and paid in advance through Agoda for a 'Premier' room...which looked lovely in the promotional material. When we booked in we were shown to a standard room with views to the building immediately behind the hotel...terrible.

Anyway, we thought we would not even bother to unpack as we would go through the motions of attempting to get into something reasonable, so off we went to the reception desk where we waited and waited in the 'race' until one of the clerks was free. After some time and nearly one hour later with our baggage being delivered to the first room, we finally got into a better room - which we believe was a 'Premier' room on the corner of the hotel overlooking the hotel pool and the huge commercial fan array, that made an incredible noise the whole time we were there. Right outside the door of our room 1510.. was the entry to the lifts and the maid's working space. The noise that came from this area at all times of the day was annoying to say the least. No sleep ins here... we were usually awakened at about 7:15am with the noise of the cleaners starting to do their thing.
We were also singularly unimpressed by the cleaning material and other things in the passage immediately outside our door and the fact that the doors to the cleaners lifts and workroom were left open for us to view when we were coming and going. I will attempt to get some photographs of all this posted as soon as I get time ...

Now for the room... the towel rack in the bathroom fell to pieces leaving our towels in the bath. To their credit a repairman came the next day and fixed it. The room itself looked out over the river and as I said the hotel pool and fan array... if you ignored the noise and did not look down the skyline view was good.

We then thought that we would try a meal in the restaurant advertised on the hotel brochures on the 7th floor. This was another trial. We got into the lift and pressed the 7th floor button and as quick as a flash ... nothing happened. We could not figure it out so thought we would go to the Coleman Restaurant on the 5th floor. It had a buffet advertised together with a meal that you could choose. We selected a nasi goreng and beforehand thought that we would have a Pina Colada each. Not cheap, Four sips and they were gone. There was nothing worth eating in the buffet, so we had the nasi goreng and left.

While we were out we found another restaurant and had something to eat outside of the hotel later...

If you think that is good... we thought breakfast was even worse. From the moment of embarrassment by the person checking us in - "What room are you in ?" "1510" "Which room?" "One Five One Zero" "You are not on the list" "Which room are you in" Fifteen Ten", etc etc... this went on for about 3 minutes while the line up grew behind us.

Eventually, after being severely embarrassed we were waved into the restaurant in a very dismissive and casual casual manner.

Then we saw the supervisor, and witnessed here principal activity...it was to ensure that the toaster and the food service line was shut down precisely at 10:30am... she did not seem to do much more except talk to the wait staff (up to 5 at a time in a back corner).
The handles on the trays containing the scrambled eggs, bacon, etc were filthy. They had grease and other mess all over them. When we got there - there was little left in them and I needed to scrounge around to get sufficient baked beans to put some on my plate...I am not going to describe the rest of it, because it just got worse. The bread used for toasting was very ordinary and difficult for guests to use.

Now wait for it... on the THIRD morning of our stay we discovered a little area at the back of the restaurant where a chef was preparing eggs to order...we did not this facility until the third morning because it was in the dark and out of sight.

Anyway, I ended up speaking with the manager and relayed my displeasure to him. He was actually a very nice Chinese gentleman and I really felt sorry for him because it was obvious to a casual observer that the supervisor was not properly supporting him.

Amazingly, the next morning the place was better prepared although it did not seem to make much difference to the attitude of the female supervisor (responsible for shutting the toaster down!).

All in all it was a very poor experience for us and a disappointing one.

By the time we were ready to leave we simply wanted to get out of the place.

I have said enough.. although I might relate this little bit of information as well. On our first day we went to catch a taxi at the front of the hotel. We were directed to the taxi stand - two clearly marked spots about 30 metres away from the hotel entrance by a staff member.
On the second day we were at this taxi stand waiting for a taxi when we noticed that all the taxis bringing people to the hotel and dropping them at the hotel entry seemed to have guests / people getting into them and then driving directly past us as we stood patiently waiting... On the last morning (and for the first time), one of the fellows in the front foyer said would you like a taxi? ... As this was our last trip and we were going to the airport, we said we thought we would continue to do what we had been doing since our arrival and go to the taxi stand where two taxis were waiting.

Before leaving I thought I would get my boarding passes printed at the Business centre... how about $2 for each sheet of paper!

There was one very noticeable and bright aspect to our stay...two of the trainees were very friendly in the lift.. they were also noticeably not broken into the routine of the regular staff. The were bright and cheerful and obviously going about their business promoting a friendly attitude.

I don't know what could have gone right in this place.

We wished we had booked elsewhere.

I have said enough.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room near to the air conditioning fan array
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OldTar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasig, Philippines
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We just arrived from Singapore yesterday and we stayed at the Peninsula Hotel for 3 nights. The room size is good - there are 3 separate beds for us which is pretty cool - no sharing.

We were given a corner room - nice view of the Marina Sands Hotel at night. The front desk staff were kind enough to allow us to make an early check-in - the concierge guy (JOHARA) was so helpful and assisted us on all our special tours during our stay. The buffet breakfast was ok offering american and asian variety.

The location is very good - beside it is a DIGIMALL - for all the electronics lovers - it is near the MRT (just a walking distance) - also near the RAFFLES CITY and CITI Mall - for the shoppers and they also have restaurants that offers different kind of food and a SUPERMARKET. Nearby is also a 7-11 stores for your emergency needs at night. It is also few mins await (walking distance) from esplanade and Marina Sands for your night life indulgence.

Could have been perfect if only they had a bigger bathroom and if they would improve their air-conditioning units.

Room Tip: We stayed at the 10th floor - choose higher floors for better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank superwoman2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Grand Park City Hall
#48 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,369 reviews
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#54 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,633 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#46 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Furama City Centre
#45 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,463 reviews
Marina Bay
The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club
Grand Pacific Hotel
#119 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Excelsior Hotel

Property: Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
Address: 5 Coleman Street, Singapore 179805, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#91 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,657 - ₹ 12,827
Hotel Class:4 star — Peninsula Excelsior Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of the city within easy reach to exciting landmarks in Singapore including the Singapore Night Race circuit which is just 2 minutes walk away as it is one of the trackside hotels.Just 5 minutes walk to City Hall MRT Interchange where the North-South, East-West MRT lines meet and also to the popular night spot at Clarke Quay. Only 5 minutes drive to the Esplanade, Marina Bay Sands Casino and Convention Centre, Chinatown and Orchard Road tourist shopping belt. 10 minutes drive to Resorts World Sentosa Casino and Universal Studios theme park. 20 minutes drive to Changi International Airport.The two towers of Peninsula.Excelsior Hotel offer 600 guests rooms and suites with simple luxury as well as function rooms for seminars and wedding banquets. The hotel also offers a business center and a tour desk to assist with travel arrangements.Peninsula.Excelsior Hotel Singapore is an excellent choice for business and holiday travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Peninsula Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore
Peninsula Excelsior Singapore
Peninsula Singapore
Peninsula Hotel Singapore
Singapore Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing