We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poorly run hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Royal at Queens
Ranked #167 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 27 June 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel with our two teenaged sons. Right from our arrival, things were not pleasant. The bell hop/ concierge was very lethargic in taking our suitcases to the rooms so much so my husband and children took care of most of the luggage.The person behind the check in desk was cold and unfriendly. We checked in at 1 pm and were given one of the two rooms booked, because according to him the other room which was a connecting room was not ready. However when we went up to our room we found that the connecting door to this room was open and the room was already made up. Why couldn't they have released it in the first instance, the official check in time was just 1 hour away. The rooms were very musty and smelt of smoke. The bathrooms on all three days that we stayed had an unpleasant smell which I suspect was because the mops they used were unclean. The house keeping was really bad. Each day when we left instructions for cleaning the room, only the beds were made up, the carpets were left untouched, coffee cups were not cleaned and complimentary sachets of coffee and creamers were not topped up. There was no complimentary water available and there was a steep charge for small water bottles in the mini fridge. The restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful. However the buffet provided was uninspiring. The breads , cereal selection and cold cuts were not appetizing. There were ugly blue plastic juice glasses and plastic cups & saucers for coffee/tea during breakfast! The staff at the business center where we went to access the internet and printer were friendly and efficient. The only positive aspect of staying here is its excellent locality, within easy reach of the MRT.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lapandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (762)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

387 - 391 of 762 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2012

Stayed at Royal @ Queens in May with three girlfriends, we had an amazing stay, hotel is great, staff are great they couldn't do enough for us, especially when my girlfriend was robbed by a pick pocket at Peninsula Plaza, hotel staff organised for us to get to police station and even offered to make overseas calls to insurance company, Sure it is not a five star or even four star hotel but rooms were well appointed and clean, beds comfortable, staff always smiling and ready to assist with any information we required, breakfast was good and had what we needed, special thanks to consierge Jaya who treated us like his "mums", in short we would definately stay there again. Only little gripe was small bathtub, getting in and out for a shower was a bit tricky at times. I believe that if you treat people as you would like to be treated then you will be treated with respect, don't go away thinking you are better than anyone else, you just happen to be lucky enough to be able to afford to travel, in the end you get what you pay for and we got above and beyond that. Thanks Hotel Royal @ Queens for a great five night stay.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jbwtjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Stayed here in April 2011 with my husband.Check in was fine some people may say it was a little slow but after a long journey i was quite happy chatting to the receptionist. All the staff extremely helpful at all times. You are able to leave your luggage free if you have a late flight which we found very good. Journey from airport was 35 singapore dollars (£15) and the taxi driver pointed out places of interest and stopped to let me take photos. The hotel is a little bit tired looking but spotlessly clean and a clean bed to me if far more important than plush surroundings. We were on the 16th floor the view wasnt great from our side of the hotel but looked nice at night with all the high rise building lights on. The bathroom was small but once again very clean and lots of toiletries even free toothbrush and paste. We were on bed and breakfast basis and have to be honest and say the food wasn't great but they are catering for so many nationalities and there was lots of fruit and really a good variety of food You could always ask to have your eggs cooked in your own special way too.We found the hotel in easy reach of Raffles and Burges street ( not sure I have spelt that right ) but well worth a visit huge enclosed market full to bursting with souveniers. and across the road large shopping mall. The metro was easy to use and all public transport very cheap. Remember if you buy an underground ticket to collect your dollar refund at the end of your journey Singapore is really safe day and night and everyone speaks almost perfect English so no problems. I would stay again at this hotel it was cheap enough and convenient for getting to see all tourists sites.

Room Tip: Ask to go up as high as possible to get a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xjenniex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Dear Friends,

I had been to singapore for a leisure trip last May 2012, and enjoyed by stay at Hotel Royal @ Queens, singapore. They helped me with the best of the rooms, and all possible facilities provided.

They had good breakfast buffet for all 6 days and also they took really good care of all our needs.

all in all i would surely recommend the hotel. And would like to congratulate the hotel staff for numero uno hospitality provided to us during our stay.

Thanks once again.

Regards,
Joe

Room Tip: This place is close by (3 mins walking distance) to Bugis street for street shopping, also you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smartjoe1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We stayed here the other week, and we were absolutely disguisted by many things in the hotel. When we arrived by taxi the staff at the door did not welcome us, and took a few minutes to grab the baggage from the boot of the taxi (I even lifted my bag out of the taxi before they offered to grab the bags). We arrived to find in our room a hair on the toilet (between the toilet seat and the flap) visible to the human eye (a thick black one) which we had decided was a fair call because the maids are in quite a rush we figured (but it was still there the next day after the cleaner had come). our room was missing a floor mat (the rubber one), the safe was locked from the last user (you would think that the cleaner would double check this when cleaning, it wasnt a worry for us because we had joining rooms with other family members). breakfast was tiny, very little choices, not worth it if you eat a lot of food in the morning.

The man who took our luggage up to our room was a very pleasant older man, but the staff downstairs were rude to us westerners ( you would think that management would tell them how to act around us), one staff even walked into us and stared at us waiting for an apology. the man at the desk for information around the city was kind, and tried his best to understand english (easy to communicate with though using basic english). we found the people at the front desk were rude, up on checkout they asked us to find our receipt of our deposit on the hotel, and stumbled around for five minutes waiting for us to see if we'd give them an extra 100 dollar deposit on the room. Upon check out we also checked underneath the beds, easy to roll yet they had a dirty tissue and the other side had a baby spoon underneath it with dust that was present on the floor underneath the beds.

Ask to stay on the upper floors as the noise from the street would be very loud (we were on one of the higher floors and that was a good request. but the light from the hallway is quite bright when trying to sleep and unnecessary to have all night (I have seen the movement sensored ones in other hotels which would be a good idea for this hotel to get.

We have travelled to many places, but we were absolutely disguisted with this hotel. Upon checkout the staff did not even thank us for our service to them. This hotel has many things to fix, glad we did not pay the walk in rate for this hotel. Great location (close to bugis junction). the hotel needs some european, American, or Australian staff. this is when the improvements will be made. The pool was tiny, but shaded by the building, is a joke compared with the hotel that was next to us. the gym was also tiny (3 machines; with one bike, treadmill and a cross trainer). Overall, I would not stay here again. The hotel was nothing special, but was reasonable enough for the amount of time we had spent in the hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors to drown out the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Grand Pacific Hotel
#119 of 317 in Singapore
1,208 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Link Hotel
Link Hotel
#137 of 317 in Singapore
303 reviews
Hotel Royal Singapore
#263 of 317 in Singapore
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Re!
#145 of 317 in Singapore
793 reviews
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
#116 of 317 in Singapore
4,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal at Queens? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal at Queens

Address: 12 Queen Street, Singapore 188553, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: ₹ 7,036 - ₹ 12,459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Royal at Queens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 4-Star smoke free hotel with 231 well-appointed guest rooms, including Executive Rooms, Junior Suite & Service Apartments that are incorporated with contemporary decor that caters to both business and leisure travellers. Strategically located in the City's dynamic business, financial, convention, cultural, entertainment, and educational hubs, our hotel is located close to places such as Suntec City, Raffles City, Chijmes, Singapore Art Museum, Bugis Junction, Bugis Village, Esplanade Theatres On The Bay, Marina Square, Singapore Flyer, Little India, Boat Quay and Clarke Quay. We are also conveniently located within walking distance to 3 MRT stations - Bras Basah, City Hall, and Bugis - with Bras Basah MRT Station being only 100 meters from our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal at Queens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal At Queens Singapore
Royal At Queens Hotel
Hotel Royal At Queens Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing