We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not great”
Review of Bumboat River Tour

Bumboat River Tour
Book In Advance
Book a Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Board one of Singapore’s iconic bumboats, which have been retrofitted with zero-emission electric engines, and learn about the river’s colorful history while taking in the unforgettable skyline. Two tours circle Boat Quay, Circle Quay and Marina Bay. Taxi and charter services are also available.
Schagen
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice but not great”
Reviewed 8 February 2012

A nice way to see the city but not as good as a trip with a good tour guide.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    188
    48
    12
    22
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
95 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great simply and short evening cruise”
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We decided to take an evening boat cruise after dinner before we settled in for the night. The bumboat cruise turned out to be a fantastic experience where we enjoyed not only a history lesson of both Clarke and Boat Quays but also experience the laser lights from the Marina Bay Sands which starts at about 9pm.

The tour itself is very informative and passengers have the option to sit outdoor at the back of the boat (takes up to 6 passengers). There are two tours, a 30 minute boat cruise or a 45 minute boat cruise. The 30 minute boat ride goes down stream and turn around at the Fullerton hotel. The 45 minute boat ride take you up stream first.

No booking is necessary as they have many bumboats. Would recommend if you're wanting to cap off a romantic evening.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank F1gar0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice way to get a different view of Singapore”
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Our tickets for the bumboat ride were included in our 2 day pass for the Hopon/Hop off FunVee bus. We caught the boat that looks like a little Chinese junk at Clarke Quay which is one of the stops for the bus. The ticket booth is about 5 minute walk along the waterfront, there are a number of pubs and restaurants there if you want to stop and have a drink or snack. The cruise is a leisurely 50-60 minutes to the Merlion statue (half lion, half fish - the symbol of Singapore) where it stops if you want to get off or you can return back to Clark Quay. It was a nice perk for buying the two day pass, we may not have gone on otherwise, but I would definetly recommend it if you have time. There are lots of opportunities for some good pictures, it passes under several small span bridges, the statue of Raffles and some of the older picturesque waterfront areas.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Vikingrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“that is the way i discover Singapore”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

we caught the boat at Clarje Key and went about 30 minutes. we chose to sat on the outside deck at the back. i thinks this is the best way to see every. we went at duck. by the time every think is very nice, seem legend ! So wonderful !
Go slowly. So i could see the view clearly and take a lot of pictures. I very satisfiel about this tour. And i think the ticket price is very worth. Dont miss it

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank kelvin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Short, simple and cute”
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Best to go at night when the lanterns are on and Clarke Quay is happening.

Good brief intro to Singapore.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank chantal_dunbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bumboat River Tour also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Bumboat River Tour? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing