We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (957)
Filter reviews
957 results
Traveller rating
168
413
289
51
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
168
413
289
51
36
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 957 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2019

We arrived around 3am from Australia, opting to overnight at Fragrance Hotel Ruby rather than a more expensive hotel as we had so little of the night left.

We grabbed a taxi from the airport for the short trip to the hotel. Fragrance Hotel Ruby is on a quiet street (mixed residential and hotels) in Geylang which is known as Singapore's red light district. We have visited the area in the past for the food, but have not stayed in Geylang. We found the street to be super quiet, and the location perfect for our needs.

Check in was efficient, with staff alert and friendly even at that late (or early) hour. We were greeted immediately and very quickly allocated our rooms. We were travelling with a friend, staying in two different room types based on bedding and space needs and to keep the budget down for that half night (we had booked an Executive Twin, our friend a Superior Double) - to our delight our friend was upgraded to the same room type as us, so we could all be on the same floor (this occurred without even asking!).

Access to rooms was secure, requiring a room keycard to access the hotel room floors. We were only allocated one keycard per room, so when one of us headed out for some refreshments, we needed to keep the keycard in the room for lights and electricity. Reception staff were happy to assist in returning to the floor via lift.

The rooms are compact (as expected in Singapore which is well known for small hotel rooms) but certainly did the job with enough space for our small luggages (we travelled for the weekend so had carry on only). For longer stays we prefer a bit more space, but this was fine for our needs. Given the price point we would consider booking two rooms (one each) for future stays as we quite like the location of the hotel, particularly easy access to plenty of good quality food choices, and to public transport.

Our room was spotlessly clean, on a high floor, with a window overlooking the quiet street below. Room amenities included a petite private bathroom with toiletries, TV, mini fridge, kettle, tea & coffee, complimentary water, free WiFi. There were a few power outlets, including one that took international plugs - handy if you forgot your travel adapter! The beds were firm but not at all uncomfortable, with clean fresh linens. Foam pillows were also firm, but served the purpose for the night. The air conditioning was efficient and cooled the room quickly. The shower pressure was good, though the water was warm rather than hot - certainly enough to freshen up!

Location as mentioned is great. There is a 24 hour minimart just 100 paces away, and a 24 hour restaurant 70 paces away. We visited the Old Airport Road Hawkers the next morning - perhaps 10-15 minutes' stroll, and with a great range of delicious foods. Public transport is also convenient with Aljunied MRT Station around a 10 minute walk, and plenty of buses along Geylang Road.

We've already booked another trip to Singapore, arriving in the early hours again, and Fragrance Hotel Ruby for the right price is at the top of our list for our short night's stay!

Room tip: Executive rooms include a mini fridge.
Date of stay: May 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Leesree_and_Subbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 August 2019

lovely lovely receptionist! I checked in quite late at around 10pm and was extremely tired. The receptionist (I think her name was Shiela) was all wide smiles and was super helpful!

Check in was a breeze, and she even helped me keep the elevator door open while I struggled with my luggage.

Rooms are compact as per the other reviews, but comfortable nonetheless, and the bed was absolutely wonderful! I fell asleep immediately and did not wake up the whole night!

Even though there's no restaurant in the hotel, the receptionist pointed me to the Bak Kut Teh (?) store just across the road, and it was soo tasty! and less than $10 too (which was a pleasant surprise)

I'll definitely pick this place the next time I layover in Singapore!

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dereeeeeeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobalPremiumHotels, Owner at ibis budget Singapore Ruby, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2019

Dear dereeeeeeek,

Thank you for your wonderful review for Fragrance Hotel - Ruby, as well as highlighting my colleague's exemplary Fragrance hospitality offered!

It has been our utmost pleasure to have served you excellently, and we look forward to having you back with us again very soon!

Best Regards,

Thaddaeus
Guest Experience Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2019

If you are on a low budget in highly expensive Singapore, and you do not want to stay in a 3x2 meters box or pay a fortune to stay downtown, consider the Geylang area, with a host of nice restaurants and affordable lodging options. It is quicker and less jammed to drive from here to the airport if you have to get there at rush hour, and there is the green metro line 300 meters from the hotel. Rooms are modern, basic and small, but clean and silent.

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ochassot
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobalPremiumHotels, Owner at ibis budget Singapore Ruby, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2019

Dear Ochassot,

Thank you for your lovely review for Fragrance Hotel - Ruby, and finding great value during your stay with us, while enjoying the wide range of amenities available in our immediate vicinity!

Please do consider staying with us again soon!

Best Regards,

Thaddaeus
Guest Experience Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2019

Although my room didn't look like the Room Photos by Management, I'd consider staying here again because my room was spacious, the air-con was very cooling, all amenities needed were provided, it's value for money & the company image (through staffs' uniform & professionalism) was just impressive! Perhaps, Receptionists could be more friendly, a brighter & more vibrant lobby & only-ramp room walkway would make this hotel a perfect choice of stay.

Room tip: #220, maximum privacy & space
Date of stay: July 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sp3ak_christ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobalPremiumHotels, Owner at ibis budget Singapore Ruby, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your excellent review for Fragrance Hotel - Ruby, and your pledge of support for our hotel!

We are delighted you have been impressed with our hotel, and we will be eagerly anticipating your return visit!

Thank you for letting us know how we can further enhance your stay with us. I have submitted your suggestions to the manager and our management for their review.

See you soon!

Best Regards,

Thaddaeus
Guest Experience Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2019 via mobile

With the high prices of hotel rooms in Singapore, this hotel is really worth your money! Very cheap versus other hotels in town, easy access by MRT Aljunate station or buses or taxis. Very clean room. Free 2 bottles of drinking water daily with free self served in room tea and coffee. Clean towels too!

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank lsg181
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobalPremiumHotels, Owner at ibis budget Singapore Ruby, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2019

Dear LSG,

Thank you for your perfect review for Fragrance Hotel - Ruby, and letting us know you have found great value during your stay with us!

It has been our utmost pleasure to have served you excellently, and we will be eagerly looking forward to having you back in the near future.

See you soon!

Best Regards,

Thaddaeus
Guest Experience Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews