We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“my backpacker hostel was better” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 81 Dickson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel 81 Dickson
Ranked #149 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“my backpacker hostel was better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

stayed here for three nights in september 2012. the entrance doesnt have a ramp & there is no assistance to lift ur baggage if its heavy. choose a superior window if u wanna a bigger window in a crampy room.the complimetary internet doesnt get connected & the staff cant figure out why. there is a kettel but no fridge. bathroom doesn't have a toilet jet!! the shower sprinkles water all over the bathroom. the staff is courteous enough to politely refuse / deny the requests. i stayed in Backpackers SG last time with one third the price & got not only complementary breakfast but also host of other facilities which were basic yet simply missing here. the reception display shows "Recommended by Tripadvisor" I wonder why.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PGupta79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    547
    351
    89
    54
See reviews for
159
319
92
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dordrecht
Level Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed here for one night beginning September, it was one of the cheaper accommodations in Singapore and I figured it cannot be tooooo bad for one night. We had a superior room (so we had a window!), not too big but enough considering we didn’t stay for too long. The room was clean, had tea and coffee facilities, a tv (but no fridge) and a shower room (which means you shower over everything, not a problem for me though). We found it easy enough walking from Bugis MRT (it is true, we had a printed map). Overall, I was satisfied with the stay here considering the price (for Singapore standards). The only thing that was weird was that we found a myriapode in the shower, it probably came up/down the pipes. :) The AC was quite cold and we were only provided with sheets, no blanket, so consider taking some thicker PJs.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

Two of us stayed at Hotel 81 Dickson for 4 nights - last June (2011). An average hotel for the price you pay...but, I guess, Singapore is an expensive place to visit!

This place is for people:
- Who are on a budget and don't want to opt for hostels or other far off locations in S'pore
- Can stay in a room without windows!
- Can bear cold temp (one can't control the air-conditioning...gets really cold because of the tiny window-less rooms)

Because the rooms are window-less one can always smell the moisture inside.
This place is difficult to find - My experienced local cab driver took some time to find it.

A few positives:
- Close to Indian eateries - if you like Indian cuisine
- Close to Bugis market etc.

Stay here if you dont have an option.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a Window. I think one needs to pay extra or book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Parikshit_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Location is interesting. During weekends, the surroundings are crowded with migrant workers for India and Bangladesh. Food no problem with a variety of Chinese and Indian food around the area. Rooms are small and partitions thin so you can hear the neighbours. Nevertheless room is clean with a tiny table and tiny bathroom/toilet. Flat screen TV with a variety of channels.
I have given it a rating of 3 considering the price.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank realfatfreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
151 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed there as it was one of the cheapest places we found to sleep in expensive Singapore. I specifically asked the receptionist for a quiet room since we only had 5 hours to sleep, instead she gave us a room on the 3rd floor close to the elevator. I basically was unable to sleep all night long, the noise was terrible, people just kept talking loud and the bed was full of bed bugs. The bathroom floods all over when you take a shower. I would never stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mdp14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#120 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Little India
Hotel 81 Rochor
Hotel 81 Rochor
#195 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Emerald
Fragrance Hotel - Emerald
#129 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
#174 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Little India
Tai Hoe
Tai Hoe
#98 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Star
Hotel 81 - Star
#145 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 81 Dickson? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81 Dickson

Property: Hotel 81 Dickson
Address: 3 Dickson Road, Singapore 209530, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,472 - ₹ 4,697
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81 Dickson 2*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Expedia so you can book your Hotel 81 Dickson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
81 Dickson Hotel
Hotel 81 Dickson Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing