We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Hotel- Value for money”
Review of Hotel 81 Dickson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel 81 Dickson
Ranked #156 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Budget Hotel- Value for money”
Reviewed 3 July 2012

stayed with family, in expensive city like Singapore, this budget hotel is very comfortable and value for money. Rooms were not specious but good for spend few days for tourist purpose. Room service and other support services was not available. Wfi was free and was quite useful.

Room Tip: Budget hotel, specially when you want to see the attraction of S'pore. Located in Little India...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRai12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    557
    363
    92
    57
See reviews for
166
329
98
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I checked in to this hotel for a one night stay. First room I was given had water leaking from airconditioning unit on to the bed, and bathroom dirty. Second room I was moved to also dirty. Was given free upgrade to superior room, and guess what - it was dirty. Reception and corridors look good but the rooms have dusty floors with clumps of hair blowing around. Shower screen and mirror in bathrooms covered in old soap and toothpaste splashes. Toilets not good either. Towel in one room had something stuck on it. Some holes in duvet covers and first room I was given had tiny little ants on dressing table. I checked out and went to a lovely hostel across the street which was half the price and super clean. I would not recommend for anyone to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Veronica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Anusha : I stayed here for the first time after looking it up online.it is relatively new and very well furnished. It is well maintained as well. Rooms a bit small but ok.Much better than I expected for a budget place.Front desk staff very friendly, efficient and helpful.
Very convenient for shopping as well.
All in all great experience to stay here. I hope they maintain it at the same standards. Looking forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anusha80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I stayed 3 nights during a business trip. Check in was easy and staff were helpful. Room was clean but small so was the bathroom. Bed was comfortable to sleep after hard working days. There are plenty of eating places around mainly Indian and Chinese and there are shopping malls around which can be accessed by short walks.
Overall this place is good for short stays on a budget.

Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank sanb2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
344 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

The Hotel 81 provides a budget option for Singapore. Don't expect luxury or a big room.

Pros: Relative value for money, location, upgrade to complementary wifi.

Cons: Noisy corridors (marble-like tiles), poor drainage in bathroom (integrated shower drains across the floor past the toilet and basin) and a noisy cold AC that I couldn't turn wamer, reduce the fan speed or even turn off. As I was only there one night, I didn't pursue this issue. There were also hairs on the bathroom floor showing a poor quality of cleaning.

Room Tip: The end of a corridor would help. I don't know whether my AC was because I was on the top (5th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amp-qld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
Hotel 81 Rochor
Hotel 81 Rochor
#194 of 312 in Singapore
191 reviews
Little India
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
#154 of 312 in Singapore
256 reviews
Little India
Tai Hoe
Tai Hoe
#101 of 312 in Singapore
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
#171 of 312 in Singapore
329 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Star
Hotel 81 - Star
#150 of 312 in Singapore
544 reviews
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel
Venue Hotel
#122 of 312 in Singapore
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 81 Dickson? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81 Dickson

Property: Hotel 81 Dickson
Address: 3 Dickson Road, Singapore 209530, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,488 - ₹ 5,039
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81 Dickson 2*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 81 Dickson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
81 Dickson Hotel
Hotel 81 Dickson Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing