We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic & Trendy”
Review of New Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
New Majestic Hotel
Ranked #102 of 316 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed only one night at this hotel. We booked the Aqua room, but were given an upgrade to Lifestyle room called "Untitled", which was spacious and clean. Almost everything was in white and decent beige tone - very cosy; along with the tub behind the bed. The bed itself was very comfortable to sleep in. Since it was only one night, we didn't mind the room having no closet to hang out our clothes. The only thing we found odd was the adjoining doors to the rooms to our left and right!

All non-alcoholic beverages in mini bar was for free. Unfortunately, the Nespresso maschine in our room did not work. Breakfast was good.

Staffs were very friendly and helpful. I would have given 5 stars rating if they reminded us of the facilities provided in the hotel eg. pool.

The only negative point is that I found the room rates VERY expensive, despite the interior design.

I just LOVE the location in Chinatown!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eurasian68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Dear Eurasian68,

Warm hellos from the team at New Majestic Hotel! Thank you for kind compliments. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The doors to the left and right of your room are connecting doors to the other rooms. Fret not, these will only be unlocked should we have request from big families that require rooms next to each other. We apologise for the Nespresso machine breakdown. Do notify us and we'd be pleased to have it exchanged to a working one.

Our room rate includes breakfast for 2, complimentary WiFi, non-alcoholic mini bar and local calls, I hope this clarifies. Do check with us regularly via our website, or even drop us a line via email for regular updates on current promotions.

Meantime, safe travels and we hope to have you back with soon!

Best regards,
Mae Noor
Marketing Communications Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (708)
There are newer reviews for New Majestic Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

462 - 466 of 708 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2012

This hotel has so much going for it. We stayed for 3 nights in room 308 and enjoyed living in a wooden box. The service was impeccable throughout our stay. On arrival we were taken to our room and the facilities were explained in detail. Everyone we encountered was friendly and helpful which made us feel very welcome. Non alcoholic drinks in the mini bar are complimentary which is a nice touch. The Nespresso, Bose sound system and bathroom products added a touch of luxury.

Other reviewers have commented about the lack of breakfast choices however we were able to order everything we wanted. Omelettes or eggs made in any style were quickly made and the restaurant staff were very attentive.

Our bed was comfortable and the room well appointed. My wife did struggle getting in and out of the shower though which even if you have long legs is a bit of a challenge.

The only negative we encountered is outside the hotel's control however is a downside to it's location. Sound insulation is minimum both from outside and inside the hotel. On Friday and Saturday night we were kept awake until after midnight due to the noise coming from the bars around the hotel. On Sunday night we slept lightly due to noise from within the hotel - chairs moving in the room next door / above, toilets flushing etc.

As one of the main criteria of a hotel room is sleep quality we did not experience that. If noise was not an issue we would easily rate the hotel a 5. However after 3 nights broken sleep we can only rate the hotel a 3.

If you are not a light sleeper we definitely recommend the hotel. If you are then you may wish to consider your options.

We loved our stay other than the lack of sleep. Unfortunately because of that we will probably look for another hotel on our return to Singapore.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Dear Rene J,

Thank you for kind feedback and please accept my sincere apologies for your less than satisfactory stay with us. Our guests' ease and comfort is of utmost priority and we are taking measures to do what we can to eradicate/minimise the noise issue you experienced.

Meantime, we hope that you would allow us the opportunity to welcome you back and impress you with our commitment to improve.

Best regards,
Mae Noor
Marketing Communications Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Here is one of those infurating situations where a hotel has everything (almost) going for it and stops a yard short of being sensational. During my visit (February 9 - 17, 2012) I found that the hotel was beautifully appointed, had marvelous staff, a great restaurant, and a super location --not to mention the price. The only thing wrong was the room! My room was the size of two large beach towels. The bathroom was enclosed in a glass sleeve in one corner of this tiny room and the shower (which by the way was one of the most modern I've encountered) was in a second glass sleeve in another corner. There was no closet, no drawers, and my clothing had to hang over the area in which I had to work with my computer. They claimed not to have larger rooms when questioned but I know that was not true. If you travel to Singapore for a holiday, this hotel might be okay but if it's for business and you must work in your room, I'd suggest you try another hotel. No matter what, avoid room 302!

Room Tip: Avoid room 302!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Dear Carl W,

Greetings from New Majestic Hotel. Thank you for your feedback. We're disappointed that we didn't meet your expectations during your stay with us. Housed in a conservations building, our rooms are rather compact. However it has been designed and best fitted to meet the basic needs of a modern traveller. Perhaps it was a misunderstanding that our bigger rooms were fully occupied then at your time of enquiry, kindly accept my sincere apologies for this.

I am glad that you found our staff friendly and liked our central location and hope that you would allow us the opportunity to welcome you back and impress you with our commitment to improve.

Best regards,
Mae Noor
Marketing Communications Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I very much enjoyed my stay at the New Majestic. I can imagine that it's quirky decoration might not be to everybody's tastes, but the design of each room is fun and interesting. The rooms had every facility that you would expect in a top hotel, including good quality double glazing (and complimentary ear plugs for those guests who are extra sensitive).

The main reason we enjoyed our stay was the staff. They could not have been more friendly and helpful if they tried. Every question we asked was patiently listened to, and answered. Advice re restaurants and directions was gladly given. We were also provided with a room to freshen up in at the end of the afternoon once we had checked out (and we didn't have to ask for this).

The pool and gym are both on the small side, so if physical exercise is your thing, then this might not be the hotel for you.

We ate at the restaurant, and again the food and service were faultless.

I felt that the location was superb. It was right on the edge of China Town, and on a relatively quiet street. There is a station for super efficient metro line direct to the centre less than 5 minutes walk way from the hotel, and it is only a couple of stops to the centre.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank callumx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Dear callumx,

Warm hellos from the team at New Majestic Hotel! Thank you for kind compliments. We're pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us, along with exploring the city and surrounding Chinatown area. Our guests' ease and comfort is of utmost priority and we strive towards making your stay as enjoyable as possible.

We hope to welcome you back soon so we may be of service to you once again.

Best regards,
Mae Noor
Marketing Communications Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Good location near China Town. About a 15 minute/2KM walk to the revier front. Great bar next door to relax. Rooms were unique, pool area small but chic. Definitely a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chitraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Greetings from New Majestic Hotel!

Thank you for taking the time to drop us a line here. We appreciate your kind feedback and pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and its surrounding area. We hope to welcome you back soon and till then, safe travels!

Best regards,
Mae Noor
Marketing Communications Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
Hotel 1929
Hotel 1929
#131 of 316 in Singapore
580 reviews
Dorsett Singapore
#88 of 316 in Singapore
937 reviews
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#53 of 316 in Singapore
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Naumi Liora
#106 of 316 in Singapore
886 reviews
Keong Saik Hotel
#127 of 316 in Singapore
251 reviews
Little India
Wanderlust
Wanderlust
#94 of 316 in Singapore
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Majestic Hotel

Address: 31 Bukit Pasoh Road New Majestic Hotel, Singapore 089845, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#61 Family Hotel in Singapore
#73 Business Hotel in Singapore
#88 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: ₹ 9,736 - ₹ 22,717 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a traditional conservation shop house located in the heart of Chinatown, the New Majestic Hotel features an emphasis on strong design, local culture and the Arts.From the open concept period-inspired lobby with restored vintage Compton fans to the dramatic pool with glass inserts floating above the restaurant, to the selection of period colonial furniture from Singapore in the 1920s- 1960s, New Majestic Hotel is a stunning and eclectic mix of heritage chic.Each of the New Majestic's 30 rooms is different, from the mix of vintage and designer furniture through to the customized baths. Room highlights include suites with private gardens, attic style rooms with loft beds in six-meter high ceilings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your New Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Singapore
New Majestic Hotel Singapore
Hotel New Majestic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing