We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic stay”
Review of hangout@mt.emily

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
hangout@mt.emily
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2012

staff were really friendly, great location, affordable! the staff were really enthusiastic and directed us where to go! rooms were clean and comfortable, beds were made for us arriving (something i am not used to in hostels) and were made for us every day of our stay. everyone had a locker each by the side of their bed which was certainly large enough ( we are emmigrating to oz with a lot of baggage!) there is a restaurant downstairs, where breakfast was served in the mornings. i was suprised breakfast was included but it was rather interesting choices, still a sandwich was more than i had expected! rooms were seven single beds. a common room on floor two is equipt with a pool table, computers and seating. great place for people to mix and socialize. the top level has a viewing terrace with a small paddling pool. overall i thought this was more like a hotel than a hostel and would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rebecca f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (712)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

314 - 318 of 712 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2012

Singapore hotels are very expensive, but Hangout was very well priced. The rooms are very clean and the beds are pretty comfortable. The rooms are pretty basic, you will need to bring your own shampoo and soap, but they have free wifi. I would recommend to bring your own bath towels if possible as I found the towels to be very thin and sometimes not as clean as I would like - they don't change the towels anyway, so you might has well bring your own.

It's bit of a walk to the nearest MRT (about 20 mins) but taxis are very cheap in Singapore anyway.

I would stay there again next time.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vivian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The rooms are clean and comfortable. Did't expect to get such a nice room at this price. I made some mistake with my booking arrangement, but the staff are really helpful so everything turned just fine. Free wifi is avaliable, and if you really need to do some stuff with computer and don't bring one, they have some PC available at second floor. Surely I will stay here for my next visit to Singapore.

Room Tip: Pool table and computer available at second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bramian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

after spending time in Western Australia and staying in some very average hostels I thought this would be no different but after arriving here on a late flight we were just amazed at how nice the place was, we had a great welcome from nice staff and the lobby area is prestige but we didn't realise our double room with ensuite would be as impressive . It was so good to be in a hostel where the rooms are so quiet and we had such a good few nights sleep. If we ever come back to Singapore this is the first hostel we will book.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Travelling with a 3 year old and a 1 year old, we chose Hangout because it was affordable, in a quiet neighbourhood and not too far from the centre of town. We had a quad room with bathroom which was not large, but clean and comfortable. The lovely park (with playground) across the road was fantastic for entertaining my son while his sister napped, and we met quite a few Singaporean families taking their kids to play there too. The rooftop garden with splash pool and the pool table in the second floor lounge were also very popular entertainments. Breakfast was very good but the restaurant was a bit upmarket for us so we would go down the hill and get takeaways from Little India or the Peace Centre and have dinner in the roof garden. Free internet was great and it was handy to have laundry facilities on site - would have been nice to have a fridge and a sink too. Front desk staff were invariably helpful and friendly. Good location - close enough to metro or just a short taxi ride to the centre. We had a baby backpack so the 40 or so stairs up to the hotel were no problem but would be a challenge with a stroller.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SparrowVillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#27 of 237 in Singapore
500 reviews
Chinatown
Adler Luxury Hostel
Adler Luxury Hostel
#5 of 237 in Singapore
612 reviews
Fisher BnB
#2 of 237 in Singapore
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Wink Capsule Hostel
Wink Capsule Hostel
#12 of 237 in Singapore
693 reviews
Rucksack Inn @ Lavender
#16 of 237 in Singapore
339 reviews
YMCA One Orchard
#22 of 237 in Singapore
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to hangout@mt.emily? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about hangout@mt.emily

Address: 10A Upper Wilkie Road Mount Emily Hotel, Singapore 228119, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 237 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: ₹ 4,446 - ₹ 9,658 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — hangout@mt.emily 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created especially for the savvy budget traveller, hangout at mt.emily promises a fun and affordable stay. Nestled in a tranquil respite away from the hustle and bustle of the city, hangout at mt.emily is located just a stone’s throw away from Orchard Road, Bugis and Little India. Designed with our signature "no frills, just fun" concept, we give travellers just the right amount of attention needed - no unnecessary amenities except for cushy beds and squeaky clean bathroom at rates that won't blow a hole in your pocket. And if you love making new friends, hangout at mt.emily offers the perfect place to meet hangout and meet fellow travellers.A firm believer of corporate social responsibility, hangout at mt.emily (part of the Cathay Organisation group) has been donating SGD$1 from each room night stay to the Organisation’s adopted charities since it open in 2004. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Ctrip TA so you can book your hangout@mt.emily reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hangout At Mt. Emily Hotel Singapore
Hangout Hotel Singapore
Hangout@Mt.Emily Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing