We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
314 results
Traveller rating
31
96
106
52
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
96
106
52
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews room tidy aljunied mrt station quiet hotel recommend hotel ten minute walk air con hotel room is nice place to stay bottled water booked this hotel internet connection public transport stayed for nights lorong kettle dryer hangers
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 314 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2016

I've stayed here many times over the years and it never disappoints.
It's a budget hotel so it is simple and unfussy but has everything you need.
There is no food/restaurant in the hotel but it is surrounded by loads of cheap eateries a minute away open 24 hours.

The rooms are clean and comfortable - but small. Little en-suite bathroom. Kettle and free instant tea and coffee everyday. (I always bring my own preferred brand of tea bags). There is a TV in the room with a dozen or so local channels but I never bother watching. WiFi is free and works - generally OK but can be slow sometimes.
Air conditioning works well, but is too cold for me personally so I keep it turned off.

It's a quiet hotel - you can sleep at night! But sometimes in the busy season July August some guests are noisy coming and going to/from their rooms.
The reception staff are always welcoming and friendly and helpful and the cleaners make sure everything is OK in your room - a big mention here for my favourite cleaner Auntie Tan always smiling and cheerful!
That's all!

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank alexmargou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KennethMGR9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 - Geylang, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2016

Dear AlexMargou,

We are so glad to hear that you always enjoy your stay with us! Compliments like these make our hard work all worthwhile. On behalf of the Hotel 81 Geylang Team, thank you!
We will certainly convey our gratitude to Madam Tan too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

Amasingly bad room service. We paid 40sgd for early check in and received room with hairs and trash. Another rooms were with sperm on the floor! Please dont come here for a honeymoon! We made manager to clean by himself and too much arquing. Better pay 10usd more and take fragrance line hotels!

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Vital E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

Good room service with madam Tan.satisfied with her friendly attitude.the place is foreigner friendly ..good reception people.room has good internet connection.. the room is clean and with neat pillows

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank rainierjacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KennethMGR9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 - Geylang, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2016

Thank you for your kind review! We do appreciate it !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2016

It’s a budget hotel similar to many in the Hotel 81 Chain. Try to get one of the renovated rooms which come with better bathroom, fridge and room safe. The rooms are fairly small but clean and all of them have a small desk, TV air conditioning and a kettle to make a cup of tea or coffee. WiFi works well. Special thanks to Mdm Tan who cleaned our room so efficiently. Geylang is an “interesting and colourful ” area with plenty of reasonably priced places to eat and , convenience stores nearby. Aljunied MRT station is a ten minute walk away and many buses run along Geylang Road.

Be aware that Geylang is an official Singapore red light area and the hotel is in the heart of it. There are official establishments designated by large red numbers and visible street prostitution. Also some illegal gambling and selling of dubious cigarettes and performance enhancers. The area is safe and you are not likely to get hassled but it isn’t the “squeaky clean” Singapore you might expect.

Room tip: Try to get one of the renovated rooms with fridge and room safe
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Alastairzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Even though it is located in a seedy area at night the hotel is reasonable and safe. The daytime is fine and we never felt awkward or fearful. The staff was nice and Tan Kim Eng was so nice to clean our room daily and quickly when we were in a rush. Her service was great and we appreciated her responsiveness to our needs. Thanks.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank davidmba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KennethMGR9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 - Geylang, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2016

Thank you for your nice comments about our staff! We will certainly be conveying our thanks to Ms Tan Kim Eng who has been with us for a good number of years. Please come back soon, on behalf of the team at Hotel 81 Geylang, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews