We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money”
Review of Hotel 81 - Geylang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel 81 - Geylang
Ranked #207 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 23 September 2016

i stay for 02 days in hotel i recommended this hotel to all who want to stay in Geylang area , rooms was good , air conditoner was superb , Wifi was ok ok singles are week in rooms , Hotel staff very good & helpful nearest MRT station Aljunied Stn (approx 750 Meters) good restaurants available near by to the hotel

Room Tip: best in Geylang for budgeted options
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jitesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KennethMGR9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 - Geylang, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2016

Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for your compliments, the Hotel 81 Geylang Team does work hard to enjoy a comfortable and enjoyable stay for our guests.!
We hope to have you back with us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 29 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2016

I've stayed here many times over the years and it never disappoints.
It's a budget hotel so it is simple and unfussy but has everything you need.
There is no food/restaurant in the hotel but it is surrounded by loads of cheap eateries a minute away open 24 hours.

The rooms are clean and comfortable - but small. Little en-suite bathroom. Kettle and free instant tea and coffee everyday. (I always bring my own preferred brand of tea bags). There is a TV in the room with a dozen or so local channels but I never bother watching. WiFi is free and works - generally OK but can be slow sometimes.
Air conditioning works well, but is too cold for me personally so I keep it turned off.

It's a quiet hotel - you can sleep at night! But sometimes in the busy season July August some guests are noisy coming and going to/from their rooms.
The reception staff are always welcoming and friendly and helpful and the cleaners make sure everything is OK in your room - a big mention here for my favourite cleaner Auntie Tan always smiling and cheerful!
That's all!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank alexmargou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KennethMGR9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 - Geylang, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2016

Dear AlexMargou,

We are so glad to hear that you always enjoy your stay with us! Compliments like these make our hard work all worthwhile. On behalf of the Hotel 81 Geylang Team, thank you!
We will certainly convey our gratitude to Madam Tan too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

Amasingly bad room service. We paid 40sgd for early check in and received room with hairs and trash. Another rooms were with sperm on the floor! Please dont come here for a honeymoon! We made manager to clean by himself and too much arquing. Better pay 10usd more and take fragrance line hotels!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Vital E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

Good room service with madam Tan.satisfied with her friendly attitude.the place is foreigner friendly ..good reception people.room has good internet connection.. the room is clean and with neat pillows

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank rainierjacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KennethMGR9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 - Geylang, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2016

Thank you for your kind review! We do appreciate it !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2016

It’s a budget hotel similar to many in the Hotel 81 Chain. Try to get one of the renovated rooms which come with better bathroom, fridge and room safe. The rooms are fairly small but clean and all of them have a small desk, TV air conditioning and a kettle to make a cup of tea or coffee. WiFi works well. Special thanks to Mdm Tan who cleaned our room so efficiently. Geylang is an “interesting and colourful ” area with plenty of reasonably priced places to eat and , convenience stores nearby. Aljunied MRT station is a ten minute walk away and many buses run along Geylang Road.

Be aware that Geylang is an official Singapore red light area and the hotel is in the heart of it. There are official establishments designated by large red numbers and visible street prostitution. Also some illegal gambling and selling of dubious cigarettes and performance enhancers. The area is safe and you are not likely to get hassled but it isn’t the “squeaky clean” Singapore you might expect.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the renovated rooms with fridge and room safe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Alastairzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Palace
Hotel 81 - Palace
#259 of 319 in Singapore
221 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Orchid
Hotel 81 - Orchid
#279 of 319 in Singapore
438 reviews
Geylang
Chang Ziang Hotel
Chang Ziang Hotel
#193 of 319 in Singapore
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Star
Hotel 81 - Star
#147 of 319 in Singapore
567 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Princess
Hotel 81 - Princess
#261 of 319 in Singapore
237 reviews
BudgetOne Hotel
#241 of 319 in Singapore
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 81 - Geylang? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81 - Geylang

Address: 20 Lorong 16 Geylang, Singapore 398863, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Geylang
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #207 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: ₹ 2,599 - ₹ 4,224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81 - Geylang 2*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 81 - Geylang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81 - Geylang Singapore
81 Geylang Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing