We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service needs improvement”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Somerset Bencoolen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Somerset Bencoolen
Ranked #120 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Service needs improvement”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Stayed for a month in a one bedroom apartment. The space is small, and I didn't get that cozy feeling throughout my stay. In general, the place is well-equipped, the kitchen has enough utensils for basic cooking, the gym is decent, and the breakfast was basic. But you will get sick of it after awhile. The rooftop pool is quite nice as there were not many people utilizing it. A few comments about my stay:

1. Housekeeping - I wish the staff is more courteous, as there had been a couple of times while I was getting ready for work, the staff pressed the bell and said "housekeeping" and before I could even respond (less than 3 seconds), she already made attempt to open my door (the latch was closed, luckily). That saved me from embarrassment as I was not entirely decent at that time. Also, there was a time when they did not change the linen for 5 consecutive days (but to be fair I did not request for housekeeping on 2 days in between). And also they forgot to leave any towels after they took away the dirty towels, and I had to request for it. There is also one time when the aircond remote was hidden under the linen after they made the bed! I had to look around for it for awhile!

2. The oven in the kitchen was not working, I made my complaint, and they said they fixed it, but it was still not working when I tried to use it.

3. This is not really the place's fault, but the construction can be bothersome due to the noise and accessibility.

Besides the comments above, I would say that the location is actually good to get around, there are 2 MRT station and one of them is Dhoby Ghout which is the main station with many lines which is about 10min walk, and Bras Basah station about 5mins walk. Plenty of bus stations around as well and getting taxi at the area is fairly easy.

Food-wise, there are plenty of restaurants nearby. Especially if you are a muslim traveller, in the same building there is a halal nasi padang restaurant, which is quite famous among Malays in Singapore, 24-hour Indian restaurant just a block away and a halal chinese restaurant behind the block. There is also a mosque within the building.

I think if they put more effort to improve on the services with a bit of refurb to the room, this place has potential especially once the mega-construction across the place is completed.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllyN_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    108
    26
    1
    3
See reviews for
106
30
8
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I had a one bedroom apartment. The size is fine for one or a couple but the decor was like it was from late 90s. There is a small two seater rock hard sofa and a coffee table in the living room and a two seater dining table. The kithhen had couple pans and well stocked with glasses and plates. The bed was rock hard and I bought my own pillow.
The pool was nice but overall this has a 3+ feeling. I was happy to check out after a month. I woudl rather stay at Citadines Mount Sophia than here next time which is similar price but more up to date and much nicer.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tuu32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Somerset apartment equips everything for family stay. It is close to two subway stations (10 mins walk). Breakfast could not be simpler, only bread and cereal. Opposite the street there is a main construction site, which starts making noise from 9am to 7pm. Pool is at roof floor.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boblix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

The first thing that struck me about this place is that it is a little tired. I agree with the previous reviewers that it certainly is not luxurious but it was clean and had everything we needed.

We wanted more space than just two hotel rooms for 2 adults and 2 kids, and a small apartment was what we were looking for. In that sense it was perfect. What I didn't like was that the apartment seemed a bit dark and that the bathrooms are not well-ventilated and smelled a bit damp, especially after the doors were closed all night. The one thing that did bug me was that the balcony light can't be turned off and the curtains don't close all the way in the master bedroom.

Basic crockery is provided, and tea and coffee. Fruits, drinks and snacks can be bought from the 7-eleven across the street.

The rooftop pool is great not only for the kids. There is a playground on the rooftop as well, though I would have used something more solid than glass for the barrier (quite scary for people afraid of heights).

Breakfast was provided in our rate and was of acceptable quality and with sufficient choice. Again, if you are not expecting luxury then you won't be disappointed.

There is construction going on in the road in front of the hotel but this is only during the day so it didn't bother us.

Location-wise, it is excellent. Convenience stores and fast-food outlets (including Subway and Coffee Bean) are near by. Two MRT stations are within walking distance: Bras Basah station (2 minutes' walk) and Dhoby Ghaut a bit further up. The purple line from Dhoby Ghaut takes one to Harbourfront (Sentosa) in no time. Bras Basah is on the Circle Line which takes one to Clarke Quay.

Also within walking distance is the National Museum, which is really worth a visit, especially on a rainy day.

Muslim travellers may find it convenient that there is a mosque is located on the same block.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank h4ni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

This accommodation is basic. There is no denying that. BUT everything you need is right here. IF you are looking for a pool, there is a really good one on the roof. If you are looking for kids' places to play, they are looked after. Laundry and gym are taken care of... AND location is very good. Within 5 mins walk to Bras Basah station, shops, religious centres, museums and even raffles are within comfortable walking distance and anything else (ie the sands casino complex or Sentoza) are only a cab ride away.

I went there on holiday and was very satisfied but if I was there longer term, I would have been equally pleased. This caters for all purposes.

Staff were lovely and tried genuinely hard to accommodate all needs.

The only thing missing was luxury and for a holiday some may be looking for that - which if we're honest, for the price you can find elsewhere in Singapore many times over.

Room Tip: Higher up means closer to pool and away from street
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank internationalist159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Somerset Liang Court Singapore
Strand Hotel
#149 of 306 in Singapore
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
V Hotel Bencoolen
#168 of 306 in Singapore
1,253 reviews
Hotel Kai
#115 of 306 in Singapore
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Bencoolen? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Bencoolen

Property: Somerset Bencoolen
Address: No. 51 Bencoolen Street, Singapore 189630, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#60 Family Hotel in Singapore
#64 Business Hotel in Singapore
#71 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#95 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,459 - ₹ 16,910
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Bencoolen 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Singapore's former civic district, Somerset Bencoolen is strategically and conveniently located. A luxurious escape from the hustle and bustle of city life, it nonetheless puts you just minutes away from every imaginable pursuit. Elegant shopping, fine dining, pulsating nightlife, as well as museum exhibits and world-renowned cultural performances are all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Somerset Bencoolen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Bencoolen Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing