We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“couldn't wish for a better place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Somerset Liang Court Singapore
Ranked #60 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Langwarrin, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“couldn't wish for a better place to stay”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Myself and 3 friends travelled to Singapore for a 10 day stay. We stayed at Somerset in a 2 bedroom apartment and couldn't have wished for anything better. Each bedroom had its own bathroom, TV and airconditioner, hairdryer etc. They were always kept lovely and clean and large enough not to be in each others pockets.

Buffet Breaksfast was included and had a variety of things for everyone.

As for the pool area what a way to relax after a hard day sight seeing. You could use the pool area from early morning until 10:00pm.

Best location. Somerset is central to everything. MRT station across the road, bus stops around the corner and taxi ramps 5 minute walk away. minutes walk from Clarke Quay which during the day was a pleasant relaxing area, and at night was a hub of activity. There was always something different to see or do. Plenty of different restuarants to try out, or if exhausted from a days outing you could get it to take back to your room.

As it was so central, it was in walking distance to a lot of the areas, Chinatown, Orchard Rd., Marina Bay.etc, or an inexpensive taxi trip. Various shopping complexes in the area along with food courts if you are looking for a quick inexpensive meal. Added bonus is a supermarket next door down in the B1 area.

As for the staff at Somerset you couldn't wish for any better. Silvan and all the staff were always happy to assist in anyway they could. Nothing was too much trouble, and they were always ingterested in how your day went, how you enjoyed it, and what you were up to the next day. It was lovely to be greated every time you came or went with such happy smiling faces.

We all agreed that in all the places we have travelled to that the Silvan and all the staff for the most friendly and helpful we have come across.

Even though there was construction going on next door, this didn't bother us at all, quite the opposite. Before going down for breakfast we would watch the hive of activity going on at the site, try and work out what they were doing and after a full day out we enjoyed checking out their progress.

We plan to return to Singapore in a couple of years to check out how the Gardens on the Bay has expanded and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else.

Gayle Szommer

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GayleS1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    203
    36
    13
    7
See reviews for
302
20
5
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
HK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Located right in Clarke Quay, in day time, you can enjoy the nice and quiet riverside. At night, the area transform into a nice clubbing area with many choices on bars and restaurants. Live band and street performance is just at the corner.

On transportation, MRT station (Clarke Quay NE5) is just in 5mins walk. River taxi is at doorway. If you like, you can walk alone the river to the Merlion and Marina Bay. It just talk arround 30-40mins and the view is great. Also walking to China Town and From Airport to hotel, if take Taxi in non-peak hours, costed less than SDG25.

Hotel room is great and comfortable . Clean and large. Breakfast is ok, just at 9am, too crowed and refill is a bit slow. If go earlier or later would be fine. May request for the river view room and higher floor as our room is facing the construction side.

A small shopping centre with food court, starbucks, McDonald, Subways and a large supermarket is just located next to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cykate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights last week (June 2012).

Had a two BR appartment.

Location is good, near Clarke Quay (walking distance).

Rooms are clean, large and although not stylish, quite satisfactory. They include one bathroom and one shower room, both with toilet. 3TV sets, amount of channels ok (for Singapore).

Service is minimal, as expected, but courteous and efficient.

Pool is nice, as well as the gym.

Only downturn, MRT (subway) is a good 10 minutes away if walking.

I was not lucky, cause during my stay there was a construction site nearby that was noisy 24 hours around. My rest was affected, and I slept an average 4 hours per night...

A good option. Inquire about the status of the construction before booking, and in any case ask for a river view.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We cannot say enough about the comfort of our stay here. The service was over the top! The apartment was immaculate and fully stocked with everything we needed. I would come back here in a minute upon future trips to Singapore. Also, the central location made getting around the city a breeze!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Just back from 8 nights at the Somerset Liang Court with our family of two adults and two children and really enjoyed this property. We stayed in a two bedroom premier apartment on the 22nd floor. We had requested a higher floor to minimise the noise from construction of the adjacent MRT station. We did hear some noise and our view immediately below was of a construction site - however this didn't detract from our holiday, the kids loved watching the building progress!

The apartments are very spacious and we certainly made use the of kitchen for making snacks and also used the washer/dryer most days. The master bedroom was huge and bathrooms very nice. The staff were very friendly and the free internet in the reception area was a bonus. The pool area is shared with the Novotel but it was never crowded and we alway found beach chairs and shade, pool towels are provided. Note that the "shallow" end of the pool is 100cm deep so small children can't touch the bottom, however there is a small area of steps into the pool which the kids can walk into the pool before it gets too deep.

The continental breakfast was fine and we always found enough variety even after 8 days. Breakfast starts at 6.30am during the week and we found there was no crowd before 8.00am but after that it did get busy and there were delays in food being replenished. The was always extra seating available around the corner from the juice station which most people never found.

The Clarke Quay area was great with plenty of restuarants to choose from and it was about a 5 minute walk to the MRT station. The hotel is above a small shopping centre with a food court, McDonalds, Starbucks and supermarket so well serviced for immediate needs.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay here and found it perfect for travelling with a young family - we would definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Request high floor away from construction. 8th floor is where the breakfast room and pool is so can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lemonycake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Fraser Place Robertson Walk, Singapore
Somerset Bencoolen
#107 of 312 in Singapore
226 reviews
The Quays
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Fraser Suites Singapore
#23 of 312 in Singapore
375 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#49 of 312 in Singapore
3,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Liang Court Singapore? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Liang Court Singapore

Property: Somerset Liang Court Singapore
Address: No 177B River Valley Road, Singapore 179032, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Singapore
#55 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#56 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,949 - ₹ 21,832
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Liang Court Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the convenience and the trendy buzz of riverfront living. Somerset Liang Court is near many historic sites and scenic locations from Fort Canning Park to Boat Quay. Just minutes from the Singapore River, the residence is surrounded by unique and diverse riverside attractions. It is located above a shopping mall and just next to the gastronomic Clarke Quay restaurant and entertainment hub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Somerset Liang Court Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Liang Court Hotel Singapore
Somerset Liang Court Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing