We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stopover”
Review of Hotel Miramar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Miramar
Ranked #103 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Perth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Stopover”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

The Miramar is a very good value hotel if you need to simply wash and sleep well when in Singapore for a short stopover. We liked the location, very close to the hub bub of Robertson and Clarke Quay and we enjoyed the 15-20 minute walk to the MRT. Note that you could also hop on the river cruise at the Clarke Quay stop off ( only a 10 minute walk from the Miramar ) and cruise to Marina Bay and other riverside attractions.
We were given a late check out at no extra charge ( without requesting it ) because we booked via Singapore Stopover Holidays ( very efficient ) and this was a great surprise and very much appreciated. Thankyou. We slept well in our river view room, waking refreshed to enjoy our planned sightseeing. The staff at this hotel were very nice and made us feel welcome.

Room Tip: River view upper floors best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dotty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    462
    225
    51
    24
See reviews for
164
446
70
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Shoalhaven
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Miramar in November 2011 on a 3-day stopover in Singapore. Hotel was reasonably priced, and accommodation comfortable. Older hotel, but has everything you need. We were very happy with the location and price.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nikkel58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
252 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The Miramar is a bit pricy but this was a return visit and when you know the standard you can expect, I chose it. This is away from the centre and quieter. Although on a busy main road, there was no traffic noise. Clarke Quay is about a 20 minute stroll along the riverbank - very pleasant. I arived after midnight, greeted by pleasant staff and a very quick check-in. My room was very large, pleasant and equipped with fridge, coffee maker and room safe. Buffet breakfast was not included for me, and offered a good range of Asian and European foods. I did not like their very strong coffee and have receivd a written apology from the manager saying they will consider changing their coffee brand. Singapore is a good stop-over point when flying from Australia to England and I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank female-tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stayed at Hotel Miramar for one weekend when we were in Singapore. The hotel is very reasonable for this type of hotels. The room is not fancy, but it is comfy and has sufficient amenities. I would have to say the shower is very good. If you're looking for a luxury hotel, then this is not for you. However if you're looking for a place to rest while exploring Singapore then this is the one for you considering how pricey all Singapore hotels are.

It is also located near Clarke Quay where there are some restaurants and bars. If not Orchard Road is a 5 min cab ride away. A note to those who are driving, the hotel offers free parking to guests. Just ask for the voucher when you check out.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ytravel18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I stayed at the Miramar for a short getaway as part of a package from Escape Travel. I paid $200 a night but stayed 4 nights for the price of three.

Pros: -most of the staff were very friendly (except for one tour booking person who was really quite rude and one bellman who couldn't care less)
-most bell staff and desk personnel were very efficient
-they let me check in very early after an early am arrival...with no extra charge
-there is a shower and change room you can use free if you have a late flight
-there is a mall within ten minutes' walking distance

Cons:
-The 'deluxe' rooms are definitely not four-star, as the Miramar bills itself (although I understand the 'premium' rooms are a bit better)-the rooms are worn around the edges and in need of some renovations
-the housekeeping was so-so (note to staff--you need to clean under the rim of the toilet bowl too...eww)
-despite what some others have said, this place is not that central...it is not that close to any major points of interest. It is a hike to get anywhere on foot, and there is no MRT station nearby. There is a bus station outside the door of the hotel, but if you don't already know your way around it is a bit of a chore to figure out.
-i asked for a late check out as I was going on a tour all morning, and they said the best they could do was one extra hour...for a charge.

All up, although the Miramar definitely has its drawbacks, there is a pretty good vibe here and some of the staff were outstanding. If it had some upgrading and the prices were just a bit lower, I would stay here again. Now that I know the lay of the land though, I will probably be looking for a more modern, more central hotel the next time I come to Singapore.

Grade: C+

Room Tip: I heard the premier rooms are better than the deluxe rooms (which are a bit of a misnomer)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SylvieRamonaBluebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Furama RiverFront
#102 of 312 in Singapore
2,264 reviews
The Quays
Four Points by Sheraton Singapore, Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#50 of 312 in Singapore
3,837 reviews
Furama City Centre
#264 of 312 in Singapore
2,592 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#48 of 312 in Singapore
3,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar

Property: Hotel Miramar
Address: 401 Havelock Road Hotel Miramar, Singapore 169631, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#87 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,183 - ₹ 26,177
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miramar 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tower Hotel located in city center, within walking distance of Orchard Road & Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Fastbooking and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel Singapore
Hotel Miramar Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing