We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It WAS a glorious hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Summer View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Summer View Hotel
Ranked #109 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Paralimni, Cyprus
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“It WAS a glorious hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

I was in a hurry when I booked this hotel. It was a sudden booking.
Since the location and the price seems good, I booked this hotel just 1 day before.

I was quite excited when I know this hotel location was a prime location.
But when I checked-in, I was stunned by the un-friendliness of the front office staff.
She asked for my passport, as if I had been a visitor from an isolated island. She just said "PASSPORT!" "PASSPORT!", meanwhile I greeted her and spoke to her with my very good articulated English.

I was quite amazed when she gave me a metal key, instead of the Key Card. In this time??
The hotel with high floors building? Still using the metal key? that's very un-secure, isn't it?

Well the rooms: The door couldn't be opened full since the alley for the door was too narrow.
The furniture were very old and worn out. They need a total refurbished.

The carpet real color is already un-noticeable since it was very very worn out and too old.

At the first time, I was quite entertained by the new LCD tv installed on the wall, but oh no...they only have 3-4 local channels, news the whole time and no satellite channels at all.
Some of the channels were even scrambled.

When I was about to use the free wifi, as told in their compendium book, I was asked the password.
Then I called the operator asking about it. Gosh I was waited for more than 5 minutes by the operator, just to tell me back the internet was not actually free of charge. And I have to buy voucher to use the wifi facilities.

The Air con sometimes works very well especially at night, until it is freezing. But sometimes not working at all. Luckily I spent a lot of time outside the hotel.

The bathroom : It was a luxurious hotel for the late 80's. Not for now. It is already outdated with further renovation. They have big toilet bowl that can't be flushed, outdated bath tube with unstable hot water supply. The circulation in the bathroom was very bad, so if you used the toilet bowl to do the No.1, the odor will stay there for quite a long time. Disgusting.

Well actually there is a positive thing about this hotel.Even the restaurant was quite tiny, with very limited tables, with quite limited choices of menu, the served quite delicious dishes.
And as mentioned above again, the restaurant need total renovation, it seemed like the end of the 80's restaurant, with gloomy wall and old decoration.

Luckily the location was good. Getting taxi is an easy things, Food and supermarkets were around the area. Getting everywhere from this location was easy.

The conclusion is : If you don't expect the a new nicer hotel, and only use this hotel for sleeping and keep your eyes closed for the facilities, because you are aftering for good location. this hotel is your you.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Harry2030101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    198
    135
    21
    19
See reviews for
144
120
35
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bandung
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

This is my second stay at this hotel...it was on Feb 1-2, 2012.
I was staying in standard room and it is very small room. Cleanliness is OK, location is OK, you can go to Bugis Junction and nearby MRT station is Bugis.
Accessibility is good and worth the money spent.

Room Tip: reserve only on deluxe or higher type of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank astiarsanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

The rooms are out of date and have a musty smell (carpets). We booked it for a layover in April for $80pn (5 people/2 rooms). When we get there the price jumped to $80pp and they called it a "Festive Season Surcharge". As it was Xmas we had no choice. The food, and the restaurant was well below standard. At least some of the staff were nice.
Please go somewhere else, you've been warned!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Conbrucious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

Arrive very late and get upgrade room for free, thanks. Nice location with many shops and mall. Easy to find foods. The room clean and nice. But the breakfast time so limited, so we miss it. Overall we happy and would love to stay here again!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trizn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

Hotel is ok, clean and comfortable with very helpful staff, important when in a strange city. Very safe area, (although I suspect most of Singapore is), lots of people out walking in the evenings. Good selection of shops, restaurants nearby. If only there for a day or two, as we were, best to book a city tour which stops at places of interest for photos, as it's too far to walk to most of them.

Room Tip: Ask if there is one away from the front of the hotel, it's on a very busy main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanJH11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
0.0 km away
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#60 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,204 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel G Singapore
Hotel G Singapore
#136 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.3 km away
V Hotel Bencoolen
V Hotel Bencoolen
#168 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Bencoolen - Bencoolen Street
0.6 km away
Hotel Kai
Hotel Kai
#121 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel YAN
Hotel YAN
#50 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer View Hotel

Property: Summer View Hotel
Address: 173 Bencoolen Street Summer View Hotel, Singapore 189642, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,961 - ₹ 8,385
Hotel Class:3 star — Summer View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Fastbooking, ACCOR and Agoda so you can book your Summer View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer View Singapore
Hotel Summer View
Summer View Hotel Singapore
Summerview Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing