We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
York Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$ 196
US$ 152
Novotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
One Farrer Hotel & Spa(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$ 219
US$ 192
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orchard Hotel Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$ 173
US$ 155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mandarin Orchard Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$ 238
US$ 180
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$ 163
US$ 143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marina Bay Sands(Singapore)
US$ 529
US$ 367
MarinaBaySands
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 154
US$ 116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore(Singapore)
US$ 495
US$ 328
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 151
US$ 142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 190
US$ 183
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,428)
Filter reviews
1,428 results
Traveller rating
239
642
379
100
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
239
642
379
100
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmount elizabeth hospitalorchard roadquadruple roomfamily roomparagon shopping centrelucky plazafar east plazapremier roomking bedlarge roombreakfast was includedfew minutes walkpublic transportmrt stationscottstaxistakashimaya
Filter
Updating list...
860 - 865 of 1,428 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2012

For the price the hotel is okay.
They are very strict with their check in times, so don't come in early!
Was travelling as a couple and the only rooms they had available when we came to check in were two single beds. Was told we would have to wait 2 hours if wanted a room with a double.
Only stayed there one night so did not really have a chance to check out the facilities. Walking distance to Orchard Road. But for USD 195.65 I did not think it was very good value. Rooms average. Service average. All pretty average.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crystal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I chose this hotel because I need to be close to the Mt. Elizabeth hospital, however I do have to warn that despite the short distance, the walk to (or from) the hospital is a bit rough for someone who is very sick. Aside from the accessibility from the hospital, I did had a really nice time in this hotel. The receptionist upgraded my Superior booking to "Premier" room. I was in shock to see how big and chic this room is. There are 2 king size beds in the room, so for a start, this room can sleep even 6-8 people (officially only allow 4). The bed is so cozy, that I slept like a baby. They have a walk in closet and 2 wash basins in the bathroom. And here's why I love the interior of the room: the panelling on the wall is quilted (fake) leather that looks really modern, the carpet is fluffy, polka dot lace curtain, modern looking lounge chairs, and to such small detail in the interior like sleek black lamp. I would advise to not go for the breakfast though, it's just terrible and not much choice either. So you'd rather order a room service, which is cheaper. As for service, well, there was no doormen most of the time, the receptionist and front desk are nowhere to be found at night (also lacking out of smiles at night), concierge not very helpful and seems to be unwilling to help. But, the morning receptionist was great when I checked out. Honestly, I wouldn't stay here any more if it weren't for the premier room.

Room Tip: Premier room can fit A LOT of people
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank theprincessw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

I stayed six nights at the York Hotel- 2 nights in a Superior and 4 nights in a Family Deluxe Suite. Check in went smoothly and the folks were friendly and efficient. Concierge was awesome, checking baggage, arranging taxis, etc. There was a fairly constant supply of taxis outside the hotel but not all the time. Sometimes I walked down to Mt Elizabeth Hospital to catch a taxi there. The Superior room was quite small but clean. The only thing lacking was the bath tub. It was very small, cracked and marked tile around it, and stained. Everything else was very good. We had a queen bed in the room and we had just enough room to walk around it; however there was a sitting couch that could have worked for a second bed (for a small person) so that took up some room. The Family suite was *huge*! Here the bathtub was much bigger, we had one king bed and two fulls that we pushed together. We had 3 children and 2 adults in the room and never felt like we were cramped. I would highly recommend the suite for a family. There was no room division so you have to go to the sleep the same time as the kids, or hang out in the bathroom. It did have a walk in closet, which was enough to stack our 5 suitcases in. Room service was good; food was hot and good (but not great). Skip breakfast! Very expensive, limited Western menu and the food was mediocre tending towards lacking. The staff was nice, but it was S$75 for 1 adult/1child. The walk up to the hotel from Orchard should be a consideration if you have *any* walking issues; limp, sprain, winded easily. The sidewalk is uneven in a few spots, it is a 30% grade -going up hill after a few hours of shopping/walking is notable. You can take a taxi from Paragon (mall at Mt Elizabeth and Orchard) up to the hotel but because of one way streets, it isn't a direct drive. Maybe S$4 - 5 because of the pick up charge (S$3.50). There is a Pizza Hut in Lucky Plaza that is awesome (but doesn't deliver to York) and a McDonalds a little further down; for those of us who's children eat at those places. Overall a nice place and we will stay again when we return to Singapore. The hotel feels more intimate and smaller (in a good way) than the Marriott or Royal Plaza on Scotts.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main tower (elevator is by reception); they have a second tower (elevator past the restaurant) but I think it is the older of the two and isn't as nice as the main tower.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Live_frm_AsiaPac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Only small criticisms are ,on arrival had to go looking for porter.Long wait to check in.
Room was spacious and very clean.excellent selection at the buffet breakfast both western and oriental dishes, smiling willing service.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LondonMajordomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

we had a pleaent stay at the york singapore
the location is great
however the room service staff is a bit rude, though the food at the hotel is good
Also when we reached the hotel there was no body at the main entrance to take out our luggage from the taxi, to which the taxi guy also said BAD SERVICE
overall we enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Worldhotels.com
2  Thank urbandwellings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews