We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Incompetent Management” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orchard Parade Hotel by Far East Hospitality

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Orchard Parade Hotel by Far East Hospitality
Ranked #90 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Incompetent Management”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

When I checked out I paid my incidentals by cash. Three days later there was a charge on my credit card for more incidentals that were duplicates and some I believe were not even mine. I pointed it out to the managers via e-mail and they agreed to the over charges and asked me to review the statements for more over charges. I thought that was managements job!!! I finally got frustrated with them and realized they were incompetent so I told them to drop the matter and I would just take the S$100 loss. I was afraid if they tried to reimburse me they would screw things up worse than they were. Never once was there an apology or a 'you are the customer, you are right' attitude. They were always defensive and insisting they were right. I don't recommend using your credit card here.

As far as the hotel, like all hotels in Singapore, the lobby is nice, but once you leave the elevator and walk through the maze of hallways to your room, you will probably be as disappointed as I was. The furniture is large and outdated which make your tiny little room feel even smaller. The cleaning staff was polite and friendly, but didn't change the linens daily. Overall, I think there are better prices and locations in Singapore where the management actually cares about the customer. I will never return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJ0266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KheeSiong, General Manager at Orchard Parade Hotel by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Sir/Mdm,

Thank you for sharing your constructive feedback with us. We appreciate your highlight on the areas of shortfall you have had experienced. Allow me to reiterate my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.You have every right to expect to be checked into a hotel of efficient and high and service quality, which we have failed to deliver. This is certainly not representative of the standards either of us expects from any hotel. At the Orchard Parade Hotel, we strongly believe that it is our duty to provide all our guests with a warm and high level of hospitality service throughout their stay. We can only hope that you will give us another opportunity to redeem ourselves and to restore your confidence in our hotel. I would like to take this opportunity to invite you to contact me directly for your future visits to Singapore. It will be my pleasure to be of service to you in ensuring a pleasant and memorable stay with us.Frequent nomad, once again, please accept our sincere apologies.

Kind Regards,

Ng Khee Siong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    528
    803
    374
    102
    52
See reviews for
451
363
133
611
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Makati
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

It's my first time to visit this hotel and I can tell it's really worth every penny. The room is very relaxing, a good choice for people who needs some time to rest. Staffs are really accommodating particularly FO Joanne who was very helpful in assisting us and providing our needs.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cess F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KheeSiong, General Manager at Orchard Parade Hotel by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Sir/Mdm,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Orchard Parade Hotel. We are delighted to know you have enjoyed your stay with us; and were satisfied with our our location, facilities and services provided by our team. Our hotel is a 3-minute walk from the shopping belt of Orchard Road. Vibrant nightlife options at Clarke Quay and Boat Quay are approximately 3 km away. The hotel is a 30-minute drive from Changi International Airport. When it comes to shopping and eating, this area definitely has one of the best options in Singapore. We greatly appreciate your compliments on our team members and their services. Your positive feedback is a big motivation to our staff and we will definitely convey this to Joanne and the team.At the Orchard Parade Hotel, we strongly believe that it is our duty to provide all our guests with a warm and high level of hospitality service throughout their stay. Thank you again for sharing your experience and recommending us. We really look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to Singapore.

Kind Regards,

Ng Khee Siong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Business trip, and not a patch on some of the better places in Sing, but it was value. Room a bit dingy, and as usual in the East check in takes ages!

Good spot though, next to Coffee shops and good bars.

Didnt eat in the hotel, but the bar was cozy.

Spent a day round the pool, no on site service and had to ring down for a drink and food. Came pretty quickly though.

Gym next to the outdoor pool was reasonable.

Note, there is a very good wine shop by the Hotel lobby.

Overall, good spot to be if you are not planning to be in the room and hotel for long periods.

Room Tip: Face the pool, must be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FoxtrotUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KheeSiong, General Manager at Orchard Parade Hotel by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Sir/Mdm,

It was our pleasure to have you as our guests during your recent stay with us.I am very pleased to hear that you had enjoyed your stay here.Orchard Parade Hotel is a 3-minute walk from the shopping belt of Orchard Road. Vibrant nightlife options at Clarke Quay and Boat Quay are approximately 3 km away. The hotel is a 30-minute drive from Changi International Airport. When it comes to shopping and eating, this area definitely has one of the best options in Singapore. At the Orchard Parade Hotel, we strongly believe that it is our duty to provide all our guests with a warm and high level of hospitality service throughout their stay. Your kind comment is deeply appreciated by all our team members. Once again, thank you for your continuous support and my team look forward to seeing you soon!

Kind Regards,

Ng Khee Siong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

I have been staying at OPH on a regular basis for the past 2 years. Of course you will find more modern hotels in Singapore but the rooms (especially the club suite rooms) have a kind of a colonial flavor that I love...This is also probably the best view you can get (pool side) in any Orchard road hotels... All the staff is really friendly and Eunice is the one you want to look for if you are staying on executives floor.. She can make the difference..
OPH is my S'pore Home....

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UBWISE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KheeSiong, General Manager at Orchard Parade Hotel by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Dear Sir/Mdm,

Thank you for your kind comments.We are delighted to know you have enjoyed your stay with us; and were satisfied with our location, facilities and services provided by our team. Hotel Orchard Parade is a 3-minute walk from the shopping belt of Orchard Road. Vibrant nightlife options at Clarke Quay and Boat Quay are approximately 3 km away. The hotel is a 30-minute drive from Changi International Airport.
We greatly appreciate your compliments on our team members and their services. Your positive feedback is a big motivation to our staff and we will definitely convey this to Eunice Choo and the team.
At the Orchard Parade Hotel, we strongly believe that it is our duty to provide all our guests with a warm and high level of hospitality service throughout their stay. Thank you again for sharing your experience and recommending us. We really look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to Singapore.

Kind Regards,

Ng Khee Siong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

OPH is our favorite hotel in Singapore. The staff is very friendly and service-minded, from the bellboys to the top 17 floor club. Be careful to keep Josephine, who is outstanding and has become our most lovely friend.
Jan and Monika

Room Tip: 1619 is ours, take an other room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 215Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KheeSiong, General Manager at Orchard Parade Hotel by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Sir/Mdm,

We would like to thank you for giving us feedback regarding your stay with us We are delighted to know you have enjoyed your stay with us; and were satisfied with our rooms. Orchard Parade Hotel is a 3-minute walk from the shopping belt of Orchard Road. Vibrant nightlife options at Clarke Quay and Boat Quay are approximately 3 km away. The hotel is a 30-minute drive from Changi International Airport. When it comes to shopping and eating, this area definitely has one of the best options in Singapore. We greatly appreciate your compliments on our team members and their services. Your positive feedback is a big motivation to our staff and we will definitely convey this to Josephine and the team.
At the Orchard Parade Hotel, we strongly believe that it is our duty to provide all our guests with a warm and high level of hospitality service throughout their stay. Thank you again for sharing your experience and recommending us. We really look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to Singapore.

Kind Regards,

Ng Khee Siong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Orchard Road
Orchard Hotel Singapore
Orchard Hotel Singapore
#62 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,997 reviews
Orchard Road
Concorde Hotel Singapore
Concorde Hotel Singapore
#71 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
York Hotel
#116 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
Orchard Road
Pan Pacific Orchard
Pan Pacific Orchard
#20 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,923 reviews
Kampong Glam
Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Parade Hotel by Far East Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Parade Hotel by Far East Hospitality

Property: Orchard Parade Hotel by Far East Hospitality
Address: 1 Tanglin Road Orchard Parade Hotel, Singapore 247905, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#54 Business Hotel in Singapore
#67 Family Hotel in Singapore
#69 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#79 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,146 - ₹ 14,519
Hotel Class:4 star — Orchard Parade Hotel by Far East Hospitality 4*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the entrance of the Orchard Road, Singapore's most famous shopping belt, Orchard Parade Hotel is just a 10-minute walk from Lido Cineplex and major shopping centers such as ION Orchard, Wisma Atria and Ngee Ann City. Business travellers will enjoy the accessibility of Orchard Parade Hotel, and families with children will definitely appreciate the hotel's spacious 50-60sqm Family Rooms. It is also within 10-minute walk to Scotts Road, another famous shopping district in Singapore. The same amount of walking time will bring you to Orchard MRT station, which can connect you to other parts of the city. A 10-minute car ride will get you to the Central Business District or Suntec Singapore International Convention & Exhibition Centre. Orchard Parade Hotel is also only 30-minute drive from Changi International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Orchard Parade Hotel by Far East Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard Parade Hotel Singapore
Orchard Parade Hotel By Far East Hospitality Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing