We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Grand Hyatt Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 266
US$ 259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 209
US$ 204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore(Singapore)
US$ 321
US$ 217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 300/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mandarin Orchard Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$ 243
US$ 211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 449
US$ 344
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 403/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$ 248
US$ 242
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amara Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$ 212
US$ 178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Singapore At Zhongshan Park(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$ 147
US$ 141
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
One Farrer Hotel(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$ 224
US$ 191
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 733
US$ 602
MarinaBaySands
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (371)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveller rating
41
135
108
40
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
135
108
40
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmith streetrooms are smallgreat locationchinatown areachinatown mrt stationfood stallschinese new yearchangi airportkettle
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 371 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2015

Stayed in this hotel from 31st Jan to 2nd February. On 1st February, I kept scratching my right arm upon waking up. Legs were fine as I slept with long pants. But the short sleeve tee didn't cover my arms. It started with few red rashes. Got worse in the evening. On the night of 1st February, I couldn't sleep at all. Used torch light on my skin during midnight and saw more swollen bites on my right arm. My arm practically swelled when I woke up on 2nd February.

The management really need to do something to the rooms, beds and surroundings. Call for pest control to exterminate and clean the room. Seriously does the housekeeping do a thorough cleaning? Don't see any vacuum cleaner. And I am wondering if the bed sheets are replaced daily.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank germanshepard78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LawrenceDing, Manager at The Inn at Temple Street, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2015

Dear germanshepard78,

we apologize that you face several issues during your stay with us. I have send you a private message regarding your stay.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2015 via mobile

The location is in the middle of Chinatown.. very convenient and walking distance to the mrt and people's park. Lots of reasonable eats. The hotel itself is quaint with peranakan motifs. It looks a bit small but there are many rooms. Do bear in mind there are no lifts so be mindful of big luggages. And there is free wifi so this is great. The only thing my friend had some allergy to the bed sheets though...

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
2  Thank Grace G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LawrenceDing, Manager at The Inn at Temple Street, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2015

Dear Grace G,

thank you for the positive feedback and we hope you had an enjoyable stay.

We offer free WIFI to all our guest as we understand that it is more to a must in this era. We do have luggage storage at the lobby area thus please allow us to keep the heavier ones throughout the stay.

We hope to see you again soon and thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2015

The location of the hotel was excellent, just a few metres away from Chinatown shopping, Chinatown hawker food centre and the Chinatown MRT. The hotel room was small but clean and nicely decorated. The staff was friendly and helpful, gave great recommendations on food places. The only drawback was it had no elevator and our room was on the 3rd floor, so going up and down was a bit tiring. Would recommend a lower level room for people who hate stairs!

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor if you do not like climbing stairs.
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lsagah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LawrenceDing, Manager at The Inn at Temple Street, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2015

Dear Lsagah,

thank you for your positive review and we are glad you like the hotel and our service.

In fact, you came to the right hotel if you are looking for great food at cheap price which our team will surely be able to assist you on that which is all around the area and the staircase was deliberately built for mild exercise after great food!

Thanks again for staying with us and hope to see you soon

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2015

I loved the location of the hotel as it was in the heart of Chinatown and very close to the metro station. The rooms were quite small, but very clean and air conditioned. The service was good and the staff were very helpful and friendly. It is a good place to use as a crash pad at the end of a long day and only use it for sleeping. It is nicely decorated too.

Room Tip: Sound travels quite easily so try to choose a room away from the stairs. I have heard some rooms don't have windows either.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Katya-tjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2015

This is a cheap hotel. The rooms are small; there is no elevator.
So simply, it's not for everyone.

However!
It's easy to get to; close to MRT. It's in an interesting part of town; there's fantastic food nearby (head to the markets for a cheap local breakfast!).
It has a great little attitude to the place - on old fashioned historic feel that feels cosy and homely.
Most important of all; the service we had from everyone we talked to (3 people on the front desk) was uniformly superb! We had an issue with the airline when we flew in; and the staff at the hotel went out of their way to follow up with the airline for us while we were sleeping. After an update in the morning; they continued to follow up while we were out exploring the city; and then passed the information on to us when we returned in the evening. This kind of service seems so rare these days: I just wouldn't have even considered asking for the help that these guys offered.

So if you're wanting to find a place to "find the real Singapore", that isn't too expensive; and you're fit enough to carry your own bags upstairs - this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews