We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice”
Review of Hotel 1929

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel 1929
Ranked #131 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 1 April 2012

My first visit to Singapore in 10 years. Booked the 1929 on a friends recommendation.
Yes the rooms are small but I like the functionality of the room. Staff friendly and great with directions etc.The only down side to my stay was the kitchen exhaust fan outside my room.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stretford79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Dear stretford79,

Warm greetings from the team at Hotel 1929 and thank you for taking the time to drop us a line here. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and rest assured, we will look into the kitchen exhaust fan as you mentioned.

We hope to welcome you back so we may be of service to you once again.

Best regards,
Mae Noor
Marketing Communications Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (590)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

312 - 316 of 590 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2012

"Deluxe" room size is adequate for Singapore, but there is extremely limited storage and the room had only 3 clothes hangers for 2 people to share, for 4 nights this is just not enough.
The double bed was pushed into a corner making it awkward for one of us to get into bed.
Shower cubicle made good use of the space, but the water stayed warm for very limited time, meaning one of had to wait for it to get hot again.
One of the major reasons we chose to book this hotel was the advertised roof garden/terrace with hot tub - thinking it would be a good place to relax at the end of a hard days sightseeing! We didn't get the opportunity to test this - it was unavailable, something we were not told until we asked how to get to it. As we booked and paid for this stay several months in advance we were very disappointed not to be advised prior to our arrival that this facility had been withdrawn. Surely we should have been given the opportunity to cancel our booking
or been offered alternative accommodation that provided the outside space this hotel continues to erroneously advertise.
Cooked breakfast was ok but sameish, orange "juice" is concentrate mixed with water and there was a very limited selection of cereal, but the coffee is good.
Bed linen of good quality, bedroom clean, mini-fridge topped up with water on a daily basis.
Room was noisy at times, but it is in Chinatown so it comes with the territory to a certain extent, however, cleaning staff do clattering around from 7ish.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Greetings from Hotel 1929,

Thank you for the feedback. We are disappointed that we didn't meet your expectations during your stay with us. Housed in a conservations building, most of our rooms are indeed rather compact. We have designed it to the best of our ability, having fit the basic essentials required by modern travellers.

As for the outdoor Jacuzzi, we have amended all the necessary web portals to inform guests of this closure. It is presently undergoing a major renovation as we're revamping it into an open-air R&R area.

We have taken note of your feedback regarding breakfast and rest assured, it has been relayed to the breakfast team.

Alternatively, we also do have another sister hotel, New Majestic Hotel, on the next street which might provide a more viable option for your future stay. We hope that you would allow us the opportunity to welcome you back and impress you with our commitment to improve.

Best regards,
Mae Noor
Marketing Communications Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I stayed there 4 nights in March 2012. Reception was excellent. very friendly in all manners. Breadfast is good but much better if selection choice expanded. Rooms are small but well organized. Need to improve or change the house keeping staff. My room was not cleaned for two days untill i informed the reception. Ideal for business / Solo or couples.

Room Tip: Do not book a room facing Keong Saik Road which are two noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prasanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Warm hellos from the team at Hotel 1929!

Thank you for your kind compliments and review. Your feedback on our housekeeping staff is well noted and we are taking steps to ensure that such occurrences would not happen in the future. We are constantly looking to improve our services and your feedback is extremely important to us.

With that, thank you once again and we hope to see you back soon so we may be of service to you once again.

Best regards,
Mae Noor
Marketing Communications Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed one night at the end of February 2012, and unfortunately were assigned an extremely tiny room at the front of the hotel. The queen-sized bed was pushed up against the wall so that one person had to climb onto the bed before the 2nd person could get into bed. The room was extremely noisy as well. Anyone booking into this hotel would be well-advised to check the room size at the time of booking, and also to request a room that does NOT face Keong Saik Road.

The room was very cute and the use of space was delightful. But it would have been better suited to a solo traveler. On the plus side, the staff were very friendly and helpful, the included breakfast was very good, and the hotel is situated very conveniently for easy exploration of the surroundings.

Room Tip: Avoid fooms facing Keong Saik Road - very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TSmith48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Dear TSmith48,

Greetings from Hotel 1929 and thank you for your review. Our rooms are indeed compact, housed in a conservations shop house. We have however taken care to fit all the basic & modern neccesities in each room, configured to the best of our ability.

Being in Chinatown, the streets can be a little bustling at night and we would be glad to offer and assist with a room change should we have availabilities facing the back lane.

We're pleased that you're happy with the service rendered as well as the surrounding area, and hope to welcome you back so we may be of service to you once again.

Best regards,
Mae Noor
Marketing Communications Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Yes the rooms are small, but what a great place to stay. The rooms are well appointed and functional. The breakfast is very tasty and the staff provide good service. Hotel1929 is in a great location for catching the metro and exploring the rest of Singapore.

Will be back in the future, much better than a bland corporate chain hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jimboe89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Dear jimboe89, warm hellos from us at Hotel 1929!

Thank you for your generous compliments, we appreciate it. We're also pleased that you had a thoroughly enjoyable experience with us at the hotel as well as exploring the city. We would like to recommend our sister property, the Wanderlust located in Little India should you be back next time for another round of Unlisted Collection's hospitality.

Till then, safe travels and see you back soon!

Best regards,
Mae Noor
Marketing Communications Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Naumi Liora
#101 of 319 in Singapore
929 reviews
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#66 of 319 in Singapore
1,593 reviews
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#90 of 319 in Singapore
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Keong Saik Hotel
#134 of 319 in Singapore
259 reviews
Hotel YAN
#50 of 319 in Singapore
444 reviews
Chinatown
The Inn at Temple Street
The Inn at Temple Street
#176 of 319 in Singapore
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1929? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1929

Address: 50 Keong Saik Road, Singapore 089154, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: ₹ 6,000 - ₹ 8,927 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 1929 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city incandescent with modernity, in a town jiving with culture and on a street steeped in history, Hotel 1929 beckons with a whimsical mix of old world architecture and a nouveau chic interior.The hotel consists of fiver conservation shop-houses built in 1929, and features 32 individually designed rooms decked in a mix of classic designer and retro vintage furniture. 1929 is conveniently located near the Chinatown MRT station, a short walk away from the buzzing clubs and restaurants located at Club Street, and a 5 minute taxi ride from the heart of the business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 1929 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 1929 Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing