We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location basic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Pacific Hotel
Ranked #121 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 21 November 2011

One good thing about this hotel is the location, just 10 mins walk to either bugis station or city hall station and malls. Hotel room size is decent compared to other average hotels in singapore but it looks a bit tired and really need refurbishment. Furniture is old chinese style,bed is comfortable but the carpet is a bit worn out. Toilet looks tired but fixtures works fine and water pressure okay but theres a strange creepy locked louver door inside the toilet and while sitting on the loo i kept on wondering whats behind it lol...anyway even if the hotel looks old and way passed its glorious days yet it looks clean and will do for a short stay. Though one thing i really hate are the old looking bath towels even still have alison hotel name on it, one will have second thought before using it. Good thing i got this hotel with a promo of 1 free night from qantas holidays, or else i would not pay full price for this kind of accommodation. If ever ill get back to singapore i'm not staying here for sure.

Room Tip: make sure to get the refurbished room and never get the old ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EYMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

836 - 840 of 1,229 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2011

Made a day stopover in Singapore and stayed at the hotel grand pacific it, is a basic 3 star hotel nothing really special about it, there are a couple of things you need to watch out for.

1) If you arrive in the morning you will be charged for breakfast which is really Expensive for what you get.(easier to pop across the road to get something from the mall or go the one of the eateries close by.

2) DO NOT listen to the advice of the hotel staff concerning where to shop, I followed the advice of some of the staff who gave me a free cab to what I thought was the Sim Lam Square and the cab took me in the complete opposite direction to some tiny shop and tried to sell me an over price camera lens (lucky for me this isn't my first rodeo, just make sure you take a map everywhere is pretty walkable).

In summary this hotel is ok for a SHORT stopover but not for an extended stay

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L_O_E_pioneers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Location: Great location just off the bottom of Orchard rd, close to main shopping areas, MRT and a stroll to Little India, Bugis, Raffles City etc.
Rooms: A little tired but do the job. Rooms included standard amenities and were comfortable.
The pool is OK and nice to have a dip after pounding those Orchard Rd pavements.
Service: Our wholesaler had requested a few extra services for us, and not one of them was even mentioned. When a slightly later check-out was brought up with staff - they didn't want to know and would not even check, making excuses they were full and then offering for us to purchase the late check out for another half day!
Overall: Great location, OK rooms, but service lets them down.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ler0yb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

I arrived late in the morning. I was refused breakfast because I wasn't allowed to have breakfast on the morning of arrival - only on the morning after I'd stayed. Note: the breakfast had been paid for by the company. After getting to the room Internet wasn't wireless, so I went all the way down again to get an ethernet cable. It was so short I had to sit sideways against the wall for it to reach. The room was freezing cold. When I complained, I was told to put something in front of the door to exclude the drafts from the airconditioning in the hall. I ended up sleeping in my sleeping bag.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisMiddlengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

This hotel looks like it has been around a long time but is basically a reasonable place to stay. The rooms are a good size, comfortable and clean. The first night there we had a twin room with separate beds and asked for a double which was available the next night. The twin room was noisy - from other rooms. The double was extremely quiet. The staff were helpful enough and it is in a good location near Raffles and close to the metro. Probably about a 20 min. walk to the main shopping area in Orchid Road. A real winner was that after an early arrival in Singapore the hotel enabled you to check in at approx. 10.00am and check out at 1.00pm. A real bonus when you have had no sleep on plane. Part of the Singapore Airlines stopover deal which is also an advantage.

Room Tip: Doubles next to the laundry chute are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoCoMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
0.4 km away
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#70 of 319 in Singapore
6,705 reviews
0.4 km away
Strand Hotel
Strand Hotel
#149 of 319 in Singapore
491 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel G Singapore
Hotel G Singapore
#73 of 319 in Singapore
1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Royal at Queens
Hotel Royal at Queens
#161 of 319 in Singapore
775 reviews
2.1 km away
Furama RiverFront
Furama RiverFront
#96 of 319 in Singapore
2,571 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Kai
Hotel Kai
#154 of 319 in Singapore
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Pacific Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Pacific Hotel

Address: 101 Victoria Street Hotel Grand Pacific, Singapore 188018, Singapore (Formerly Allson Hotel Singapore)
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: ₹ 7,060 - ₹ 14,267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Pacific Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sixteen-story Hotel situated in the heart of business district, shopping & entertainment centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Pacific Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allson Hotel Singapore
Singapore Allson Hotel
Allson Singapore
Grand Pacific Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing