We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Improved service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality
Ranked #81 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Improved service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

I stayed many times during last year in this hotel. My earlier review was summary of last year stay at the hotel. I visited it after 6-7 months. There have been lot of changes since:

1. Front desk staff is still stuck at 2/3 guys. Though they are more courteous! The check-in was pretty quick. I was offered a free round of mini bar :)

2. They now offer a express checkout. you drop your keys and hotel emails you the bills etc. It is a nice addition specially when checkout takes more than half and hour (due to long queues).

3. The room that i stayed was big and clean. Hotel has put extra efforts to make sure you have what you want. I even found an umbrella!

Please bear in mind that hotel is still under renovation. You may experience some inconvenience. Although, I had none such experience.

I'm pleased to see positive change in the service of the hotel. I hope my next visit will be even better that this!

3.5/5

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Dear Mr Jisan,

Thank you for your feedback and we are happy that you noticed some changes to our product and services. I presume you had stayed in our Club room where we had recently placed an umbrella. We felt it would come in handy for our Club guests, on a rainy day.

You were entitled a free round of mini bar from a promotional Corporate rate. It is a value-add given to some of our Corporate rates and we are glad you found it beneficial.

Do check out pictures of our newly renovated rooms, The Premier Room at our StayVillage website. Perhaps your company could book you a Premier Room the next time you stay at LVH.

When it comes to service, our team strives to put their best foot forward and we thank you for your encouragement. We look forward to welcoming you back to LVH.

Yours sincerely,

Chew Yun Meng
General Manager
Landmark Village Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    840
    1,178
    524
    157
    96
See reviews for
873
690
178
588
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

I am a frequent traveller to Singapore for business and have stayed in various hotels here. For Singapore ever escalation of hotel room rates, I must say I am happy with what I pay for so far for this hotel. Most importantly is the rooms which are very clean and spacious, bathroom is clean (I am very particular about) and like the executive lounge for a brief getaway. It may be an old hotel, but the rooms are much better than what you see from the impression of the facet (exterior) of the hotel. Unless it is going to be a major renovation, I would say this hotel is still considered well maintained... Not excellent though. I must comment that there has been a tremendous improvement in staff attitude and friendliness. I am seeing many new faces and more friendly staffs, big improvement in the service turnaround time at the reception. Used to be take ages. I must comment highly on Mr.Andrew Tan of taking our feedback seriously. Tried the newly renovated room recently, but not too much of an impact to me as the older rooms I stayed in was well maintained enough.. Let's put it as, I would not be keen to pay a further price hike for the new rooms. Overall, I am happy and will keep coming back as long as the price is not overly charged!

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank cnsum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Dear Mr Sum,

We appreciate you taking the time to pen down your thoughts and feedback.

It is heartening to hear that you find LVH good value for money. While the hotel façade may not be new, our Housekeeping team strives to keep our rooms clean and in good condition. Our spacious room is also an advantage in land-scarce Singapore.

We have conveyed your appreciation to Andrew and our frontline team, for keeping their cheery aptitude and professionalism. I know our front office team is trying their very best to minimize the waiting time at the reception counter.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Executive Club Rooms in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Chew Yun Meng
General Manager
Landmark Village Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kl
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

The location of the hotel is great and the room is quite comfortable. Unfortunately, there are some maintenances problems. The lift seem like a traditional type, it doesn't have sensor and it's quite dangerous. We could not hold the lift for more than a second from outside because we can't even press the button. We saw a man trying to go inside the lift but failed due to the lift don't have the sensor. I also feel that the lobby seem a bit messy. The staffs seem unfriendly, I hardly see them smile,maybe not even once.
I booked from agoda website,when I reached the hotel, the staff tell me the room does not include wifi and breakfast. I'm kind of shock,wifi normally foc even in budget hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yeong C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YMChew, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear Yeong,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. I am glad that you also liked our hotel location and our room.

I’ve asked our Engineers and Hitachi to take a look at the lift functionality. The current lift type does not allow one to hold the lift when the button at the lift landing is pressed. The lift can only be held when the “open” button inside the lift is pressed.

With regards to our Front Office staff, we will remind them of their appearance and outlook, regardless if the hotel is busy.

Depending on your package from Agoda, the room rate may or may not come with free Internet and breakfast. Some rates distributed by Agoda consists of room only. However, we do have rates which are inclusive of breakfast or free Internet. Perhaps you may like to check our StayVillage website. We are currently running an offer for our newly renovated Premier rooms which is inclusive of breakfast and free Internet.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Landmark Village Hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Chew Yun Meng
General Manager
Landmark Village Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

The staff are really helpful and go outof thier way to help. Fast and efficient checkout. Executive rooms which we stayed in were good and the beds were comfortable - pillows could be softer (I like soft pillows). I would always use the Landmark Village.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank no1kingfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YMChew, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience. Our frontline staff appreciate your kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you to Landmark Village Hotel.

Do check out our StayVillage websiste for future offers and happenings.

Yours sincerely,

Chew Yun Meng
General Manager
Landmark Village Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
149 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

It's good that the hotel owners have realised that need to renovate and hence the ongoing work on some of the floors.
The hotel does not seem to have a lobby or a good place to sit, after coming to the hotel from the airport. On entering, one takes the escalator straight to the 3rd floor for the check-in. We were a part of Thomas Cook - India's SE Asia tour and had no problems in check-in except that waited near the pool area on 5th floor for 45 min. Acceptable because of the ambiance and the pleasant weather. The rooms are okay and of course they need renovation. The carpets are old and the bathroom fittings too seem old. In fact they need to go in for bigger bathrooms.
The food in the restaurant on the 5th floor is good and we enjoyed it. For breakfast, many a times we had to see empty serving bowls and these were filled up on reminding the staff. Perhaps, they are under-staffed and the people on duty were always running around.
This hotel has seen better days and i am sure after renovation will regain it's lost glory.
I will defintely come back and stay here.

Room Tip: One side is the pool view and the other side gives a view of a mosque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajiv_Phantom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YMChew, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear Mr Rajiv,

Thank you for your comments. Indeed the hotel is undergoing refurbishment of our rooms, one floor at a time. The rooms on the 11th floor are fully renovated and released on 15Jun. Pictures of the Premier Rooms can be seen on our StayVillage website. Do check them out.

We will also inform the owners of Riverwalk Tandoor of their good food and service which can be improved. I am sure they will want to do better.

Thank you for your confidence in Landmark Village Hotel and we look forward to your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

Chew Yun Meng
General Manager
Landmark Village Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Furama City Centre
#58 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#61 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,140 reviews
Little India
PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road
PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road
#86 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality

Property: Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality
Address: 390 Victoria Street, Singapore 188061, Singapore (Formerly Landmark Village Hotel )
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Kampong Glam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Singapore
#35 Business Hotel in Singapore
#54 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#73 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,112 - ₹ 12,480
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Arab Street and Kampong Glam enclave, and a mere stone’s throw away from Bugis Village and Little India, Village Hotel Bugis is at the crossroads of Singapore’s Arab, Peranakan and Indian enclaves.These multicultural and multinational influences are seen in the Indian, Chinese and international cuisines at the hotel’s three dining options.Guests can explore the side streets of Kampong Glam, Bugis Village and Haji Lane, which have small boutique outlets stocked with fashion labels otherwise not found in the Singapore malls. They can also indulge in a shopping spree at the Bugis Junction and Bugis+ shopping centres. The Bugis MRT station, which is just a 5-minute walk away, connects guests to the Orchard shopping belt or the Central Business Districts of City Hall or Raffles City.Besides its location, Village Hotel Bugis' key selling point is its spacious rooms, which start from 32sqm for its entry level Superior Room to up to a generous 64sqm for its Executive Club Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Landmark Far East Hotel
Golden Landmark Hotel Singapore
Village Hotel Bugis By Far East Hospitality Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing