We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My stay at Landmark Village Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality
Ranked #87 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My stay at Landmark Village Hotel”
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Dear Frineds ,

I have stayed at this hotel from 22nd January 2012 till 27th January 2012 .

This is very funny hotel with respect to a nornal common traveller , as well as to a high-end traveller who is looking for class & perfection .

I will summarise my funniest experiance which i have got in this hotel :-

1. Like many other guys , my day start with reading newspaper with a cup of tea . But i could not get any newspaper from hotel . When i enquired on the first day , i got very stupid response from room service as " They provide news paper only to the guests who book their rooms dirctly with them . Since i had booked my room through travel agent , i was not supposed to get any news paper " . Further , they advised me to purchase the newspaper from 7/11 shop which is across the road . The lady at reception also duly informed me that the newspaper costs only 90 cents , so i should purchase one , if i am not able to survive without it , and she hanged up the phone afterwards . Needless to say , i purchased the newspaper everyday afterwards.

2. This is probably the only hotel in the world where the calls to reception , room service , and even calls to duty manager's number gets un-answered . Believe me , they simply do not pick up the phone at all to listen to the customer !! ......What an attitude in hospitality industry !

3. There is no free internet connection provided to the guests .

4. There are four lifts in the hotel , but they are not synchronised . So at times when you push the call button , all four lifts will come to your floor simultenously , and at times , none will come at all . If you have to attend some event or tour package , pls add minimum 20 minutes in your waiting time , for the lift see-saw game .

5. There is a indian restaurent at 5th floor & a chinese restaurent at 3rd floor , but none of them are attached with the hotel . So , if you order anything for room service ( And if you are lucky enough that your phone call is answered ) , than you have to pay additiponal charges .

6. The Breakfast & lunch menu is same everyday . Either there is no intensional veriation by management , or their sheff simply doesn't know how to cook other things .

7. The rooms and interior decorations are pathetic . And the attached bathroom is too small. The carpet gives the feeling of the era of 1700 B.C. , when carpets were first invented !

8. People at reception behave as if they are giving alms to customer . No Smile , No Sorry , No Thanx kind of at all . Very uncultured staff , i must say !!

Few Good Things :-

1. Despite all issues , quality & taste of food was good in both restaruents .
2. Hotel is centrally located
3. Mr. Ravi , who is the owner of 7/11 Shop across the rood is very nice & helpful man . He is unknowlingly helping this pathetic hotel , by helping the customers who manage to reach him .

All the points mentioned above are based on my very recent personal experiance . If there is any clarification required , pls feel free to contact me on amitnsrivastav@rediffmail.com.

Thanx & Best Regards
Amit

Room Tip: No need to book room in this hotel , if you are looking for value for your money .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Amit N S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl T, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 5 February 2012
Dear Mr Amit,

Thank you for your valuable feedback on the various customer touch points.

We apologize for the cold service you had encountered at the reception. Our operator and front office team have been briefed on the finer points of guest services. Inadvertently some calls go unanswered during the peak hours. We are reviewing how we could improve in this aspect.

Indeed some of our rooms require refurbishment and we have plans to refresh them within the year. Our lift provider Hitachi had been contacted to look into the synchronizing of our lifts, especially during the busy periods.

We understand your disappointment in your recent stay with us and you had brought up points which we could have done much better. My colleague Cheryl will be contacting you for a chat.

Yours sincerely,

Chew Yun Meng
General Manager
Landmark Village Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    951
    1,284
    579
    169
    102
See reviews for
997
744
192
663
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I stayed at the golden landmark for one night. The check in girl was haughty and unfriendly. During checkin a client came down to hand in the wrong key card he had used to enter someone elses room and she did not even acknowledge it or apologise! The bathroom had a lot of mould stains on the ceiling and there was no information in the room about close services, hotel services or room service menu!

Breakfast that i had prepaid for was like a rugby scrum, granted it was chinese new year and they had a few tours in house, they just laughed and said good luck finding a table. People were piling there plates with 10- 14 pieces of toast and muffins and there was nothing left for many people. One charmer accidently stabbed me in the breast with his fork [ no blood, just bruise] . The staff did nothing other than say come back later......... they are meant to be in charge...... will not go near another one

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jacquelyn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl T, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 5 February 2012
Dear Jacquelyn,

Thank you for writing to us and we assure you that your concerns have been addressed. I would like to apologize for the poor experience during your short stay with us.

Our Front Office team members have been briefed on the finer points of guest services and will be embarking on training program to improve their customer service skills. On the issue of mould stains in the bathroom, my colleague Cheryl will be contacting you for your room number. While the hotel has a maintenance program to tackle the humidity and mould stains in our bathrooms, admittedly we may have missed some rooms.

Yes we had several tour groups during the Chinese New Year period. To cope with the high breakfast demand, we had assigned an additional meeting room to serve the breakfast buffet. We had reminded our breakfast operator to increase their manning and be more empathetic to customers during these busy mornings.

Once again, we do hope you’d give the hotel another chance to recover your confidence in our services and we thank you for your valuable feedback.

Yours sincerely,

Chew Yun Meng
General Manager
Landmark Village Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Introuction:

This was my first time to Singapore and I wanted to find a mid-budget hotel with a good location and a few ‘perks’ to add to the experience (i.e. pool, free wi-fi internet, range of tv channels).

Good Points:

- Excellent location – near to Bugis MTR station and bus stops
- Very Comfortable bedding
- Modern flat-screen tv with plenty of channels
- Rooms cleaned and made up well each today (good range of free soap/shampoo etc)
- All usual room facilities provided and serviceable (fridge, hair-dryer, iron and board etc)
- Free internet included in room price
- 4 fast lifts
- 2 free bottles of water provided daily

Bad Points:

- Curtains let far too much light in
- Fridge had a habit of ‘juddering’ and vibrating in the night as it turned on and off which didn’t help sleep quality
- Air Conditioning control was a dial rather than digital control which made it difficult to control temp accurately
- One side of bed did not have bed-side table or a socket which made it difficult
- After around 4pm the pool area (although not officially closed) was often being prepared for evening functions not practically useable
- Reception desk staff acceptable but not overly helpful by any means.

Conclusion:

On the whole, despite this hotel probably having its heyday in the 1980s/early 90s when it was a 4 star, it is still of a very reasonable standard and makes a pleasant 3 star. Its key selling point is its location, but aside from that the pool area is nice and the standard of rooms quite good. Although in places the room’s appearance (especially the bathroom) and the carpets is somewhat old and ‘tired’ looking, everything was clean and fully serviceable. On that basis the Landmark Village Hotel offers good value for money for anyone seeking mid-budget accommodation in a central location.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J767-200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl T, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 5 February 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your comments. We are happy to hear that you found our hotel a good value-for-money and our facilities and services are to your liking. Our Housekeeping team checks our rooms daily to ensure they are cleaned and the rooms are well stocked with our amenities.

Like you, many guests find our location ideal. We are just minutes away from Bugis MRT and the Bugis shopping area. With the MRT, you can easily connect to many parts of Singapore.

To improve on some of the points you mentioned, my colleague Cheryl will contact you for your room number. We’d want to look at the fridge which perhaps requires servicing and to check the condition of our night (thick) curtains. Your point regarding our bedside table could be the way the room is configured. We’d take a look at it.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback.

Yours sincerely,
Chew Yun Meng
General Manager
Landmark Village Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I stayed at the Landmark Village Hotel (formerly known as the Golden Landmark ) a few years ago so decided to stay again on a recent trip. This hotel is decently priced (for Singapore) but shows signs of a hotel past its prime.

The room/furniture/fixtures & fittings have definitely seen better days. The carpet was worn, the wood of the door frames cracked and the décor dated. The vanity in the bathroom had water stains around the tap which was a result of poor maintenance – the tap leaked when turned on. The plumbing of the building must have been old because an unpleasant smell would emanate from the bathroom drains after using hot water.

There were also a few issues that occurred during our stay.

We booked through an online travel service, and the package included free wifi. The hotel had not recorded this so we had to sort this out with the hotel staff, who were quick to resolve the issue.

The room did not have a hotel services guide, which I like to have so I know what the charges are for using hotel amenities. I called the front desk and housekeeping five times to have a book brought up to my room. On one occasion a staff member brought up a walking guide for the area, and on another occasion a menu which consisted of a few pieces of paper stapled together. On the remaining occasions, the staff just failed to deliver.I gave up in the end and came to the conclusion that a services guide did not exist – I would have liked to have been told that in the first place so that I did not have to keep following it up.

The kettle in the room smelled like coffee (as if a previous occupant had used the kettle to actually brew the beverage), so we asked for a new kettle. The replacement kettle that was brought up was actually broken. The next call I made, I had to specify that I did not want a kettle that smelled or that was not broken.

We also did not realise that housekeeping will not service your room unless you specifically put the “make up room” sign on your door.

Many of the hotel staff are not good at English so you must speak slowly and precisely.

Despite the issues, the hotel staff are polite and do try to be accommodating, and although the room was old, it was clean. The bed was comfortable and it was quiet. The hotel is also located in a very convenient area, about 15 minutes from Changi Airport, and a 2 minute walk from the Bugis MRT (subway) station which will allow you to travel easily to other areas in Singapore, eg. Orchard road. The Bugis Junction shopping precinct and street market are nearby, offering lots of shopping and food options.

Room Tip: a warning for all travellers to Singapore: Do not use the Ground Transportation Desk at Changi Airpo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SN28_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl T, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 5 February 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your valuable comments. Our Housekeeping team has been tasked to look into your feedback.

All rooms should be cleaned regardless if the “make up room” sign was placed. To better correct our shortfalls, my colleague Cheryl would be contacting you for your room number.
Our housekeepers have been reminded to ensure all kettles are in good condition before the room is handed to new occupants. We are aware that some rooms do not have the hotel directory/services and we are in midst of printing a new hotel directories. Our printers had targeted to complete the job by 20 Feb 2012. Please accept our apologies for these shortcomings.

Indeed some rooms require a refurbishment. We have plans to refurbish our rooms within the year.

Once again, thank you for feedback and we do hope you will give us a chance to restore your confidence in our facilities and services.

Yours sincerely,
Chew Yun Meng
General Manager
Landmark Village Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I have stayed second time on last 7 months in landmark village hotel. The best thing is it’s in heart of the area where there are lots of bargain hunting shops. Connectivity in city is excellent, Bugis MRT station is at walking distance about 240 mtrs and the bus stop is 200 mtrs near Raffles Hospital. Rooms are average and the restaurants are pretty average with same repeated menu. Bar in room is kept emptied (I am not sure for the reason) and cleanliness is average.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viveksr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl T, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for comments. We are happy that you find the location of our hotel close to the various shopping enclaves and the Bugis MRT station.

As a repeat customer, we look forward to welcoming you back to Landmark Village Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Chew Yun Meng
General Manager
Landmark Village Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Furama City Centre
#272 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#62 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,342 reviews
Furama RiverFront
#103 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality

Property: Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality
Address: 390 Victoria Street, Singapore 188061, Singapore (Formerly Landmark Village Hotel )
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Kampong Glam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Singapore
#35 Business Hotel in Singapore
#54 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#78 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,499 - ₹ 12,024
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Arab Street and Kampong Glam enclave, and a mere stone’s throw away from Bugis Village and Little India, Village Hotel Bugis is at the crossroads of Singapore’s Arab, Peranakan and Indian enclaves.These multicultural and multinational influences are seen in the Indian, Chinese and international cuisines at the hotel’s three dining options.Guests can explore the side streets of Kampong Glam, Bugis Village and Haji Lane, which have small boutique outlets stocked with fashion labels otherwise not found in the Singapore malls. They can also indulge in a shopping spree at the Bugis Junction and Bugis+ shopping centres. The Bugis MRT station, which is just a 5-minute walk away, connects guests to the Orchard shopping belt or the Central Business Districts of City Hall or Raffles City.Besides its location, Village Hotel Bugis' key selling point is its spacious rooms, which start from 32sqm for its entry level Superior Room to up to a generous 64sqm for its Executive Club Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Landmark Far East Hotel
Golden Landmark Hotel Singapore
Village Hotel Bugis By Far East Hospitality Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing