We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Ranked #9 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A truly beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

A stunning hotel located close to Orchard Road. Decor in the public areas is amazing - I don't think I've ever seen so many huge chandeliers! Room was tastefully decorated, spacious and the bathroom was enormous.

All in all a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmptyseaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,366
    860
    237
    85
    54
See reviews for
959
1,726
207
1,178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (993)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

This was our first stay at the Shangri-La. It is a very gracious hotel, quiet and a bit away from the bustle of Orchard Road, but within easy walking distance. On our first night we had a problem. There was a slight smell of mould in the bedroom, enough to trigger my wife's asthma. We thought we could manage but at 1.00am had to engage the night staff who were superb. The night manager, Julian Wiederholz, found us another room on a different floor, helped us move, kept both rooms going so we could sleep in the new room and pack up the first room in the morning - all done with such care and courtesy. The restaurants were outstanding for all meals, high quality food and meticulous friendly service. We went to the first class Shang Palace restaurant in the hotel for dinner on 3 occasions and the manager, Calvin Ng Wee Boon, went to no end of trouble to make sure that our allergies to gluten and milk products were catered for and that there was variety in the meals. Nothing was too much trouble for him and his staff. The spa with its excellent massage services were clean, efficient and therapeutic. Altogether this was a fantastic experience and we would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Upon entering the hotel, you will face impressive, high ceiling lobby with a very nice flower decoration. We ate in the breakfast restaurant which was reasonable. Our room 2220 (Horison Club) was nicely cut room with a great view and great sq footage. The deco took us back to 1995 (at least if felt like that) - light wood with frequent scratches. Free WiFi and very good and complete guest amenities were certainly an asset. Shoe shine service worked perfectly well. In the elevators, corridors and some parts of the room we have seen layers of dust. Service was overall was very good.
For me, the impressive lobby was let down by the aged room's deco. For more demanding traveler and compete experience, I would rather prefer the St Regis.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mchour1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

This is my 4th time in SIngapore and definitely the Lion City just enamored me in all aspects: the shopping malls (great buys on December, though the weather is still warm with some rain showers), the food (wherever you want to take it: on the streets like Lau Pa Sat) or at the hotels) Shangri-La's The Line offers an excellent array of choices. The sweet treats just melt in your mouth. I'm no foodie but it made me think to try being one. ha ha ha. The Japanese restaurant is so placid - like ancient Japan with great food and simple but classic interior. I stayed at the Tower Wing - with a portion view of the swimming pool. The Wifi is great - you can have have connection while sipping your cappucino at the pool area. The service is great and always ready with smiles. the staff are intelligent...you dont need to explain more to get your message across. The place is not noisy. You wont hear cars and taxis coming. It is located at the "forest" area of Singapore where "eden" used to be. Truly Shangri-La SIngapore lives to its name - the Shangri-la.

Room Tip: The photos are exactly the same with the real ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShortsTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We recently returned from our first experience of Singapore and especially the Shangri-La hotel. We arrived from an overnight flight to find our luggage had not followed us from London! The hotel staff could not have been more helpful and provided us with the health club facilities to freshen up and gave us complimentary bags with polo shirts,shorts and toiletries. The room was made ready for us very quickly so we could rest and relax and start our holiday in the best possible way.The concierge contacted the airport to advise of our room so our luggage could be delivered directly to us. We cannot thank the staff enough for what they did at the beginning and throughout our stay there. Everyone was so friendly and the hotel very comfortable and luxurious.The breakfasts were unbelievable and irresistible. Thank you Shangri-La.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel have good views over a redisential area with tress and gardens.T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shirlloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#34 of 312 in Singapore
21,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#15 of 312 in Singapore
7,144 reviews
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 312 in Singapore
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Address: 22 Orange Grove Rd | Orchard Road, Singapore 258350, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Singapore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#4 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#6 Business Hotel in Singapore
#9 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price range (per night): ₹ 18,075 - ₹ 26,790
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 793
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regularly voted among the top hotels in the world, the Shangri-La, Hotel Singapore, set in 15 acres of tropical landscaped gardens, is a truly luxurious oasis in the centre of bustling Singapore, a short walk from the main shopping, entertainment and dining districts. The hotel comprises 792 elegant guestrooms and suites with three distinctive wings: the newly renovated Tower Wing, with its contemporary relaxed vibe, housing the executive Horizon Club rooms and family-friendly rooms and suites; the urban resort Garden Wing, set amongst lush tropical foliage; and the exclusive Valley Wing for the discerning traveller. 127 service apartments and 55 luxurious condominium units are also available for longer staying guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Singapore
Shangri La Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing