We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last vestiges of the Raj”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Raffles Hotel Singapore
Ranked #4 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We 'did' Australia for our 30th wedding anniversary and chose a stop-over in Singapore. I had booked Raffles for four nights as a treat. We had visited for 'tiffin' 30 years ago but couldn't afford to stay there; we had always planned to make up for that.
It in no way disappointed. Our previous 'number 1 global hotel' was the Al Qasr in Dubai...Raffles has supplanted it, even though it is radically different from the Al Qasr.
It is pure Victorian splendour. Match it with the Peninsula in Hong Kong. You feel as though you need to walk in wearing a safari suit and a pith helmet.
The buildings are magnificent and provide an island of supreme class and old-fashioned subdued and understated magnificence surrounded by high-rise office blocks. It only has 103 rooms and they are all suites. As it occupies an entire block in one of the most expensive areas of real estate in the world, one wonders how it can make a profit. But then, it should be supported (if it's not already) by the Singapore Government as a working museum and a piece of living history.
The high ceilings, wonderful decor, polished wooden floors with carpet runners, excellent service and superb food, make this a must for everyone going to Singapore to accept that it is expensive, but it is an experience one should not miss at least once in your life.
The staff were wonderful once they knew we were celebrating our 30th in their Tiffin Room, with a decorated black forest gateau brought to our table and our room was decorated with towel sculptures and rose petals. They couldn't do enough for us.
The Long Bar is a little touristy, with the crunching of peanut shells underfoot, but a Singapore Sling in the Long Bar (expensive, but very tasty) is just another thing you do....
Even the internet was no-charge - InterContinental and Accor please note!
I don't offer up five stars too readily. This one thoroughly deserves it.

Room Tip: You can safely take the lowest grade offered - all the rooms are suites and all are magnificent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Snookoafc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

Many thanks for your detailed review and congratulations to your 30th wedding anniversary. We are grateful that you returned to the Grande Dame for such a special occasion and thank you for the appreciation of the service and the five stars accorded.

The entire team at Raffles Hotel Singapore looks forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Pierre Jochem,
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (4,255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,822 - 2,826 of 4,255 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2012

Service, property and food is 100% excellent. Special thanks to our personal Butler, Faizel, who made our stay such an experience.

The staff are the best we have seen, very well trained. The quality of the property upkeep is fantastic. The food and beverage is 100% top quality.

We travel on business for most part of the year particularly in Singapore & China and stay at many 5 star hotels, however the service at Raffles is far far superior to anything else we have stayed at before, including Ritz and Grand Hyatt ( Pudong) and Peace Hotel and Waldorf Astoria in Shanghai. (Bund).

I would like to get a quote from the manager, for a permanent resident discount, to become a permanent resident at Raffles for my near retirement. LOL.

Room Tip: air con at night goes into recycle mode and gets a bit humid
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

Thank you for your kind review, we appreciate your recognition of our service and remembering our staff. Your words of appreciation shall go a long way to motivate them to continue to deliver a high level of service.

Your comments on the airconditioning have been shared with the engineering team and we look forward to having you among our permanent residents.

Kind regards,

Pierre Jochem,
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Well, what a way to kick off a honeymoon! After Singapore Airways efficiently whisked us from Heathrow on an A-380, we arrived mid afternoon, tired but excited to finally stand in the lobby of one of the worlds best known and loved hotels. In the 4 days since arrival, my wife and I have been treated like royalty. We were upgraded to a better suite, and upon arrival were delighted to find flowers, chocolates and champagne on ice. The room is well appointed, and you truly feel you have stepped back in time. It's magical.

I cannot think of anything negative to write about the hotel. Yes, the drinks are the wrong side of cheap, but a Holiday Inn this is not. Just accept that for this sort of treatment, that Singapore Sling will cost a few dollars more than well, lesser hotels I could mention. Nothing is too much trouble. For example, after a days heavy sightseeing, our butler was only too pleased to fetch plasters to patch up my poor feet.

This place is a must. One of the top 2 hotels in the world that it has been our utmost pleasure to stay in. We shall be back to Singapore, and for me, there is nowhere else I'd rather stay.

Wholeheartedly recommended.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

Many thanks for your enthusiastic review, I am glad that our staff could make your stay memorable. Congratulations on your wedding, we look forward to your next visit - be it for an anniversary, the renewal of your vows or simply a trip to visit The Lion City again.

Kind regards,

Pierre Jochem,
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

My husband and I checked into Raffles for one very special night. We checked in early and booked high tea that afternoon. Fantastic!! Be warned, this is more a full meal than just high tea, with the usual high tea sandwiches and cakes as well as buffet of dim sum, fried rice etc., The rooms are beautiful, elegant and well appointed. (Galle Face Colombo - take note!!) Staying at the raffles was a once in a life time experience but we will be back!!

Room Tip: We had a corner room which was just lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SukiHarding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and taking the time to upload photos of the hotel and your suite. I am happy that we could create a lifetime experience for you and hope you will visit us again during your next trip to Singapore.

Kind regards,

Pierre Jochem,
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

It just doesn't get any better than this. Romance, service, style and history. The rooms transport you back to another era. Pretend it is 1920 when life was so much simpler and elegant. Have breakfast on your terrace. Save up - it is worth it!

Room Tip: We had a signature room, but all the rooms are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyandCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

Thank you for your review and your appreciation of the service, it is a pleasure to hear that your stay with us was like a trip back in time. Often cherished as the legendary symbol for “all the fables of the Exotic East” we strive to revive the style and grace of a bygone world.

I look forward to welcoming you again,

Kind regards,

Pierre Jochem,
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#40 of 317 in Singapore
23,187 reviews
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Orchard Road
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
#11 of 317 in Singapore
5,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Hotel Singapore

Address: 1 Beach Road, Singapore 189673, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#2 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#3 Business Hotel in Singapore
#4 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: ₹ 30,531 - ₹ 55,856 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Hotel Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raffles Singapore will be closed for renovation on 13 December 2017 with a planned reopening in the second half of 2018. Raffles Hotel is one of Singapore's most graceful landmarks. More legend than hotel, this luxury Singapore hotel celebrates a tradition of unwavering service excellence spanning more than 125 years.Immortalized in the novels of Somerset Maugham and Rudyard Kipling, Raffles Hotel, Singapore’s colonial-styled architecture and lush tropical gardens exude an atmosphere of timeless elegance. 5 restaurants and bars beckon, including the Bar & Billiard Room - new temporary home to the world renowned Singapore Sling; Tiffin Room, which continues the tradition of Afternoon Tea at Raffles and Raffles Grill, serving up the best Sunday Brunch in town. This luxurious Singapore hotel lies in the heart of the city, in close proximity to the banking and financial districts, Raffles City Convention Centre, Singapore International Convention and Exhibition Centre (SICEC), as well as leisure attractions including the casino at Marina Bay; the cultural sights of Arab Street and Chinatown and shopping at Raffles City shopping mall and Orchard Road shopping belt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Raffles Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Raffles Hotel
Raffles Singapore
Raffles Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing