We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What an amazing experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Raffles Hotel Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Raffles Hotel Singapore
Ranked #1 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
439 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“What an amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

A stay at the Raffles is an experience everyone should have at least once (preferably more) in their lifetime. The word excellent doesn't do the hotel justice. It is superb in every aspect, especially the staff. From the moment we arrived with the welcome when alighting from our taxi, to the farewells when we left, this was a truly wonderful experience. We decided to go somewhere special for our 30th wedding anniversary, and special it was. It was 3 fantastic nights that we will never forget. All the staff were fantastic and couldn't do enough for us, and whilst it may seem unfair to highlight any staff as they were all great, special thanks must go to Fidel our butler, Michael from the Courtyard Restaurant, and Roslee from Concierge who went that that little bit further in looking after us. The hotel itself is like no other hotel I have ever stayed in or seen before. It is a splendid example of a bygone era with huge rooms (suites) long sweeping verandahs, beautiful gardens, and lots of shops to explore on a rainy day. We had one of the best chicken curries at the courtyard restaurant, a wonderful breakfast at Tiffens, and the best buffet we have had the pleasure of experiencing in the Billiard Room. At S$75 per head it may not appear to be the cheapest buffet, but the food, both in quantity and quality is unbelievable. The chef personally advised us on each dish whenever we got up and staff carried our plates to our table. Difficult to pick our favourite dish as they were all wonderful. We could not have picked a better place to have our anniversary meal. On returning to our room, we found Fidel had left us a complementary bottle of champagne to help us celebrate our anniversary. We had initially decided to make this a one of occasion, mainly due to the price, however after experiencing all the charm and atmosphere this legendary hotel has to offer, one stay does not seem enough. It doesn't take too much to make a great stay a perfect stay, and the Raffles did it brilliantly. We will most definitely be back again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ronp1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your stay and adding even a few photos. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the days at Raffles Hotel Singapore and that the service was as gentle as a summer breeze. I have shared your feedback both with the staff that you have mentioned and their managers, too.

I look forwrad to your next stay with us.

Kind regards & congratulations to your wedding anniversary,

Pierre Jochem,
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,871
    628
    149
    47
    38
See reviews for
679
1,833
258
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

Our second time staying at this legendary Singapore institution. There is no doubt that the building is impressive and the atmosphere reminiscent of days gone by.

We stayed in the Noel Coward Suite, situated on the floor above the function room. A very noisy wedding reception made staying in the room impossible. We were moved to a different room on the other side of the complex, leaving all out belongings in the original room.

On returning to the Noel Coward Suite the next morning, we discovered we had been locked out - as a 'security measure', which necessitated us going all the way to reception in dressing gowns. Pretty poor for this standard of hotel. The surly duty manager came to open the door and promised to send up a key. He never returned.

This one incident seemed to be indicative of a 'don't care' policy running throughout the service here, where every meeting with a member of staff, whether delivering ice, serving breakfast or answering the phone was preceded with "I'm sorry for the delay....".

It seems a shame that this hotel's promise of old world service seems to have been left behind in the past.

A much better bet is The Fullerton.

Room Tip: Avoid any of the famous suites, as they are located over the function room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am very sorry to hear that your stay was disturbed by noise and service that was not up to your expectations. I appreciate your constructive feedback and would like to assure you that this incident has been reviewed with the involved staff so as to avoid that such a mistake happens again.

I would be happy to have you again as a guest at Raffles Hotel Singapore to make sure you have a pleasant stay.

Kind regards,

Pierre Jochem,
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We spent 3 lovely nights at this legendary hotel. We were expecting old facilities but were pleasantly surprised. We had 2 rooms, as we were travelling with our children (aged 11 and 15) and elderly parents. The rooms were different - one smaller personality suite overlooking an inner courtyard. The other suite was quite a bit larger, but noisier since it was overlooking the main street. Both rooms were comfortable. The service was impeccable. We felt welcomed and cared for throughout the stay. Butler service was attentive without being obtrusive. The concierge was very helpful and gave great suggestions. Breakfast in the Tiffin Room was wonderful. We tried different entrees each day and each was wonderfully prepared. My very picky son has requested that I learn how to make Eggs Paysan. We stopped by Long Bar for an afternoon drink - of course a Singapore Sling. The staff there were wonderful. I casually asked our server about a local seafood restaurant and he was able to give me general directions. He then returned a few minutes later, having called the actual restaurant for an exact address, phone number, etc. all of which he handed to me on a handwritten note. This was indicative of the service we received throughout our stay. The only downside is that this was our children's first trip to Singapore and I'm afraid we have now set unrealistic expectations for them! We look forward to the chance to return to this very special hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thejw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston,Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Inspired by the fabulous reviews on Tripadvisor (especially the one entitled “an experience not to be missed”), I booked a stay at the Raffles Hotel on route to Bali. From the moment we entered the hotel we were overwhelmed by the painstaking and meticulous renovation of the grand hotel to its British Colonial splendor, the exquisite flower arrangements, the charming linen napkins in the Tiffin Room, the scent of frangipani enhanced by Fragonard fragrance (the scent can be purchased in Raffles Gift Shop as a fabulous remembrance of your stay), the hundred varieties of different palms in the various gardens, the verandas, the courtyards, the Singapore slings and, above all, the extraordinary hospitality extended to us by all at Raffles. Our stay in the Palm Court (just a few rooms down from Somerset Maughn’s room) was pure heaven –especially after a 24 hour flight. It was truly the best hotel experience ever. We can’t wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank palominogrigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Many thanks for sharing your experience at Raffles Hotel Singapore with us. I am glad we could care for you and I am impressed that you even recall the fragrance we use.

I hope to meet you at your next visit.

Kind regards,

Pierre Jochem,
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

For years I have wanted to stay at the Raffles Hotel in Singapore. It certainly did not disappoint !! The butler service was always available for coffee in the morning in the room and anything else you needed. the room and sitting room were large and well appointed. The beds may be too hard for most people. The bathroom had an tub and separate shower. The entire staff was friendly and helpful with tour recommendations. It is an oasis in the heart of the city with a beautiful 25 meter pool.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank denalitraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thank you for your review, I am happy that your long wish of staying at Raffles Hotel Singapore came true and that the experience corresponded to your expectations.

I look forwra dto welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Pierre Jochem,
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#33 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20,713 reviews
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#15 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,703 reviews
InterContinental Singapore
#8 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Hotel Singapore

Property: Raffles Hotel Singapore
Address: 1 Beach Road, Singapore 189673, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#1 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#2 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#3 Business Hotel in Singapore
#3 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price range (per night): ₹ 26,857 - ₹ 61,640
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Hotel Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raffles Hotel is one of Singapore's most graceful landmarks. More legend than hotel, this luxury Singapore hotel celebrates a tradition of unwavering service excellence spanning more than 125 years.Immortalized in the novels of Somerset Maugham and Rudyard Kipling, Raffles Hotel, Singapore’s colonial-styled architecture and lush tropical gardens exude an atmosphere of timeless elegance.Raffles Spa provides pampering relaxation while the boutiques of Raffles Hotel Arcade offer ample opportunities for retail therapy. Raffles Hotel Arcade houses a fine selection of elegant international brands including Tiffany and Co. and Louis Vuitton.Be it business or leisure, the charms of this luxurious Singapore hotel are enticing. 15 restaurants and bars beckon, including the Long Bar - home to the world renowned Singapore Sling; Tiffin Room, which continues the tradition of Afternoon Tea at Raffles and Bar & Billiard Room, well-known for its legend of "The Tiger under the Billiard Table."This luxurious Singapore hotel lies in the heart of the city, in close proximity to the banking and financial districts, Raffles City Convention Centre, Singapore International Convention and Exhibition Centre (SICEC), as well as leisure attractions including the casino at Marina Bay; the cultural sights of Arab Street and Chinatown and shopping at Raffles City shopping mall and Orchard Road shopping belt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your Raffles Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Raffles Hotel
Raffles Singapore
Raffles Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing