We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another world”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Raffles Hotel Singapore
Ranked #3 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
691 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Another world”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

What to add about this mythical hotel? This is a different kind of place, something that any Hilton or Mariott will never compare to! Of course the service is perfect, of course the staff is friendly, almost embarrassingly so! Of course the room, sorry the suite, is fantastic (yes even the "cheap" ones), but the best is the incredible charm and sense of history that you can feel everywhere in the hotel. Highly recommended.... although this comes to a very serious price unfortunately... I guess this is not a problem for the "royalty and nobility" patrons supposed to frequent the Raffles, but certainly one for the rest of us! Nevertheless definitely worth a least a short stay if in Singapore.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,924 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,010
    671
    153
    49
    41
See reviews for
707
1,940
270
356
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Let's get this out of the way first. It IS expensive. If you want to go, then you just have to pay! First impressions were of the way we were escorted in by a uniformed member of staff and welcomed by desk staff. The whole place smells fantastic, it is an essential oil and it stays in your memory long after you have left. The check in procedure was efficient and we were offered a complimentary drink in the Writer's Bar, where we sat and watched the world go by for a while. Our luggage was whisked off to our suite while we relaxed. When we were ready we were shown to the suite by our butler, a very enthusiastic young woman who explained how everything worked. The Palm Court Suite is a parlour area with sofa, dining table and chairs, mini bar and tray set out with named brand gins/bourbons etc. The bedroom is huge, the ceiling must be 15 to 18 feet high, two double beds (twin room) which had luxury bedding and a pillow menu. The thread count on the bed was amazing, you could feel the difference. There is ample storage in the large wardrobes and other furniture, all of which is in dark wood which reflects the colonial style of Raffles, it is all in keeping with the whole building, so don't go expecting modern stylish, boutique, contemporary stuff! The bathroom is done in tiles which also reflect the era, a deep bath, a separate shower and a dressing area with two basins. Sound proofing in the room was superb, as you close the front door you can hear the silence. The pool area is a real surprise, peaceful and comfortable and with a bar where you can get food and drinks, either sitting at the tables or brought to your sunbed by Rasty, who works tirelessly to make sure everyone has everything they need.

Of course, we did the obligatory Singapore Sling thing in The Long Bar, the martini menu is much better, lots of fun with dramatic presentation and for a better Sling go to the Courtyard Bar or the Bar and Billiard Room where they are mixed for you, rather than being poured from a ready made jug. We had dinner at the Courtyard Restaurant, it was lovely because of where it was, service was excellent, the food good, but not outstanding and therefore a little overpriced.

If you get the chance to experience Raffles, just go! It is not a modern hotel, it is an institution and that's what you go for. A little piece of history for you to step into and embrace.

Room Tip: There is no such thing as a bad room at Raffles, Palm Court Suites look out over the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diandcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012 via mobile

The Raffles is a very nice hotel. The breakfast is great. The personnel is very nice and helpful. The rooms are huge! They are also very child-friendly. We had a wonderful time there!

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kwik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012 via mobile

Arrived enroute to Thailand, whisked straight to the Cathay Suite. Charming suite and very comfortable. Verandah very spacious, but unfortunately not used much. Food and wine in the restaurant excellent, service impeccable while understated. Private City tour very good and recommendation for Harbour restaurant spot on. The driver of the car arranged to take us there went beyond his remit to extend the evening making it even more enjoyable. Walking around the Hotel the staff go out of their way to help. The Long Bar Restaurant again first class. The Long Bar - the entertainment excellent, staff can't be any more attentive. Unfortunately should have left that last drink on the bar!! but hey ho we were on holiday. Daimler to the airport. Seamless enjoyment, what was booked was provided, what was expected was exceeded. No wonder ex Raffles staff pop up at the best hotels around the world.

Stayed February 2012
Helpful?
Thank wardy-gb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

2011 was about to end and we thought of spending the remaining days of 2011 with great memories. We compared our notes on the best hotels in the Lion City and my recommendation got the most favor - the raffles hotel. Excitement started burning after Singapore airlines touched down with a commanding grace and confidence. But it took us almost an hour waiting for the hotel van and decided to hire another van. Later we found out that there was a miscommunication with our travel agent. With all the apologies, the management refunded us and treated us like kings and queens with 2 bottles of wine during dinner. The food is great except for their spicy crabs. The service is superbly awesome and i had my own personal staff to attend to my needs- even at 3am when i went home drunk and politely asked for a hot coffee. I took the room fronting the garden and i had the easiest access of coming home late. Non guests are not allowed in the vicinity and guests are assured of perfect private moments -err privacy. A botique hotel, the place has an array of nice shops. And if you happen to pack your swimsuits or that dream dress, panic no more. The staff are well trained. In the morning, you can have a good dose of filipino service and communication is not a problem. They can even tell you where to buy a good bargain or that naughty shop. The rooms are spacious and has a distinct smell of an old world. The bath tub is well beyond my birth year and soaking your tired body seemed like taking a cleopatra mode. No matter how old this hotel is, the experience just compensated the rate.

Room Tip: Get a room fronting the garden. You will love Singapor mornings with wet grasses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShortsTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Thank you for writing this detailed & personal review, I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again at Raffles Hotel Singapore.

Warm regards,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#35 of 312 in Singapore
21,573 reviews
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 312 in Singapore
7,117 reviews
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 312 in Singapore
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Hotel Singapore

Property: Raffles Hotel Singapore
Address: 1 Beach Road, Singapore 189673, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#2 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#3 Family Hotel in Singapore
#3 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#3 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price range (per night): ₹ 28,078 - ₹ 45,416
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Hotel Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raffles Hotel is one of Singapore's most graceful landmarks. More legend than hotel, this luxury Singapore hotel celebrates a tradition of unwavering service excellence spanning more than 125 years.Immortalized in the novels of Somerset Maugham and Rudyard Kipling, Raffles Hotel, Singapore’s colonial-styled architecture and lush tropical gardens exude an atmosphere of timeless elegance. 5 restaurants and bars beckon, including the Bar & Billiard Room - new temporary home to the world renowned Singapore Sling; Tiffin Room, which continues the tradition of Afternoon Tea at Raffles and Raffles Grill, serving up the best Sunday Brunch in town. This luxurious Singapore hotel lies in the heart of the city, in close proximity to the banking and financial districts, Raffles City Convention Centre, Singapore International Convention and Exhibition Centre (SICEC), as well as leisure attractions including the casino at Marina Bay; the cultural sights of Arab Street and Chinatown and shopping at Raffles City shopping mall and Orchard Road shopping belt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Raffles Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Raffles Hotel
Raffles Singapore
Raffles Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing