We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“transports you into another time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Raffles Hotel Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Raffles Hotel Singapore
Ranked #1 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
549 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 800 helpful votes
“transports you into another time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Stayed at this hotel during a recent business trip and loved it! The hotel takes up an entire city block and consists of living quarters, a shopping arcade, and several restaurants. There are at least three gorgeous courtyarts with beautiful fountains and ample greenery. The decor is Colonial.
My suite was very large, with the highest ceilings I've ever seen in a room, and a good size bathroom with a deep soaking tub. The furniture and decor (drapes, paintings, carpets) all transport you into another time. The staff (including a 24-hour butler service) were amazing and always willing to accommodate special requests, including altering dishes to, e.g., make them vegetarian or substitute ingredients.
The pool is not large, but very picturesque and relaxing. The gym, likewise not large, was never crowded and was well-stocked with cold towels, water, and fruit. I did not try the spa (it was fully booked during the only afternoon I was free) - the spa lockers did not seem particularly luxurious and the steam room didn't seem to work.
The only dining option I tried was the Empire Cafe. Their dim sum were great, and don't miss their young coconut drink and desserts! I also tried the famous Singapore Sling at the Long Bar and enjoyed it.
The location is very convenient to all the major attractions and to the financial center. The shopping is quite good as well - the Raffles Store has many interesting souvenirs.
I had a wonderful experience and cannot recommend this hotel highly enough

Room Tip: My room (359) was quiet and large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank giulietta429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Many thanks for recommending us. I am delighted that you have enjoyed the ambience of your suite and our various facilities at the hotel.

We look forward to your next visit to Raffles in the future.

Best Regards,
Pierre Jochem, General Manager & Regional Vice President, Operations , Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,871
    628
    149
    47
    38
See reviews for
679
1,833
258
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We arrived at noon having travelled from London via KL and received a warm welcome. Our Palm Court suite was ready and we were shown round it by our butler. Having stayed at Raffles Phnom Penh we knew we wouldn't be disappointed.

The room looked into a grassy courtyard and it was only a few minutes to the main lobby. Main highlights were taking afternoon high tea on the 2nd floor (quieter position) - served by Joshua, who also added some delicious Dim Sum to the spread. A visit to the busy Long Bar but as residents we were seated in a quieter spot. Honourable mentions go to Rasty in the pool bar, Marco in the Empire Bar and finally Andrew the concierge whose advice and organisation was exemplary.

The breakfast choices were superb.

Although having a butler was good I felt that calling him/her to make a cup of tea each time we wanted one was one luxury I would happily forego. At times the calling system was a little tempramental and it would have been quicker to make our own if facilities were available in the suites.

Having said that our stay was thoroughly enjoyable.

Room Tip: Paying extra for a Palm Court suite was well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gruntfuttock99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank you for sharing your kind review. I am pleased that you had a memorable experience at Raffles Hotel and that our colleagues had contributed to making your stay enjoyable.

I have shared your encouraging comments with the team and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Raffles in the future.

Best Regards,
Pierre Jochem, General Manager & Regional Vice President, Operations , Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Just amazing, always my first choice when visiting Singapore!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

We lived in Singapore, and when we had US visitors they always wanted to go to Raffles Hotel. Most of our visitors did not know Singapore history, but they all wanted to go to the Long Bar for a Singapore Sling. After drinking one with my mother, I still wonder why! The hotel and the bar are beautiful, and they evoke another time, but that drink tastes like the deodorizer in a gas station bathroom! Beyond cloyingly sweet and thick, it's just yucky. I have not had the pleasure of drinking one anywhere else and never will. Put that aside and go to Singapore and experience the different cultures. Singapore is such a fascinating place. Safe and clean are not the half of it, the country is flat out beautiful and the people are so friendly. Changi airport is the most beautiful in the world. Go.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canarylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank you for bringing your guests to Raffles Hotel. While we are disappointed that you did not enjoy the Singapore Sling, we hope that you had an enjoyable time at Raffles Hotel and look forward to your next visit soon.

Best Regards,
Pierre Jochem, General Manager & Regional Vice President, Operations , Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
256 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

This is really a glorious old hotel. The staff are exceptional and I have to say that we were made to feel very welcome. Especially we have to give credit to the gentleman who welcomes people at the entrance- he welcomed us by name over the entire stay. The check in and reception staff were very friendly and very helpful.

The suites are generous with a separate living area with a coach and comfortable char as well as a dining table and desk. There was some local fruit as well as a capsule coffee machine which made lovely cups of coffee.

The bedroom was filled with antique pieces and was tastefully decorated. The television is a little old but worked okay.

The bathroom was on the small side but the tiles on the bath were gorgeous and the amenities in the bathroom were very generous.

The only down side is the location of our specific room and a miscommunication. There are two kinds of rooms those that border the rather busy road and the others that overlook the interior courtyard. Ours was on the busy road and there were no chairs and tables outside like those in the interior courtyard.

We had written ahead to organise tea and were told that it was fully booked, however when we arrived and mentioned this at check in we were told that tea could be organised at the parlour for in house guests. This was much nicer than in the Tiffin room and I suggest it for those checked in to the hotel. It was quieter and the service was very personal.

Pleased that I could stay here- a rare treat. If there is time go and look at the museum which has records and artifacts from the inception of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jasonleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. I am pleased that you had a memorable stay and enjoyed the afternoon tea experience at the Drawing Room. We look forward to the pleasure of your return visit, to one of our Palm Court suites overlooking the private gardens.

Best Regards,
Pierre Jochem, General Manager & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#33 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20,713 reviews
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#15 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,703 reviews
InterContinental Singapore
#8 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Hotel Singapore

Property: Raffles Hotel Singapore
Address: 1 Beach Road, Singapore 189673, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#1 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#2 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#3 Family Hotel in Singapore
#3 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price range (per night): ₹ 26,797 - ₹ 61,569
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Hotel Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raffles Hotel is one of Singapore's most graceful landmarks. More legend than hotel, this luxury Singapore hotel celebrates a tradition of unwavering service excellence spanning more than 125 years.Immortalized in the novels of Somerset Maugham and Rudyard Kipling, Raffles Hotel, Singapore’s colonial-styled architecture and lush tropical gardens exude an atmosphere of timeless elegance.Raffles Spa provides pampering relaxation while the boutiques of Raffles Hotel Arcade offer ample opportunities for retail therapy. Raffles Hotel Arcade houses a fine selection of elegant international brands including Tiffany and Co. and Louis Vuitton.Be it business or leisure, the charms of this luxurious Singapore hotel are enticing. 15 restaurants and bars beckon, including the Long Bar - home to the world renowned Singapore Sling; Tiffin Room, which continues the tradition of Afternoon Tea at Raffles and Bar & Billiard Room, well-known for its legend of "The Tiger under the Billiard Table."This luxurious Singapore hotel lies in the heart of the city, in close proximity to the banking and financial districts, Raffles City Convention Centre, Singapore International Convention and Exhibition Centre (SICEC), as well as leisure attractions including the casino at Marina Bay; the cultural sights of Arab Street and Chinatown and shopping at Raffles City shopping mall and Orchard Road shopping belt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Raffles Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Raffles Hotel
Raffles Singapore
Raffles Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing