We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a classic place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Raffles Hotel Singapore
Ranked #1 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Such a classic place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

We lived in Singapore, and when we had US visitors they always wanted to go to Raffles Hotel. Most of our visitors did not know Singapore history, but they all wanted to go to the Long Bar for a Singapore Sling. After drinking one with my mother, I still wonder why! The hotel and the bar are beautiful, and they evoke another time, but that drink tastes like the deodorizer in a gas station bathroom! Beyond cloyingly sweet and thick, it's just yucky. I have not had the pleasure of drinking one anywhere else and never will. Put that aside and go to Singapore and experience the different cultures. Singapore is such a fascinating place. Safe and clean are not the half of it, the country is flat out beautiful and the people are so friendly. Changi airport is the most beautiful in the world. Go.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canarylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank you for bringing your guests to Raffles Hotel. While we are disappointed that you did not enjoy the Singapore Sling, we hope that you had an enjoyable time at Raffles Hotel and look forward to your next visit soon.

Best Regards,
Pierre Jochem, General Manager & Regional Vice President, Operations , Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,927
    647
    151
    47
    40
See reviews for
691
1,878
261
349
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
255 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

This is really a glorious old hotel. The staff are exceptional and I have to say that we were made to feel very welcome. Especially we have to give credit to the gentleman who welcomes people at the entrance- he welcomed us by name over the entire stay. The check in and reception staff were very friendly and very helpful.

The suites are generous with a separate living area with a coach and comfortable char as well as a dining table and desk. There was some local fruit as well as a capsule coffee machine which made lovely cups of coffee.

The bedroom was filled with antique pieces and was tastefully decorated. The television is a little old but worked okay.

The bathroom was on the small side but the tiles on the bath were gorgeous and the amenities in the bathroom were very generous.

The only down side is the location of our specific room and a miscommunication. There are two kinds of rooms those that border the rather busy road and the others that overlook the interior courtyard. Ours was on the busy road and there were no chairs and tables outside like those in the interior courtyard.

We had written ahead to organise tea and were told that it was fully booked, however when we arrived and mentioned this at check in we were told that tea could be organised at the parlour for in house guests. This was much nicer than in the Tiffin room and I suggest it for those checked in to the hotel. It was quieter and the service was very personal.

Pleased that I could stay here- a rare treat. If there is time go and look at the museum which has records and artifacts from the inception of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jasonleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. I am pleased that you had a memorable stay and enjoyed the afternoon tea experience at the Drawing Room. We look forward to the pleasure of your return visit, to one of our Palm Court suites overlooking the private gardens.

Best Regards,
Pierre Jochem, General Manager & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
141 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Must have a meal here! Or at least a Singapore Sling! Very worth the stop, it seems like it was transported from the past and dropped into this very modern city. We ate at the restaurant, and it was absolutely fantastic. It was very well maintained, and the service was very good.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esthersnippe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Great hotel, especially if you enjoy colonial-style hotels.

On the positives: service was exceptional, beautiful colonial-style rooms, wonderful garden, great breakfast, nice & quiet pool, beautiful flowers all over the hotel, and - my favourite - great entertainment in the lobby during the evening (don't recall the name of the pianist, but I loved sitting there and listening)

On the (slightly) negatives: the rooms are a bit dark and the fixtures etc. not exactly "modern". But that was to be expected from a beautifully charming colonial-style hotel!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jochen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We had a suite deal for 4 nights at the end of our 6 week family holiday to NZ, Australia and Singapore. From the Bentley at the airport when we arrived to the wave off at the front of the hotel when we left, everything about our stay at Raffles was absolutely perfect. Every member of staff was both attentive and willing. Anything we mentioned would be done instantly and with a smile. High levels of training were obvious, as the staff knew exactly how to look after us and our 4 and 2 year old children, who are going through that difficult to handle stage. We made good use of most of the hotels facilities and services and couldn't fault any of them. We checked out at 12 noon on the day we left, but weren't being picked up by Emirates until 11pm. The staff continued to look after us throughout the evening, despite no longer being resident there. We are planning to return there in July next year for our wedding anniversary - without the children this time.

Room Tip: As far as I know, the suites overlook the inner courtyards, which are lawned and tree lined. I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank anthonyv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you for your review of Raffles Hotel. I am delighted that you have enjoyed the finale of your family holiday at Raffles and have shared your most encouraging comments with the team.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Raffles in July next year.

Best Regards,
Pierre Jochem, General Manager & Regional Vice President, Operations , Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#34 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21,047 reviews
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,865 reviews
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Hotel Singapore

Property: Raffles Hotel Singapore
Address: 1 Beach Road, Singapore 189673, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#1 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#2 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#3 Business Hotel in Singapore
#3 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price range (per night): ₹ 27,020 - ₹ 53,523
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Hotel Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raffles Hotel is one of Singapore's most graceful landmarks. More legend than hotel, this luxury Singapore hotel celebrates a tradition of unwavering service excellence spanning more than 125 years.Immortalized in the novels of Somerset Maugham and Rudyard Kipling, Raffles Hotel, Singapore’s colonial-styled architecture and lush tropical gardens exude an atmosphere of timeless elegance. 5 restaurants and bars beckon, including the Bar & Billiard Room - new temporary home to the world renowned Singapore Sling; Tiffin Room, which continues the tradition of Afternoon Tea at Raffles and Raffles Grill, serving up the best Sunday Brunch in town. This luxurious Singapore hotel lies in the heart of the city, in close proximity to the banking and financial districts, Raffles City Convention Centre, Singapore International Convention and Exhibition Centre (SICEC), as well as leisure attractions including the casino at Marina Bay; the cultural sights of Arab Street and Chinatown and shopping at Raffles City shopping mall and Orchard Road shopping belt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Prestigia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Raffles Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Raffles Hotel
Raffles Singapore
Raffles Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing