We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Without a doubt, the best hotel I've ever stayed in” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Raffles Hotel Singapore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Raffles Hotel Singapore
Ranked #1 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Without a doubt, the best hotel I've ever stayed in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Staying at Raffles lived up to every expectation I might have had and then went even further. It was a wonderful experience and as the doorman said when closing the limo door "hope to see you again soon".

Room Tip: The Oscar Wilde suite was wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kmsc_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,682
    565
    140
    47
    37
See reviews for
626
1,703
241
333
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
271 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

After 4 days on the Eastern and Oriental travelling down from Bangkok we were used to exceptional service levels - Raffles met that standard. I really love this place. The staff are perfect - the rooms large with exceptional bed linen and even a pillow menu and the whole ambience sophisticated with beautiful flower arrangements and historic furniture.

The rooms are large with high ceilings leading into a twin basin bath room which in turn leads on into the bath and shower room. There is no scrimping on space or anything else for that matter. Luxurious bath robes, fluffy towels, fruit, water and a butler that solves any unexpected problem that might occur.

On the first night we ate in the seafood restaurant in the courtyard. It was very warm and the menu is a little limited but the food itself was delicious even if expensive. Most evenings we spent in the Long Bar – they do a variety of Singapore Slings my favourite being the Winter version with a vanilla content which I preferred to the red ones. The Band was great with the lead singer being a Tina Turner/ Amy Winehouse cross. Opening their second set with Baker Street showed how talented the Sax player was and guitar easily coped with the slow version of Layla.

On leaving our pick up was messed up. Reception was great in trying to sort it all out as they had been in suggesting things to do. Life is too short to go back to many places but not long enough to return to Raffles too often. Perfect

Room Tip: There are no bad ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gareth1048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments. I am pleased that you have enjoyed the ambience of your suite and our services at the concierge and Long Bar contributed to making your stay a memorable one.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Raffles in the future.

Best Regards,
Pierre Jochem, General Manager & Regional Vice President, Operations , Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Our stay at the Raffles was essentially perfect.

The rooms are spectacular, with extraordinarily high ceilings, a separate sitting room, marble filled bathroom with an wonderful soaker tub, and the highest quality linens, soaps, furniture you'll find. They have spared no expense, and it shows.

My only (slight) complaint with the room would be that the water from the shower would sometimes run out into the washroom, making the floor wet. But don't worry! A quick call to the butler and a new, dry bath mat is delivered.

The rooms are very quiet despite the road noise and music outside in the courtyard. The beds are spectacular; I have never slept so well.

The location is good, with easy access to the subway and a short taxi ride to many restaurants, bars and the water area.

The service at this hotel was simply the best I have ever experienced. Whether checking in, or eating in the lovely Tiffen Room for breakfast, the staff were warm and welcoming, always willing to accommodate with a smile.

I used the gym a few times, and to warn you, it is quite small. Also, it is warmer than I would have liked it to be, but the quip meant is relatively new. Also, the pool area is a little oasis in the heart of the city, with palm trees and perfectly warm water. There is also a bar out there too.

I spent a good amount of time reading the newspaper in the public areas on the second and third floor of the lobby. It is a wonderfully relaxing environment, and there is often piano music floating up from below. What a great experience!

My only advice would be to skip the Singapore Sling at the long bar, which is quite small and exceptionally expensive. However, if you must, go in the evening when the band plays. The lead singer sounds like Amy Winehouse. Fantastic!

You won't go wrong with the Raffles!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Travelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share the experience of your stay in such detail and for recommending the hotel.

I am delighted that you had a wonderful stay and have enjoyed our services and facilities. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Pierre Jochem, General Manager & Regional Vice President, Operations , Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley,West Sussex
Level Contributor
226 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Haviing spent 4 days on the Easternand Oriental Express Train from Bangkok to Singapore we spent 1 night at the famous Raffles. It os a sheer delight and so very mich the Grand dame of old Colonial hotels . We were fortunate enough to be afforded an upgrade to a palm court suite and it was sheer luxury - from the size of the rooms , the free welcome Singapore Slings brought to the room to the welcme card , fresh fruit and water . Nothing is too much trouble and the staff are so attentive - I got lost on the way back to my room and to be met by a member of staff who remembered my name and personally escorted was amazing !
The pool area on the top floor is small but quiet and the fact they bring you water,cold scented towels and iced fresh fruit - it's the little touches in a lace like this .We had a set of 3 Spa treatments for guys ,which wereoitstanding and Alan is an amazing masseur ! The afternoon 'Tiffin' in the Tiffin room was good value and worth doing. For me the only slight disappointment was the restaurants - I really wanted to eat in their fine dining restaurant and was shocked that it closes on a Sunday evening ( as were another couple we chatted too!) we opted for their seafood restaurant- the Courtyard. It was completely outdoors , but with no fans, misting or A/c be prepared to get moist ! The choice of dishes was very small ( 5 starters/ 5 mains ) and when we asked for just a plain green salad it was not possible ( we had to have a full chicken ceaser !) - which seemed strange as on the breakfast buffet they had laid out a full salad bar ( which nobody touched ! ) even though it's a seafood restaurant I would have expected some other add-ons/ choice for those who want a blend of food. The prices were extremely high here with a 2 course meal and wine ( no dessert / coffee or pre dinner drinks ) it was S$350 !
Overall I would return - just for the staff !

Room Tip: Do afternoon tea in the Tiffin room - very good value for all you can eat + buffet !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Thank you for sharing such a detailed review of your stay. I am happy that you had a great experience at the hotel and that our services at the spa, swimming pool and afternoon tea contributed to making your stay a memorable one.

Your comments on our restaurants provide opportunities for us in which to improve and we look forward to your next visit soon.

Best Regards,
Pierre Jochem, General Manager & Regional Vice President, Operations , Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

The history of this hotel is so fascinating that I had wanted to stay here since my last visit to Singapore a few years ago. The hotel itself, antique decor & furniture, service and food are all exceptional. However, it could really use some updates in the tech department, specifically the small old tv and 90s phone. Also, it would have been nice if jacuzzis were hot instead of freezing. Other than those two things, perfect. Not by any means cheap though.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gingernova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed the history and period furniture of the hotel.

We are always looking for ways to improve and your comments shall assist us to identify such areas. I look forward to welcoming you back to Raffles Hotel again soon.

Best Regards,
Pierre Jochem, General Manager & Regional Vice President, Operations , Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
InterContinental Singapore
#5 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#33 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
AMOY by Far East Hospitality
#3 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Hotel Singapore

Property: Raffles Hotel Singapore
Address: 1 Beach Road, Singapore 189673, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#1 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#2 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#3 Business Hotel in Singapore
#3 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price range (per night): ₹ 29,901 - ₹ 66,885
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Hotel Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raffles Hotel is one of Singapore's most graceful landmarks. More legend than hotel, this luxury Singapore hotel celebrates a tradition of unwavering service excellence spanning more than 125 years.Immortalized in the novels of Somerset Maugham and Rudyard Kipling, Raffles Hotel, Singapore’s colonial-styled architecture and lush tropical gardens exude an atmosphere of timeless elegance.Raffles Spa provides pampering relaxation while the boutiques of Raffles Hotel Arcade offer ample opportunities for retail therapy. Raffles Hotel Arcade houses a fine selection of elegant international brands including Tiffany and Co. and Louis Vuitton.Be it business or leisure, the charms of this luxurious Singapore hotel are enticing. 15 restaurants and bars beckon, including the Long Bar - home to the world renowned Singapore Sling; Tiffin Room, which continues the tradition of Afternoon Tea at Raffles and Bar & Billiard Room, well-known for its legend of "The Tiger under the Billiard Table."This luxurious Singapore hotel lies in the heart of the city, in close proximity to the banking and financial districts, Raffles City Convention Centre, Singapore International Convention and Exhibition Centre (SICEC), as well as leisure attractions including the casino at Marina Bay; the cultural sights of Arab Street and Chinatown and shopping at Raffles City shopping mall and Orchard Road shopping belt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Raffles Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Raffles Hotel
Raffles Singapore
Raffles Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing