We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good rates, great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Singapore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Singapore
Ranked #15 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good rates, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Really enjoyed our 3 nights here, it's just a 20 minute taxi ride from the airport at approx 25 dollars or, if you have a bit more time to spare, just 2 dollars apiece by the MRT - no changes, just direct to the airport, but an hour away in an air conditioned carriage.

We loved the location and had a room overlooking the pool. It was large, functional (ie slightly devoid of personality), but had everything you need. My only two points would be that putting a couple of fold-up chairs on the balcony would be a bonus, plus what's with the strange bedside tables, with fake drawers, ie they don't open, are just plywood covers?

The bed was fabulously comfortable, a real bonus for those of us with bad backs.

As is the norm in Singapore, the staff were incredibly polite and attentive. I used to think that the USA was the king of service, but that's definitely not the case!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sueandpauluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSingapore, Manager at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Guest

We are glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us and found that our staff are polite and attentive.

For security and safety reasons, we had opted not to include chairs in our balcony. We are also making plans to refurbish the rooms in the beginning of 2013 to ensure they remain relevant to our guests' needs and expectations.

We hope to welcome you back to Fairmont, Singapore.

Regards
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,266
    1,497
    313
    102
    62
See reviews for
1,197
1,803
323
1,313
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,054)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Just completed 6 wonderful nights at the Fairmont. I highly recommend the executive club rooms. It cost us about AUD$100 extra per night but it included breakfast, the room was newer and we really enjoyed the drinks and canapés from 5 to 8 pm. In fact, there was no need to go out for dinner - the canapés were sufficient. If you do want to eat, I recommend the restaurants in the basement of the Raffles City shopping centre under the hotel. There is a food court on the 3rd level but the food is a bit scary for non-locals. Don't bother checking in downstairs, take your luggage straight to the 23 rd floor to check in. Your executive club room will be on the 22nd or 23rd floor. No big queues. Same for checking out. Make sure you join the president's club before you head to Singpore as you get free wifi and local calls. The location is fantastic and the MRT is under the hotel (head towards the Swiss hotel for the closest entrance).

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BrissyGirl00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zama-shi, Kanagawa, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The location is excellent! Just cross the street to enjoy a Sling a the Long Bar or walk ~10-15 minutes to the bay, Merlion, etc... City Hall MRT station is at the base. The view from the south tower, 16th floor, bay facing room was awesome! We could clearly see the Marina Bay Sands, Merlion, and downtown. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Only complaint is that the room was a little old and shabby in places.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

I recently stayed at the Fairmont Singapore on a 7 day business trip (Feb 2012). I brought along my wife and 4 month old son... his first visit to Asia and first foreign trip away from our home in London.

From the moment we checked in the staff could not have been more helpful and attentive. We were staying in the newly renovated tower, in a very comfortable contemporary room with great views over the city. A cot was already in place, along with plenty of blankets and bedding not to mention a welcome pack including a large number of infant toiletries - a really nice personal touch.

We also recevied a couple of phonecalls during our stay to check if there was anything else that could be done to make our stay more comfortable. Also my itinerary changed while we were there. The staff at the reservations desk were extremely helpful in helping me with my change of travel plans.

The hotel is in a great central location and is attached to an extensive underground mall. There are also great leisures facilities. My Son had a wonderful time at the Alligator Pear swimming complex and my wife found getting around Singapore extremely easily from the hotel's location.

I could not fault our stay at the Singapore Fairmont. We had a wonderful time on our first trip away from the UK as a family. The Staff provided a first class personal service which is very rare in larger Hotel. The accommodation and facilities were perfect for both business and my family. I could not recommend a stay here more highly.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Ahh, the Fairmont!

It's one of those famous international hotel names that just begs you to go there and be impressed. Sadly, in my most recent stay at the Fairmont Singapore, I was very disappointed with the hotel facilities.

Let me expalin. For those of you who don't know this location, it's a relatively recent addition to the Fairmont chain of wonderful hotels that are sprinkled lightly around the globe. I've stayed at a number of their other inns, and they were first rate - so let's focus on the Sngapore one, as it's the topic of this review.

The Singapore Fairmont started out as The Plaza, linked to the famous NYC Plaza hotel of "Sex in the City" and "The Way We Were" fame. It was later acquired by its highly noted local neighbor, Raffles and then was recently sold to the Fairmont chain. The land and buildings, of course, belong to someone else, but the operator that is responsible for the building is the Fairmont Group.

If you go into the lobby of the hotel, you'll see that it is little changed over the past ten or so years and the lobby furniture, though still in good enough shape, is due soon for an upgrade. Attached, as it is, to the large MTR hub in the basement of the adjacent Raffles City shopping mall, the buidling gets quite a bit of foot traffic and is thus subject to the kind of abuse you'd expect from such a location.

But it's not the public areas that disappointed me, but instead the condition of my room, especially my toilet and shower. To be blunt: my room was worn out. The carpeting was thin in a number of locations, the walls showed cracks and the room was in bad need of a new coat of paint. But it was in the bath room, that the lack of attention to the infrastructure was evident. Big chunks of plaster were falling off the walls next to the shower stall (an odd design, that always puzzeled me since there's no way to prevent water from coming out of the shower and onto the main bathroom floor - dangerous and sloppy design), grout was missing from the tile walls and the toilet fixture was, let's say, unhappy.

If you are looking to stay in Singapore, I suggest that you consider spending a few more dollars and select another hotel - for example, the Fullerton?

Room Tip: Select an upgraded one - a suite or deluxe king, and make sure to look over the room a bit before yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tomago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,242 reviews
InterContinental Singapore
#5 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Naumi Hotel
#17 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,868 reviews
AMOY by Far East Hospitality
#3 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Singapore? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Singapore

Property: Fairmont Singapore
Address: 80 Bras Basah Rd, Singapore 189560, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Singapore
#7 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#13 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#14 Business Hotel in Singapore
#15 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,311 - ₹ 24,827
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 769
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Singapore hotel is ideally situated at the crossroads of Singapore's business, cultural, entertainment and shopping districts. It offers 769 luxurious guestrooms and suites, a collection of 16 distinctive restaurants and bars and 70,000 square feet of prime meeting space - all supported by our Singapore hotel's award-winning service teams.In addition, guests of Fairmont Singapore have access to the Willow Stream Spa, one of the largest spa facilities in Asia, offering the best in spa and fitness services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Fairmont Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Singapore Hotel Singapore
Raffles Plaza Singapore
Singapore Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing