We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location room is a little old and the shower need some fixing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Ranked #34 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Good breakfast, good location. Singapore is amazing city

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AssiW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 June 2012

Dear AssiW,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. We are glad to be of service to you and we are glad to learn that you liked the hotel location and facilities in general.

Your positive feedback is important to us and will help us in constantly improving our level of service and products.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore.

Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (5,134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,371 - 3,375 of 5,134 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2012

We stayed here after booking through Booking.com. Singapore hotels are so expensive!
This was a good price for Sngapore and the location opposite Clarke Quay is great. The pool area is nice but lounges are at a premium. The pool area has an outlook over the river. Staff were friendly and helpful. No free wi-fi is a nuisance - if it was cheaper it would have been an option but at 18 dollars we decided not to use it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perthites-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Dear Perthites-2

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court.

We are heartened to learn that you liked the hotel location and our guest room. Your positive feedback will help us in further upkeeping our level of service and products.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore.

Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Very small rooms but Singapore is expensive
Very clean tidy
Great service
Pool area was fab
Only complaint was wifi not free $20 for 24 hrs or $11 an hour
Just came from Thailand free wifi didn't even have o log in again and hotel was less than half the price

Room Tip: Didn't eat in restaraunt Singapore. Is very expensive highly recommend sentosa island Subway i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank badguysb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Dear badguysb,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. It is our utmost pleasure to be of service to you and your partner and we are pleased to learn that you liked the hotel location.

Your positive comments are important and will assist us in improving and upholding our level of service and facilities.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore.

Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Stayed for a week at the Swissotel Merchant Court recently. Before staying at the hotel I emailed Merchant Court and asked if it was possible to store luggage there after our stay because we would leave Singapore but return for our flight back to Europe. I got a prompt reply which stated that it was no problem.

Swissotel Merchant Court is located very conveniently, a stone's throw from Clarke Quay with its bars, restaurants and shopping. It is also easy to walk along the water all the way to the Marina Bay Sands complex, which is a quite nice walk, especially in the evening. The hotel is additonally about 50 meters away from the Clarke Quay subway station which gives easy access to the city. In the subway station there is also a seven eleven store where you for instance can buy beer if you're not that keen to pay the exorbitant prices that the hotel charge.

Speaking of drinks, there is a place really close to the hotel in Clarke Quay if you just leave the hotel to the left and then turn right when you reach the promenade, there is a nice place called Sque that has a 'buy 2 drinks pay for 1 deal' (I'm sure there are other places as well that does this tough) just by the waterfront, make you try their chips with truffle-mayo as well, very nice.

Anyway, the room that we got was a standard room with no view to speak about, and it felt a bit worn and old. There is an old crt-tv with a good amount of local and international channels but with somewhat bad reception on some of them.There isn't any free wifi and it isn't cheap either at roughly 20 SGD for 24 hours or 10 SGD for an hour (I solved this by buying a Singtel 3G card for my Iphone which cost 25 SGD for 7 days unlimited access, including a micro-sim). The bed, however is comfy and nice, and the bathroom has a tub although it felt quite worn as well.

As other reviewers have pointed out: the number of sun loungers at the hotel is way too small. We tried to get one after coming back from our sightseeing trips almost everyday for a week, and just one time we managed to get a hold of a pair. Quite frustrating since we chose the hotel partly based on the nice-looking pool. When we finally got our sun loungers however, the pool was very nice, and they make good cocktails in the bar.

Swissotel Merchant Court is in my mind a good hotel in a very good location. It is a bit soul-less and corporate, but the staff is very nice and helpful, the rooms are absolutely fine for staying in, even if they probably should need an upgrade soon. The pool area itself is very nice, although crowded. As mentioned above, we left our bags when we were away in Indonesia and had no problem to pick them up again before leaving for the airport.

With better rooms, free wifi and perhaps also slightly better bar prices (how about less expensive sun downers or something like that) that would encourage a little more time at the hotel itself I'd probably give Sofitel Merchant Court a five. Now, a weak four.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pakk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Dear Pakk,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. We are heartened that you and your partner had a pleasant stay with us in general.

We have duly noted your feedback and will strive to improve and upkeep our level of service and products constantly.

Once again, we thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your accommodation in Singapore and look forward to welcoming you and your partner in your next visit to Singapore.

Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

The Merchant Court is in the best place to be situated in Singapore. It is right at the side of the Singapore River and opposite Clarke Quay. Wow! The last time we were in Singapore was 20 years ago..and we stayed at the Furama just behind Merchant Court. Merchant Court is an old hotel; in the old colonial style. On arrival the hotel reception seems a bit dark, but very cool. Our reception on arrival was a bit cool too. Maybe it was because 40 of us ( a coach load) arrived from the cruise liner Voyager of the Seas; it could have been too much for them to cope with. Our room was large, spotless, comfortable and quiet. It had a large bathroom with lovely toiletries provided. The towels were clean, fluffy and plentiful. There is a super little shop in the foyer selling all sorts of goodies and knick knacks. The people who run it are lovely and so helpful. The concierge was happy to arrange for us to join another couple so that we could visit Singapore Zoo. Do go, it's amazing!! The noise of music from the Quay on Saturday nights is unbelievable with bands playing and people singing. It stopped at 12 midnight! We didn't hear it as we were in a side room...but the ones river facing had it full on!! The breakfast ..there was so much choice we didn't know where to begin.Would I recommend it...Yes!!

Room Tip: Side rooms are quieter if you are staying over on Saturday nights but the views aren't so good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peniludez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Dear Peniludez,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. It is our pleasure to be of service to you and we are happy to learn that you liked the hotel facilities and location.

Your positive feedback is important to us, which serves as an encouragement for us to constantly improve our level of service and products.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore.

Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay
PARKROYAL on Pickering
#24 of 317 in Singapore
3,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#64 of 317 in Singapore
3,888 reviews
The Quays
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#54 of 317 in Singapore
4,583 reviews
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#61 of 317 in Singapore
4,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Address: 20 Merchant Road, Singapore 058281, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#31 Family Hotel in Singapore
#34 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#36 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#40 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: ₹ 10,127 - ₹ 22,357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore 4.5*
Number of rooms: 476
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Merchant Court, Singapore offers the best of both worlds: a central-city location and resort-style ambience. The hotel is ideally located on the banks of the Singapore River, next to Clarke Quay Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) station. Facilities including two award-winning restaurants, one contemporary bar, a resort-style swimming pool, 24-hour Fitness Centre and Purovel Spa & Sport, the region's first luxury Swiss spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Merchant Court Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing