We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms need some TLC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Ranked #38 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rooms need some TLC”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights. Check in was simple. Room was on the 6th floor. On entering, room had a musty smell like it was a smoking room but it is a nonsmoking hotel apparently. It had 2 windows that opened which I did to air room. Entrance area & bathroom are tiled & due to the state of the floor I didn't want to walk bare foot so used the slippers provided. Some of the bathroom tiles are cracked & when you flushed the toilet water would leak out of the button in the wall. Definitely in need of makeover. Rest of room carpeted. Bed was a king size. Nespresso machine & kettle available with tea bags & 2 small bottles of complimentary water provided along with usual minibar items.
My room incl free wifi otherwise it was about 20SGD for 24hrs. You still had to login & select the pay option but you were not charged. TV has mix of channels in several languages incl English & French, plenty of news & sport
Swimming pool was nice enough - not huge & has a bar/cafe next to it. I used it between 8-9am on a Sunday morning & lounge chairs were shaded by the frangipani trees & it was pretty quiet until the construction noise happenIng at Clarke which you could see & hear.

Location - Clarke Quay MRT station across the road & you can access it under cover via path at side of hotel for when it's pouring with rain ( & they do provide umbrella in room). If you are heading to Orchard Rd you will need to swap train lines @ Dhoby Ghaut MRT station & it cost $2.20 one way & you get $1 refund if you return card at ticket machine. $2.50 one way to Harbourfront station where Vivo City shopping centre & access to Sentosa.
There are plenty of places to eat/drink nearby. I didn't eat at hotel so can't comment on restaurants.
When I return to Singapore next I will be picking another hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamatam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Dear pamatam

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. We do apologise for the unpleasant experience you encountered during your stay with us. We have duly noted your comments and will strive to improve our level of service and products constantly.

We hope, upon your next visit to Singapore, we will be able to do much better. Once again, thank you for taking time to post your comments.

Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,778
    1,773
    515
    162
    67
See reviews for
1,007
1,659
262
800
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (657)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Villach
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I spent 2 nights at this hotel mi of April 2012. The hotel is in a very good location, placed very close to the river which crosses the city, with plenty of bars and locals. The right spot to look for fun in the evening. Furthermore, with a couple of stops of the subway it is possible to reach Chinatown (toward south) or the Arab and Indian area (toward north).
Regarding accomodation, my room (on the 7th floor) was good and comfortable. The breakfast is excellent (you can have ti either inside the hotel or just outside, along the riverside) and you can find everything you need for breakfast.
I didn't try the gym, but surely I enjoeyd the pool, which is outside looking toward the river. A wonderful view, and besides the pool there is a restaurant. It was really good after an hard day of work.
All in all I recommend this hotel. Whenever I'll have the chance to come to Singapore I'll come here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zannaman74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Zannaman74

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. We are heartened to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Your feedback is valuable to us and will motivate us to do better.

Thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation. We look forward to serve you better your next visit to Singapore.

Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Sppent two nights hereen route Sydnes to London. Very quick checkin, super room with view of swimming pool. Had one breakfast and one dinner which were fairly priced with very good service.
Swimming pool large but sitting out space/sunbathing area a bit restricted. Was going to use business centre to check in online but one of the conscieges (Dayan) very willingly did it all for me.and gave me the low down on the city, very impressed. Also found an adapter for my electrical equipment and lent me scissors to cut the cable ties on our cases!
But note there is a 10% charge on the room rate and room GST on top which pushed up the final bill. But would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guybcornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Dear guybcornwall

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. We are heartened to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation. We look forward to your next visit to Singapore.

Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama
Level Contributor
65 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I been there couple of night ,but i realize the room is overpriced for such design and condition.In Singapore you can find better option at reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vallach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Vallach

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court.

Your comments are important to us and we believe with a series of upgrading works, guests will certainly enjoy better level of services and products. We sincerely thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation during your business trip and we look forward to serve you better on your next visit to Singapore.

Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I confirm other reports that this is is a fine location. It overlooks Clarke Quay which is great for afternoon and evening walks and meals and river cruises. The rooms are excellent and as previously recommended we asked for a higher floor and one facing the pool/river. As one who booked direct with the hotel this was granted along with room internet access and a 4pm late checkout; both these benefits suited us perfectly. The only room complaint was the large queen bed was two twins pushed together. As is usual with this method the occupants are separated by a solid ridge. Quite annoying when you want to get together in the middle. However, other than this, no complaints about the room. A nice view over Clark Quay and the area. As others have reported the in-house dining was too expensive. AUD $46 for a buffet evening meal and AUD $32 for a buffet breakfast is excessive for tourists. Not an issue I suppose if you are charging it to your company. An la carte menu was available but we found the waiting staff very unavailable so ordering and getting food was slow; self help buffet eating was obviously encouraged, especially at breakfast . Many guests had to leave their table and grab a waiter to get service. Kitchen renovations at the time could explain some of the problems but wait staff attention and food prices stand alone and encourage you to seek Clarke Quay venues for eating and drinking.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking pool/river
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Frank189

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. Glad to know that you like the hotel’s location and our rooms. We have duly noted your comments and will strive to improve the service level of our F&B team. We do apologise for the occasional inefficiency in our service staff due to the upgrading works. We will step up our manpower to avoid such incident from happening again.

Thank you for your feedbacks. We look forward to your return visit to serve you better.

Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#46 of 306 in Singapore
3,275 reviews
The Quays
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#47 of 306 in Singapore
3,650 reviews
Furama City Centre
#69 of 306 in Singapore
2,535 reviews
Fairmont Singapore
#16 of 306 in Singapore
5,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Property: Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Address: 20 Merchant Road, Singapore 058281, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#36 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#37 Family Hotel in Singapore
#38 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#40 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,975 - ₹ 23,967
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 476
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Merchant Court, Singapore offers the best of both worlds: a central-city location and resort-style ambience. The hotel is ideally located on the banks of the Singapore River, next to Clarke Quay Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) station. Facilities including two award-winning restaurants, one contemporary bar, a resort-style swimming pool, 24-hour Fitness Centre and Purovel Spa & Sport, the region's first luxury Swiss spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Merchant Court Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing