We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Understated Elegance” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Singapore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Ranked #14 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Understated Elegance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

I can understand why this hotel has won awards. There are a few hotels there that looked far more "rich", modernly designed than this one but it really depends on the style of design you sought after or you prefer. This hotel compared to others have been established far longer and yet they still were able to maintain that modern simplicity, understated elegance that sparks timelessness in its design. The room we stayed in had an amazing harbour view and we agreed it was the comfiest bed ever. Later on we realised it's because of the lush mattress topper they use.

The pool area, the service etc were all great. Would highly recommend!

Location was right in the middle of Marina Bay and shopping malls. You can walk it to other places as long as you have decent flats with you.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Babydoll_Nexa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,427
    1,036
    284
    101
    58
See reviews for
911
1,953
290
1,157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (987)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach CA
Level Contributor
222 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

We just spent two nights here. The view was wonderful.
The lobby was spectacular. Dinner in the spring moon restaurant was good.
The room was small for the price.
The hotel didn't have a shop of any kind?? It had been attached to a shopping mall but the entrance was now closed.
The breakfast buffet was too spread out and confusing and the coffee was horrible.
Service was not great. There are too many other great hotels in Singapore.
There was no restaurant with a view of the harbor.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harrodsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boca raton, florida
Level Contributor
129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights. We just loved the hotel. The room was beautiful and we had a spectacular view of the harbor.
The buffet breakfast is incredible!! Probably the best buffet breakfast I have ever had!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beauoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

My husband and I visited Singapore for just a few days in March 2012. We chose to stay at the Mandarin Oriental after receiving a very good recommendation from my sister and her partner who have stayed there often. We were not disappointed. A thoroughly enjoyable stay in a very appealing hotel with a warm and inviting atmosphere, excellent and attentive staff. Our room was not only attractive and comfortable but afforded us with a stunning view of the harbour and the city. We ate in the hotel, swam in the pool and enjoyed the facilities of the fitness centre - all were terrific. Suffice it is to say, we cannot wait for an excuse to return to Singapore and the Mandarin Oriental.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Polly-Anna56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We came as a family of four for a few days and they upgraded us to a suite on the top floor. Great suite with a beautiful view and amenities. Ordered room service the first night, didn't wait too long and the food was good. The next morning we went to the buffet breakfast, and usually we don't like buffets, but the choices were exceptional. Everything from Chinese dim sum, Japanese soba noodles, omlettes and saussages and lots of exotic fruits. I would of loved to stay all day here, but had to check out the pool. Surprised that in the middle of the city they can make a beautiful peaceful oasis. Great pool for the kids with different shallow and deep levels. Also had a waterfall and water fountain for the kids. And through out all this, great friendly service and always a smile for the kids.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fam4luv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#33 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19,638 reviews
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,268 reviews
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
InterContinental Singapore
#5 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Fairmont Singapore
#15 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,259 reviews
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Singapore

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Address: 5 Raffles Ave, Marina Square, Singapore 039797, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#6 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#7 Business Hotel in Singapore
#10 Family Hotel in Singapore
#14 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,793 - ₹ 29,925
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 527
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore is one of the world's foremost luxury hotels. It is the only hotel in the city that has been awarded Five Star status for both accommodation and spa in the prestigious Forbes Travel Guide for five consecutive years (2012 to 2016). This award-winning property has a prime location, close to the financial hub with easy access to luxury boutiques and entertainment venues, and minutes away from Suntec Singapore International Convention & Exhibition Centre. The hotel features an impressive atrium lobby with 527 rooms and suites. There is a premium Oriental Club Lounge, an indulgent and intimate spa, extensive meeting and banqueting facilities, five renowned restaurants and two lounges overlooking the spectacular Marina Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore Hotel Singapore
Mandarin Singapore
Oriental Hotel Singapore
Oriental Singapore
Singapore Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing