We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average hotel”
Review of Furama RiverFront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Furama RiverFront
Ranked #98 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the Furama Riverfront for the last leg of our honeymoon. Up until then we had stayed in some very nice hotels but we were disappointed with the Furama.
We booked through STA travel and the brochure has pictures of luxury rooms with great views, however this was not our experience at all. I would say our room was like a traavelodge in the UK, basic and functional. We had booked a double but our room had a double and a single bed which we were told to "ignore" by the lady who checked us in. The double was up against a wall so only one side had a bedside table. There was no carpet in our room, nor in the room above us so we heard the scraping of chairs on the ceiling. The bathroom was small and basic but had no extractor fan. Our view was of a side road, and some large turbines!
The corridors of the "guest" floors are a little tired and shabby, we assume all the pictures are taken on the executive floors.
On the first night we decided to eat in the buffet which was fine, except when it cost c.£80 for two with a beer each! You would have to eat a lot for it to be worth it and we much nicer meals out for the same or less. Breakfast was also over priced at c.£35 for two, we found it much cheaper to eat out.
The pool area was nice, towels are provided and there are plenty of lounges however it does not get the afternoon sun so is a bit chilly.
The lobby bar is nice, there is a happy hour and reasonably priced snacks like sandwiches.
The location is good if you want to be slightly away from the main centre, there is an MRT about a ten minute walk away and Robertson Quay is five with some great restaurants. You can walk to Chinatown as well.
The wifi was a little pricey, c.£8 for an hour.
Overall for the price we paid per night I would have expected a lot more in England, it may be a better experience if you are In an executive room. If you do stay eat all your meals out it will be better an cheaper by far. If we return to Singapore I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IM295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Furama_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Furama RiverFront, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Dear IM295,

Thank you for your feedback and we will definitely look into ways of improving. I am glad you enjoyed our Waterfall Lounge with its 20ft waterfall set amidst a tropical forest setting. For your travelling convenience, we do provide shuttle services hourly to Orchard Road and Chinatown as well as Outram Station and Shenton Way on weekday mornings.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,773 - 1,777 of 2,421 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel as the first part of our mini tour of Asia.

Great hotel, great location.

Breakfast was amazing, so much choice and very fresh.

Onsite restaurant was serving food til 3am - great for jet lagged travellers!

Well equipt executive rooms, shower only no bath and sink was not in the bathroom.

Only downside that cleaners forgot to leave us towels and took the used ones - only found out when I was in the shower!

Overall good hotel - would stay again

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMacklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Furama_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Furama RiverFront, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Hi AMacklin, thanks for the lovely review! Apologies on the towels! I have shared your concerns with Housekeeping so rest assured you will have towels in the future! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Bedroom was spacious and comfortable. Swimming pool delightful. Breakfast delicious. Only regret is that I was unable to stay longer. Excellent intriduction to Singapore. Looking forward to my next stay at the Furama.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Furama_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Furama RiverFront, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Dear Robert H,

Thank you for writing this review.
We are elated to hear that your stay with us was excellent.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012 via mobile

room had a smell of old hotel room that hasnt been aired for months. and the smell lingers on your clothes.
clean but furnishings and fittings feels tired though everything works and nothing broken nor torn. no free internet access in an almost S$300 room in these day and age?

glitzy macau style niteclub/karaoke right outside main entrance with groups of people hanging around outside at night (though they were all well dressed and at no time do i feel unsafe). cab driver described it as 'upmarket club with very pretty china GROs that turn up for work in expensive cabs'.

service by restaurant and function room staff superb! but projector no longer sharp and nothing they can do.

valet were helpful but could not point me to popular bakuteh restaurant just down the road which is highly recommended online, by cabdriver, and first thing that popped up on my blackberry map.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Furama_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Furama RiverFront, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Dear Kitsan,

I have read your review and comments regarding your recent stay with great concerns.

Firstly, I would like to apologize that the state of your room was not up to your expectations. Rest assured that we have highlighted this to our Housekeeping Team and they have followed up on the issue.

Our Front Office team and other associates are our first contact point with our guest. I have shared with them your feedback and we will make sure that they know as many places of interest around our property as possible.

I am glad you found the famous Bak Kuh Teh and look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We didn't pick this hotel, we booked the whole package through Globotour. Our flight from USA was terribly long and we finally arrived at the hotel at 6:00am. We thought the travel agency has already coordinated the early arrival issue with the hotel, but we thought wrong. However, we are the world travelers & we travel every where, so when we arrive early some times the hotels we've stayed at were very good about quick accommodation and great service welcoming us. It's not the case with this hotel. Dickson, the front desk was rather cold and told us that our room wouldn't be ready before 2 hrs at least. Tried to call the travel agent and they were at no help at all, so we left at the mercy of Mr. Dickson. Who said that the only available room he has was smoking with 2 single beds. I emphasized that I am an asthmatic patient and can't stay at smoking room. Not mentioning that was not the kind of room we booked through the agency. We asked him if we can take it for now until they get our room ready, but he said NO, once we checked in one room we have to stay in it.
After 30 mins of negotiation between my husband, the travel agent and the front desk. Dickson finally said that he'll get his cleaning crew clean the room & it will be ready in 1 hour. Of course, he left when he finishes his shift without telling us what will happen to us! We had to check after one hour with another front desk (Sophya) who said: "Oh yes, the room is clean, but we have to get the supervisor to have the final check & that will take about 15mins". So finally we got in the room after almost 2hrs from our arrivals and 33 plus hours of long traveling. The room was dingy and old. The bed was very hard and uncomfortable. The bathroom door and toilet base had a terrible re-touch fixing job & every time we run the water in the sink a terrible smell comes out of the plumbing pipe! When we finally checked out they claimed that we drank a beer from the mini bar & wanted to charge us $11.75 for it. We don't even drink alcohol, so we denied the charge. The whole hotel experience was terrible. We'll never stay at this hotel and will never recommend our friends & family to stay here. Granted it wasn't our choice to begin with.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2World_Travelers_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Furama_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Furama RiverFront, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Dear 2World_Travelers_USA,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We understand how tired you must have felt, after a long flight and sincerely apologize on the inconvenience experienced.

We highly recommend to our travel agents to pre-block guest’s rooms, if the flight is arriving early in the morning. As much as we want our guests to have their rooms ready at the earliest possible time, we are constrained by the limited number of rooms available for check-in early in the morning, as the check-in time is at 2pm.

Please allow me to extend my sincere apologies once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Furama City Centre
#295 of 317 in Singapore
2,611 reviews
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
Four Points by Sheraton Singapore, Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furama RiverFront? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furama RiverFront

Address: 405 Havelock Road, Singapore 169633, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: ₹ 7,415 - ₹ 12,423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Furama RiverFront 4*
Number of rooms: 615
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an elegant retreat from the urban rush at the Furama RiverFront. The exquisite hotel features well-appointed rooms with a full range of modern amenities overlooking either the Singapore skyline, lush greenery or the swimming pool. Guests can relax comfortably in a tranquil environment with the city's entertainment hub at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Ostrovok and HotelQuickly so you can book your Furama RiverFront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furama Riverfront Hotel Singapore
Furama Riverfront Singapore
Furama Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing