We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hostel ever, and nothing more i can say !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wink Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wink Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best hostel ever, and nothing more i can say !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Staying here for my 3d/2n visit to Singapore. The hostel is just a stone's throw away from Chinatown MRT, making it easy for me to get around the city. Receptionist upon my check-in was very nice, friendly, helpful and informative. Room was as good as shown in the website, not so spacious yet comfort. Bfast was not in full selection, but bread, butter, jam and coffee, cerial were more than enough for me. They provided seperated toilet and shower rooms and of course they were cleaned everytime i stepped in. i very much enjoyed hot shower after a long day of exploring the city. For the common area, they also provided laptops with internet access, i used them twice, but they performed very slow. Wi-Fi in the area was very fast, it was broken once during my stay but was promptly fixed. The only downside was the locker, which individually controlled by guest's keycard ( not like other hostels, you don't need to buy your own lock ), it beeps loudly when in use. Like an alarm clock, i woke up in the morning everytime my fellow backpackers open their lockers. As i am in hospitality business too, i love this system, but if they could just make it noiseless, or at least less noise, it would be super perfect. All in all, i would strongly reccommend Wink Hostel to all you guys who seek a place for your visit to S'pore, to get more bang to your dollars, this place is safe and clean. Without thinking twice, i definitely come back !!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nondanig N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cb h, Owner at Wink Hostel, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Hi,
Sorry to hear of your inconveniences .... but great (relieved) to read your endorsements and kind remarks!

No excuses on the electronic lockers - the beeping is a design flaw in some software that is now surfacing for a very small handful of lockers. Nevertheless, we have taken the hard decision to change all the locker readers and expect installation in 1-2 weeks.

Not sure I understand why our computers are slow - they use the same WIFI which you referenced had good speed. We did do a series of maintenance and upgrades last week - perhaps your experience coincided with these sessions? We will re-look at the computers after your kind feedback.

Please come back and check on the items above to keep us on our toes! Again thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    228
    39
    7
    1
See reviews for
29
91
345
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

I love the shophouse conversions in Chinatown but as I was only in town overnight between flights, I couldn't justify spending the money on The Scarlet or her peers. And even though it's been many years since I've backpacked, Wink Hostel looked like it might be worth a try.
The location is perfect for accessing the brilliant MRT network however I had luggage so opted for a shuttle from the airport for only S$9. Just a note here, if you plan to return to the airport the same way, the lovely reception staff will make you a reservation but their preferred operator requires 48 hours notice. The people I'd used from Changi ask you to ring 2 hours before you want them but there are no guarantees they will have a driver.
I had booked myself an upper pod in the all female dorm which, lucky for me, was only partly full and I was able to swap to a lower pod, sacrficing a bit of privacy for a lot more convenience. I just found it was a bit too awkward to get up and all the way to the head of the bed to access the light switch because even though the lights come on when you enter with your keycard, they turn off automatically within a couple of minutes.
The a/c in the dorm worked beautifully (none in the common areas) but apparantly it worked too well for one of my roomies who switched it off when she came to bed and the fluffy duvet quicly became redundant!
The place itself is like a tardis with, I think over 70 beds in total. It seems a popular choice for locals as well as foreigners as there appeared a number of families and school aged kids staying.
Self service breakfast is included but carbo-phobics need not apply!
So, has Wink converted me to hostelling again? I don't think so but I would definitely stay here again between flights.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss4K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cb h, Owner at Wink Hostel, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Hi - We're grateful you chose Wink to re-visit backpacking! Glad it did not disappoint - but it sounds like you're not 100% converted back yet. We'd watch out for your next visit, and try harder to convince you we're not just for in-between flights, and hostelling (our style) is the way to go.... Many thanks for taking time to write.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

this was a great choice in expensive Singapore, location is 2 mins from China town MRT (and 2 mins to bus stop for golden mile, where we got bus to KL)

Pod beds v comfy, we had top double pod, which was private and quiet, with key card for door and locker which was big enough for both our backpacks!

Free wifi and breakfast of toast, jam/peanut butter, cereal, juice and tea/coffee appreciated.

Bathrooms clean and staff friendly, would def recommend! hope it stays this way :)

Room Tip: top pods good for privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woopwoop2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cb h, Owner at Wink Hostel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Hi - Thanks for your succinct words - they about sum up what we try to do! Yes, we'd want to keep up and diligently tweak the place as suggestions like yours and others helpfully come in. Great we had the chance to host you. Come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Wink Hostel provides excellent value for money... very friendly staff and atmosphere within a clean and secure building. Location is handy with the nearest MRT station being a 2 minute walk away and the vibrant Chinatown area on your doorstep. The rooms have comfortable 'pod' beds and air-conditioning which is much appreciated in a city as humid as Singapore. Key card lockers are provided for all guests and a baggage storage, free wi-fi also... basically it's well worth spending a little extra cash on this hostel!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cb h, Owner at Wink Hostel, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Hi Rob,
Thanks for making Wink your first stop in the tropics! Trust you are over the humidity (and sweaty T-shirts jokes) and fully immersed in the SE Asia sights now. Appreciate your comments and thoughts on Wink. Look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

I've never experienced such pods before, they are none in hostels in Europe or in Americas. It's really great, you really feel some privacy, you're not disturbed by the other in the room. There is a living room with a XBox, Dvd player ; a big kitchen...
Also, people working there are really great, smiling, helpful. You'll love them !!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FredericGermain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cb h, Owner at Wink Hostel, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Hey - Kind of you to share your thoughts, and thanks for your generous comments! Safe travels and come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Lloyd's Inn
#48 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#61 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,198 reviews
Hotel YAN
#49 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#119 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#10 of 223 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Kampong Glam
The Pod - Boutique Capsule Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wink Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wink Hostel

Property: Wink Hostel
Address: 8A Mosque Street, Singapore 059488, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 223 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,027 - ₹ 13,734
Hotel Class:2 star — Wink Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a historic shophouse that's nestled in the cultural heart of Singapore, Wink is a premium Pod hostel that offers travellers private sleeping sanctums that are inviting and decked in plush designer finishing. Want to indulge in a little luxury while on a budget? Looking to meet new friends while mixing it up with fellow travellers in a friendly environment? Then Wink is perfect for you! Our secure tap card system grants access to spacious dorms that are air-conditioned, fully carpeted and furnished with cushy couches, perfect for kicking back and just chilling with pals. Ladies dormitories are available and come complete with vanity counters. All dorms have Wi-Fi access. You will find our custom pods come in unique designs with plentiful headroom and side-allowances, presenting you with a comfortable and individualised space that caters to your needs. Every pod is fitted with ambient backlight, sound resistant walls, a cushy backrest, reading LED light, power socket and smartcard access locker located right at the foot. A 6 inch orthopaedic mattress draped in lush soft linen and accompanied by a sumptuous duvet rounds out the experience. Breakfast is served daily in our guest kitchenette that comes fully equipped with cooking hob, microwave oven, grill and refrigerator. Other facilities include showers & toilets, a relaxing café lounge, internet stations, laundry & ironing and 24 hour reception. Centrally located in bustling Chinatown, Wink is mere minutes away from numerous must-see heritage and cultural attractions. Nearby Clarke Quay and the bohemian Club Street also serves up an exciting array of nightlife and dining destinations. With Chinatown's Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) station and several bus-stops a short walk away, you will find Wink the perfect location from which to start exploring Singapore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ostrovok, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Wink Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wink Hotel Singapore
Wink Hostel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing