We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So so experience (3D2N during weekend)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown
Ranked #228 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
KL
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“So so experience (3D2N during weekend)”
Reviewed 9 February 2012

I was here last weekend for a 3D2N stay with my mum. We checked in on Saturday afternoon, process was quite fast but like what some reviews stated do not feel welcome by the receptionist (a man), no eye contact and no smile. It's not actually a big deal, the problem is, while we are going up to 3rd floor, the minute we stepped out from the lift we heard noise and saw rubbish, ladder, paint brush in front of the lift door. It was a Saturday plus The receptionist did not even bother to inform us during check in.

Hotel is not elder-friendly, lift spoiled on Sunday morning and my mother needs to go down by the staircase from 3rd floor. The lift wasn't working until we came back from lunch. An aunty with wheelchair have to wait at the small lobby in front of the lift...

Breakfast is simple, hard boiled egg, coffee, toast with strawberry jam and butter, no other choices.

There is a yellow warning sign with wet floor and a wet cloth in front of the entrance everyday, Nobody seems to bother to fix it. It is dangerous and not presentable for a boutique hotel.

Sleep quallity- bed is okie but pillows are too soft.
Location- good location if you like Chinatown, short walking distant to Chinatown MRT.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loisloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    129
    102
    37
    36
See reviews for
65
76
88
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I stayed in Santa Grand Hotel Chinatown for 4 nights, and had booked a single standard room.

Pros:
1. Best location to stay in Singapore (Chinatown) and also just 5 min walk to MRT
2. Very Friendly Staff
3. Decent Breakfast (don't expect a full fledged US breakfast)
4. Rooms' design were more of a boutique style, its different and looks much better. Even the dining area for the breakfast was good.
5. Free internet access and also if you dont have a laptop, you can use the 2 computers in the dining area to browse

Cons:
1. Rooms are a bit small for people who are tall and not much space inside the room and also there's no wardrobe to keep your clothes
2. There's no common restroom in the hotel. if you checkout at 12.00 pm on your last day and come back to get your luggage and want to change your clothes, there's no restroom.

I would definitely stay in this hotel when i visit Singapore the next time. And also would recommend to other travelers.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjkaranth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I visited the Santa Grand Hotel in the run up to Chinese New Year. My room overlooked the street below and all the life of crowds, shops and stalls. It was a great location, close to the MRT station and lots of eating options. I would defintely stay here again.

The entrance to the hotel is on Temple Street. It occupies the top floor of a 3 storey building. High speed wifi is included, as is breakfast, although this was very simple - toast and hot drinks. I found the staff very welcoming and friendly. The room was clear, very comfortable bed, although the decor won't be to everyone's taste, and is a little tired in parts.

Room Tip: There are rooms which face outward to the street and some inward to the centre of the building. I gu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philiip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copenhagen
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

In this hotel we stayed 4 people one night, 2 children age 5 and 7 and 2 adults. Very funny room, small but comphy, purple velvet cover on all furnifures and gold painting on the chairs. Actually i felt like i was in a Salvadore Dali universe. Very different from any other place i ever been. I think expensive for this room even though it was incl. Breakfeast: 250 USD, I know Singapore is expensive to stay in, but no svimmingpool and poor breakfeast. But positive: in the middle of fantastic china town and just next to the underground station and Nice staff.

Room Tip: Family room is the biggest
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kuglen04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

I stayed at Santa Grand Chinatown earlier this year, and considering that hotel prices in Singapore are so high, I decided to once again stay at this hotel during my visit to this lovely city.

The room was still clean and quiet, although the rates had increased a bit since my previous stay. A cool thing that was new this time around was the two iPads in the breakfast area, where you could surf the internet. I didn't use them that much, since I brought my own laptop and enjoyed the complimentary wifi in the guest room.

What I didn't like this time was the attitude of the receptionists. They just didn't seem to enjoy their job, and it was like they took it out on the hotel guests by overlooking them, avoiding eye contact and generally being surly.

What can I say? It's still an okay hotel, although I didn't feel as welcome this time around...

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Flight17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Chinatown
The Inn at Temple Street
The Inn at Temple Street
#174 of 312 in Singapore
347 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
#260 of 312 in Singapore
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Hotel Mono
Hotel Mono
#137 of 312 in Singapore
47 reviews
Chinatown
Park 22 Hotel
Park 22 Hotel
#273 of 312 in Singapore
192 reviews
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#85 of 312 in Singapore
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown

Property: Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown
Address: 20 Trengganu Street Jinshan Hotel, Singapore 058479, Singapore (Formerly Santa Grand Hotel Chinatown)
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,449 - ₹ 9,561
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Grand Hotel Chinatown is located in the highly dynamic Chinatown precinct. Fully intertwined with the rich history and industriousness of Singapore's early pioneers, this location brings forth the sights, sounds, tastes, smells and customs of the Chinese community. Blended into the history and culture of Chinatown will be the tourism and sightseeing benefits that make modern day Chinatown a must visit. Featuring relaxed and open "Hacienda Personality" of the Spanish countryside and in a location that immerses guests in a new experience, Santa Grand Hotel Chinatown is pitched to appeal to the western individual traveler who wants to experience all that Singapore has to offer - from the kampong sweetness and famous Chicken Rice to the exotic local delights Kway Chup noodles, Chilli Crab, Roti Prata and many more. Adding diversity are the nearby historic Sri Mariamman Indian Temples and newly opened Buddha Tooth Relic Temple and Museum along with the many Chinese Medical Halls and shops that pepper Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing