We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad at all”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of River City Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
River City Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not bad at all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

I have stayed many times in YMCA on Orchad Road but as they have raised their rates I searched for some alternatives. Seemed that hostel was only option (I had to give up from pool but my budget set the limits). So I choose no.1 based on others reviews. And I'm not disappointed.
Location - good enough. From airport it took 1,5h with metro to get there. It was on quiet street and it took me some time to find it as there was scaffholdings on the buildings.
Actually there is another high rated hostel also on lower floor.
Room - I always try to choose smaller room and hope that there are not people who have to get up early and start crackle with their things. So I was in 6 bed dorm and was satisfied. There was no windows but it was not needed anyway. There was fan and AC so it's possible to choose which one to use.
I also checked 23 bed dorm... it was big. Can't imagine how it's possible to sleep there :)
Facilities - there was 2 or 3 toilet rooms and showers what were cleaned regularly. Only downside is that during peak times there was a queue.
Breakfast - simple as it is in hostels. There was 1 banana per person and roasted bread with some kind of butter and Nutella.
What to do - there is 7eleven right across the street (no beer after 10pm).
For eating there is shopping centre appr 300 metres away - Starbaucks, Burger King (or was it McDonalds) and whole ground floor of local restaurants.

All in all - definitely stay another time if I can book smaller room.

Room Tip: It's not a secret that in hostels smaller rooms tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dante2398701924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    204
    30
    11
    9
See reviews for
36
66
347
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

This is my second trip to Singapore but first timer when it comes to travel solo and mix dorm. I'm not really sure what to expect when I arrive but all went quite well. I don't have to wait too long before being shown around the place and finally to my bed. Wow, it sure remind me of the good old boarding-school days. The place is compact but clean and I particularly love the rain shower. My first night decidedly no-sleep (could be the first time thing) but second night I slept like the dead (could be because of all the long walks during the day). The location is an easy reach to the MRT (my main transportation) and thank you for lending me the umbrella! Singapore sure can turn sunshine to rain in a minute. All in all, I've a good stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rynemercury23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

i stay almost 2 weeks in singapore, i try 4 hostels in those area, i can say that River City Inn is the best i had ever stay.

The service of them is excellent, everyone of the staff are super friendly and helpful, their warm
smile make feel like home.

The location is very near MRT station, and you can find something to eat easily at mid night. all the bed room and living room is very clean and tidy.

I can say that every time if i need to stay in singapore, River City Inn is my first choice. thank you so much~

Room Tip: early booking for reversion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jason862000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzhou, China
Level Contributor
94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Singapore is NOT a cheap place to visit but this inn is so worth your money! It is clean and centrally located. The beds and comfortable and the people are nice. We were travelling with small kids which wasn't a problem at all (thank you for the flexibility): we all slept great! I warmly recommend the River City Inn to all travellers!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusannaSofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Perfect place to stay whilst staying in Singapore. Extremely clean, and very chilled out place. Really nice and quite to escape the hustle and bussle of the city and relax especially after a long flight. I was in the 26 bed dorm but was pleasantly surprised, best sleep I had on my whole trip, little curtains around the bed for privacy, lockable lockers provided, bed made everyday which was lovely. Breakfast pretty good and everything so clean. Def best place to stay in Singapore. Also right next to MRT station.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bookie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#45 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,288 reviews
Furama City Centre
#70 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,876 reviews
PARKROYAL on Pickering
#19 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,653 reviews
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River City Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River City Inn

Property: River City Inn
Address: 33C Hongkong Street, Singapore 059672, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 223 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,122 - ₹ 7,430
Hotel Class:2 star — River City Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River City Inn is a family-owned and operated hostel. As travellers ourselves, we know that affordability should never compromise hospitality. Everything you need to provide a comfortable stay are available: Free Wi-Fi, Clean Sheets, Good Breakfast, Air-Conditioning, and more!But at River City Inn, we aim to offer something more. After you have explored the winding streets of Singapore, experienced the different cultures, delighted your taste buds and worn your shoes under the sweltering heat, we want to welcome you back. We want to offer you a place to unwind, write your journal, talk to other travelers and share stories. We aim not only to provide a bed for the night, but a space for the exchange of ideas, inspirations, personal reflections and growth. Because that is what traveling is about.Terms & Conditions:• All rates are inclusive of taxes• Check in time: 2pm to 11pm. Please note that we DO NOT accept check-in after 11pm. Please respect our check in time after 2pm as we have to adhere to our cleaning schedule (12pm to 2pm) to upkeep the cleanliness of the hostel. Our reception operates from 7am to 11pm.• Check out time: 12pm• If you have an early flight, you may check in early(after 7am on the check in date)and use our facilities or you can leave your bags with us whilst you head out to explore the city.• Likewise, if you have a late flight or bus to catch on the day of your checkout, you may leave your bags with us at no additional cost.• To keep our prices low, we accept cash only for payment.• To upkeep the environment of a backpackers hostel, we do not accommodate children below the age of 5. Children aged between 5 and 11 years can be accommodated in private rooms only, and not in dormitories. Children aged 12 and over can be accommodated either in private rooms or in the dormitories.• Due to our limited capacity at our Inn, we do not accept Singaporeans/returning locals/PR/Foreigners holding work permits. Please contact us before booking whenever in doubt.• Please note that we are located on the 4th floor of a heritage shophouse without a lift.• To upkeep the cleanliness of the hostel, no footwear is allowed indoors (except in the toilets). Guest may wear socks if they are not comfortable barefooted.• We do not accept big groups above 8pax. Please contact us for clarification.•Please note that not all our rooms or dorms have windows. If you need to stay in a room with windows, please check with us before booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your River City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River City Hotel Singapore
River City Inn Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing