We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“practical and convenient” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fragrance Hotel - Bugis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fragrance Hotel - Bugis
Ranked #153 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
baguio
Level Contributor
128 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“practical and convenient”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

we were arriving late at night in singapore and leaving the next day. we also needed to be around the bugis area. fragrance bugis was the practical choice for us-- price-wise, location-wise, and convenience-wise.

we booked the triple room through their website. check-in took less than 5 minutes, which was a boon since we were tired. the staff were efficient and helpful.

although we arrived past 10 pm, there was a restaurant still open 2 or 3 doors from the hotel. a 7-11 outlet was just beside fragrance-bugis. softdrinks in can for s$1 were available at a dispensing machine on the street a minute away.

our room was simple but elegant, very clean, small but slightly more spacious than the rooms we've stayed in at fragrance emerald or fragrance selegie. it was definitely bigger than the room at explorer's inn in brisbane where we stayed the night before. there was cable tv, miniref, tea making facilities, free mineral water, closets, a vanity table with large mirror. the aircon worked fine. towels and toiletries were provided. the water pressure from the shower was steady, but the hot water was not sufficient. the water turned cold after several minutes.

buffet breakfast was filling, but there were not many choices.

train fare from the airport to bugis junction cost s$6 for 3 of us. taxi fare to the airport cost s$14, travel time less than 20 minutes.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angeladelmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    169
    125
    34
    29
See reviews for
124
105
35
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

I was in two minds whether to write a review for this hotel or not.

When you book a hotel under 'The Fragrance' brand you already know it is budget and expect the service and facilities accordingly.

However on this occasion I was dissapointed. The only redeming feature about this hotel is its location.

Knowing beforehand about this hotel having so few rooms with a window, I contacted the Reservations office and asked for one to be reserved. Despite having a print out of the email confirmation confirming that one had been reserved, they had none left - the explanation being that the Reservations Office had not passed the email on. Whether this is true or not I don't know.

I have stayed in windowless rooms before but try to avoid it as it resembles being in a tomb. Even though I'm only really using the room for sleeping, I still don't really like it.

The room whilst clean was cramped, the hot water lasted about a minute before it went cold. The wifi was almost useless and the bed gave me back ache.

The staff whilst pleasant weren't really interested in anything. The free breakfast was okay but I was already bored after the third day.

I would not stay here again and if you want a budget hotel under the same brand or price range opt for Fragrance Imperial, one MRT stop away or a 10 minute bus ride.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Wonosobo, Indonesia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

We stayed there for 3 nites.

Location : very convenient if you are going to Suntec City ( 7 minutes walking ) , Bugis Village ( 7 minutes ) , Bugis Junction ( 5 minutes ) .

Little india and mustafa centre is 20 minutes walking.
Very near with the National Library and Inter - continental Hotel.
This hotel is next to 81 Bugis Hotel.

MRT : Bugis MRT Station, is about 10 minutes walking, choose C Exit.

Food : very poor, they give breakfast coupons, make sure you keep them , they will not give another ones , once you lost the coupons.
Variety of food were very poor, they served rice with side dish, such as fried noodles or meehoon, steam eggs in pan, sausages, mixed vegetables, and white bread only.
Once you give the meal coupon to the lady, she will give you the spoon and fork.


The room is small of course, suits with the budget, they provide LCD TV.

Do not expect the white bedsheets, close your eyes if you have some black dots on your pillow or an old brown blanket with the cigarette holes, since we experienced it and we do not want to bother.

Bathroom : Terrible.
It was a wet bathroom and very small, they put the shower without curtain.

Staff: very helpfull and friendly

Internet connection : available at the lobby and chargeable, pay SGD 1 for 15 minutes usage.
no printer provided.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarineDylant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

On a tight budget, this is a good place to stay. The room is really small, won't be any good for people with lots of luggage. The bathroom is in ok size, would be nice if there is shower curtain so the water won't be everywhere after someone have a shower. There's no fridge in the room, but there's a kettle and a good size TV.
In the first room they gave us, the A/C was really noisy, so they moved us to another room. The AC in this room works fine but the bathroom was mouldy and had lots of tiny flies. We told them about the problems, they sent staffs to check and said it was fine to stay. We were a bit tired after 14hrs flying so it was ok to stay.
Don't expect any thing good from their buffet breakfast. These were on offer: fried rice or noodle, fried spring roll, boiled (?) sausages and bread with jam. The coffee and tea were yuck. Most of the people, including us, walked out of the restaurant after 5mins. Not too sure about quality of the (paid) lunch or dinner. We didn't try.
Internet is a rip off. $5 per 2 hours and once you start using, the clock will start ticking; stop using? it will continue counting until the time is passed. They offered free wifi for booking at their website, not over 3rd party.
The staffs were very friendly and helpful though.
This hotel is close to Bugis and Esplanade MRT station and the bus stops are near by.
So stay if you need a bed to sleep, don't if you prefer to pamper yourself a little bit.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alana_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paranaque, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

Just wanted to share my top of mind about Fragrance Hotel Bugis. If you are a type of person who needs only a place to sleep at night when visiting Singapore then this hotel may be for you. I find the rooms clean although only a handful of rooms have a window because of the structure of the building (sandwhiched between two buildings). Rooms in front will give you a view of middle street and adjacent properties, rooms at the back will give you a view of buildings at the back of the hotel. You may want to find out from the hotel if they can assign you a room with a window before finalizing your reservation -- if it is important to you. The two rooms that has windows that were assigned to us only has a bed good for two persons.

Location is convenient, if you need something a 7-Eleven convenience store can be located at the ground floor of the building. It is quite near to the Bugis area (~5 minutes walk) where you can hop to the MRT to go to other parts of Singapore or to do shopping at Bugis Market or Bugis Junction.

Breakfast is complimentary, you will be given vouchers when you check-in. You have a choice of sausage, toast, asian noodles, steamed egg in the buffet line. If you are not a fan of these, I would recommend that you head to Bugis Junction where there is a food court on your way to the MRT to have other local choices such as Kaya Toast and Nasi Lemak.

For those whose hands are tied to the internet, you must note that internet is not complimentary and you must purchase hours in order to access the internet.

For groups of 5-7 heading to the Airport, a van is available to you at 45 SGD.

Room Tip: Ask for a window room before you book, rooms at the front will give you a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chestercoronel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel 81-Bugis
#236 of 309 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Fragrance Hotel - Balestier
#159 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
#149 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Core
Marrison Hotel
Marrison Hotel
#262 of 309 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Crystal
Fragrance Hotel - Crystal
#174 of 309 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Joo Chiat
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
#132 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fragrance Hotel - Bugis? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fragrance Hotel - Bugis

Property: Fragrance Hotel - Bugis
Address: 33 Middle Road Fragrance Hotel - Bugis, Singapore 188942, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,432 - ₹ 7,773
Hotel Class:2 star — Fragrance Hotel - Bugis 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Fragrance Hotel - Bugis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fragrance Hotel - Bugis Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing