We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Fort Canning
Nearby Hotels
Orchard Hotel Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$ 170
US$ 127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$ 163
US$ 132
PARKROYALhotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 147/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mandarin Orchard Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$ 249
US$ 219
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore(Singapore)
US$ 374
US$ 252
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Amara Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$ 189
US$ 149
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 178
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$ 289
US$ 214
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
One Farrer Hotel(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$ 242
US$ 203
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Singapore At Zhongshan Park(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$ 155
US$ 146
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 708
US$ 510
MarinaBaySands
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,469)
Filter reviews
1,469 results
Traveller rating
812
420
136
50
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
812
420
136
50
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsglass housebattle boxcolonial buildingorchard roadpremium roombustling cityhigh technespresso machinedhoby ghaut mrtbeautiful hotelcomplimentary drinksboutique hotelevening drinksplaza singapuraclarke quayhotel guestscity view
Filter
Updating list...
1,200 - 1,205 of 1,469 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Just had 2 nights there for a conference held in the Ballroom and I will definitely go back. This place is beautiful. They have done a spectacular job archtecturally, the rooms and function spaces are different and special. New hotels have pokey little rooms no matter what you pay for them but these are high ceilinged, generously proportioned and quite unique in their arrangement of space. I loved the bathrooms! If you like architecture try this place. I read some of the negative reviews (because of course we all do!) and I wouldn't say they were totally wrong, there is always room to improve, but none of them impacted my overall good experience of HFC. Yes, the door handle in room 2009 drooped too but the thing is it didn't matter (the doors open by pushing anyway), and yes, the taxi drivers do sometimes find it hard to locate but that's not the hotel's fault. I went to several locations in Singapore that the drivers found hard to locate. I blame the taxi company, not the hotel for that. It's not a huge hotel so maybe not that many people have taxi'd up there and it is nicely secluded, but that's a PLUS which I loved. Instead of approaching off a traffic-filled street you rise gently up a wooded hill and arrive in a peaceful oasis overlooking all those other noisy hotels. But don't think it's isolated, it isn't. You can easily walk down the steps and across to Orcahrd Road in no time and taxis always arrived within minutes of being called, no different from other Singapore hotels in that sense.

I found the service happy and smiling, check in and out was smooth and friendly, front door was double-manned much of the time to welcome guests and call cabs, the conference seemed to run VERY smoothly to the outside observers' eye and all-in-all I couldn't rcommend this hotel more highly. It's DIFFERENT, it's BEAUTIFUL, and I don't care about that door handle, it had no impact on my stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John-HKSAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

After three weeks holiday in Europe, time to head home to Australia and face reality again (frowny face), so why not have a stop over in Singapore and enjoy the humidity before heading into Australian winter. Although not a frequent visitor to Singapore, we have stayed before in Orchard Road (Hilton) and Clark Quay (somewhere equally as large hotel but can't remember its name). When at Clark Quay really enjoyed walking around Fort Canning. Didn't realise there was a hotel there until looking for accom this time. Read all about it and the proximity yet staying in parkland sounding interesting. So glad we booked and stayed there three nights. Loved the gentrification of all buildings and the conversion from barracks into lovely sized rooms with exceptional bathrooms meant a really enjoyable stay. Two pools were delightful (one a lap pool) and there was a gym (but I didn't check that out as the parklands were there to enjoy). Walkable distance to Chinatown (which I love) and easy walking to the MRT station (although via a carpark) but easy all the same. But the lovely touch to this hotel, was complimentary drinks and canapes around 5-7pm. Delightful. This hotel also had a buffet breakfast included, which was quite rare when I was looking for accommodation. Would definately stay there again and have recommended it already to others.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank manfern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Nice comfortable hotel on the edge of fort canning park.perfect retreat from the busy city centre. High tech rooms, nice amenities.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Jens2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Don't get me wrong, this is a very good hotel. The rooms are super comfortable and have everything you might need. Its a high-tech ambience, with touch controls for the mood-lighting, curtains, TV, Internet, air-con, etc. I would definitely ask for one of the rooms overlooking the back of the hotel - there can be festivals and events held in the Park opposite which can make it a bit noisy through to midnight. But, being Singapore, its all well controlled and managed so it doesn't cause untoward disturbance.
Breakfast is taken in the restaurant and is buffet style - it can feel busy and crowded - so not always somewhere for a relaxing start to the day. We also eat an evening meal there one night. All OK but the menu is perhaps a bit limited and nothing very special - Singapore has so much more to offer. There is also a Bar and an Italian restaurant in the main hotel building which looks very classy.
We were not impressed with the pool - space for sitting and relaxing was limited and there were very few places to actually sit - only a handful of sun-loungers. Also it was not that pleasant a view from the terrace.
Generally, I felt a bit disappointed, mainly because as a boutique hotel Fort Canning seems to lack character. There are so many really excellent hotels in Singapore to choose from, though I'm sure the Fort Canning will secure its own regular set of followers. For us, however, we shall try somewhere different next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room overlooking the park at the rear of the hotel (the other side to the main entrance).
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HampshireKenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

I have stayed in over 10 luxury hotels in Singapore - but this one is my favorite. I stayed here for 2 weeks. The rooms are spacious, the bathrooms are beautiful - the bathtub is huge and the view is incredible. The hotel is within the fort canning park and if you are lucky, you can get a room facing the park (as opposed to facing the YWCA). The working table is comfortably large to accomodate everything and the lounge chair in the room is not just a piece of furniture to adorn the room.
The staff is also very friendly. The Italian restuarant serves some deliccccshhh dishes and the best part is that they can cook and season it as per your request.
The only thing that I can hold against the hotel is the taxi service. Since the hotel is not in the hub-a-bub (which is exactly what I like about the hotel), it can take several minutes for a taxi to show up at the door step to take you to work - so plan your morning accordingly.
The evening walks are a pleasure, as you the park is right outside and the swimming pool is not overcrowded.
It's just about a 5 min walk, through the park to the orchard road or a 10 min walk to the clarke quay, (again through the park). You just have to know the park routes well enough, I guess.
Like I said, this is my fav hotel in Singapore. If I have to pay from my own pocket to go to Singapore, I would choose this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rasna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews