We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect week-end escape”
Review of Hotel Fort Canning

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Fort Canning
Ranked #38 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Perfect week-end escape”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Beautiful hotel located in the middle of Fort Canning park, at the heart of Singapore. The rooms are spacious and very elegant, and offer all the comfort sought by couples for a week-end escape. The breakfast buffet is average but do not miss the food served by Gattopardo (also available for dining in).

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eevoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    353
    108
    43
    45
See reviews for
133
575
65
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Just had 2 nights there for a conference held in the Ballroom and I will definitely go back. This place is beautiful. They have done a spectacular job archtecturally, the rooms and function spaces are different and special. New hotels have pokey little rooms no matter what you pay for them but these are high ceilinged, generously proportioned and quite unique in their arrangement of space. I loved the bathrooms! If you like architecture try this place. I read some of the negative reviews (because of course we all do!) and I wouldn't say they were totally wrong, there is always room to improve, but none of them impacted my overall good experience of HFC. Yes, the door handle in room 2009 drooped too but the thing is it didn't matter (the doors open by pushing anyway), and yes, the taxi drivers do sometimes find it hard to locate but that's not the hotel's fault. I went to several locations in Singapore that the drivers found hard to locate. I blame the taxi company, not the hotel for that. It's not a huge hotel so maybe not that many people have taxi'd up there and it is nicely secluded, but that's a PLUS which I loved. Instead of approaching off a traffic-filled street you rise gently up a wooded hill and arrive in a peaceful oasis overlooking all those other noisy hotels. But don't think it's isolated, it isn't. You can easily walk down the steps and across to Orcahrd Road in no time and taxis always arrived within minutes of being called, no different from other Singapore hotels in that sense.

I found the service happy and smiling, check in and out was smooth and friendly, front door was double-manned much of the time to welcome guests and call cabs, the conference seemed to run VERY smoothly to the outside observers' eye and all-in-all I couldn't rcommend this hotel more highly. It's DIFFERENT, it's BEAUTIFUL, and I don't care about that door handle, it had no impact on my stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John-HKSAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

After three weeks holiday in Europe, time to head home to Australia and face reality again (frowny face), so why not have a stop over in Singapore and enjoy the humidity before heading into Australian winter. Although not a frequent visitor to Singapore, we have stayed before in Orchard Road (Hilton) and Clark Quay (somewhere equally as large hotel but can't remember its name). When at Clark Quay really enjoyed walking around Fort Canning. Didn't realise there was a hotel there until looking for accom this time. Read all about it and the proximity yet staying in parkland sounding interesting. So glad we booked and stayed there three nights. Loved the gentrification of all buildings and the conversion from barracks into lovely sized rooms with exceptional bathrooms meant a really enjoyable stay. Two pools were delightful (one a lap pool) and there was a gym (but I didn't check that out as the parklands were there to enjoy). Walkable distance to Chinatown (which I love) and easy walking to the MRT station (although via a carpark) but easy all the same. But the lovely touch to this hotel, was complimentary drinks and canapes around 5-7pm. Delightful. This hotel also had a buffet breakfast included, which was quite rare when I was looking for accommodation. Would definately stay there again and have recommended it already to others.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank manfern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Nice comfortable hotel on the edge of fort canning park.perfect retreat from the busy city centre. High tech rooms, nice amenities.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Jens2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Don't get me wrong, this is a very good hotel. The rooms are super comfortable and have everything you might need. Its a high-tech ambience, with touch controls for the mood-lighting, curtains, TV, Internet, air-con, etc. I would definitely ask for one of the rooms overlooking the back of the hotel - there can be festivals and events held in the Park opposite which can make it a bit noisy through to midnight. But, being Singapore, its all well controlled and managed so it doesn't cause untoward disturbance.
Breakfast is taken in the restaurant and is buffet style - it can feel busy and crowded - so not always somewhere for a relaxing start to the day. We also eat an evening meal there one night. All OK but the menu is perhaps a bit limited and nothing very special - Singapore has so much more to offer. There is also a Bar and an Italian restaurant in the main hotel building which looks very classy.
We were not impressed with the pool - space for sitting and relaxing was limited and there were very few places to actually sit - only a handful of sun-loungers. Also it was not that pleasant a view from the terrace.
Generally, I felt a bit disappointed, mainly because as a boutique hotel Fort Canning seems to lack character. There are so many really excellent hotels in Singapore to choose from, though I'm sure the Fort Canning will secure its own regular set of followers. For us, however, we shall try somewhere different next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room overlooking the park at the rear of the hotel (the other side to the main entra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HampshireKenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
1.1 km away
Naumi Hotel
Naumi Hotel
#18 of 312 in Singapore
2,164 reviews
0.5 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality
1.0 km away
Fairmont Singapore
Fairmont Singapore
#16 of 312 in Singapore
5,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
InterContinental Singapore
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 312 in Singapore
973 reviews
1.8 km away
SO Sofitel Singapore
SO Sofitel Singapore
#31 of 312 in Singapore
1,552 reviews
1.1 km away
PARKROYAL on Pickering
PARKROYAL on Pickering
#19 of 312 in Singapore
2,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fort Canning? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fort Canning

Property: Hotel Fort Canning
Address: 11 Canning Walk Hotel Fort Caning, Singapore 178881, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#31 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#36 Business Hotel in Singapore
#38 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,606 - ₹ 17,131
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Fort Canning 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the lush greenery of a historical park, the heritage Hotel Fort Canning offers a discreet sanctuary of calm in the vibrant city and an epitome of style and modern comfort in each of its 86 guestrooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hotel Fort Canning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Canning Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing