We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SUPERB” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Fort Canning

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Fort Canning
Ranked #42 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
107 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“SUPERB”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

This building has been beautifully restored into a Hotel and retains many of the colonial characteristics.

The staff were very freindly and helpful all through our stay and we had confidence that they were always at hand if we had any problems.

We arrived early and they were fabulous in getting us a room after a short wait. We relaxed at the pool for a couple of hours and were quite happy there, even in the rain. The poolside furniture is of a high quality and you couldn't ask for a better setting. It is the best pool we have seen in Singapore.

Our room was delightful. The original balcony had been enclosed and remodelled into the bathroom, very quirky but it works well. The room was spacious and the height of the walls are magnificant. The bed was extra comfortable and the room as a whole must have been planned by a very good designer. The coffee machine was a bonus.

We ordered room service one night and it came to us in a Tiffany set, it was a treat but not as good as the food that can be had in a Hawker Centre.

The complimentary early evening drinks were enjoyable and although the lounge area is rather small, everyone would spread out to the adjacent outdoor area making it a very pleasant place to be. The snacks were not spectacular as they had very little available. As they only serve wine to the guests they would be far better to just concentrate on providing a wider range of cheeses with crackers. Another suggestion would be to have a small snack menu for guests to order from.

We were concerned about the location but found this to be no problem at all once we found the easy route in and out, there was very little climbing. There are two seperate lifts, one that serves the basement floors and hence the car park and another on the other side that takes you to your room. Once we got to the ground floor we would walk across to the car park lifts and take this to the car park and walk through the nearby car park mall, take the lifts there and the train station was just across the road.

The location of the Hotel is great and you feel the atmosphere of the park, we spent most of the day exploring Canning Park, it was very enjoyable and a great way to start our vacation.

A previous reviewer suggested to ask for a room with a city view as the rooms were brighter and although I was doubtful we did do this and soon found that it was definately the best choice. One side of the Hotel (the parkview) faces a high wall which both blocks any views and sunlight.

Our breakfast at the Glasshouse was a real treat. It is in a building seperate to the Hotel and again very modern but sophisticated. The choice was not huge but the quality was excellant and very much made up for this.

We really enjoyed our stay and they deserve every one of their five stars. It is a place I would not hesitate to stay at again as long as I was with hubby because it is so romantic.

We thank all the staff for their friendliness and hospitality.

Room Tip: I think a room with a balcony would have been perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PegususPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Dear PegususPerth

Thank you so much for selecting Hotel Fort Canning as your preferred choice of accommodation in Singapore. I hope your stay with us was an unforgettable and memorable one.It is indeed our pleasure to have you with us.

Your kind praises to the hotel as well as your heartening compliments to our team are very much appreciated and it will undoubtedly motivate them to strive even better for our guests.

We have reviewed the concerens that you have highlighted and it have since been emphasized to the department for improvement to be made.

Once again, thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning soon.


Yours sincerely
Jasmin Faruk
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    582
    332
    106
    43
    45
See reviews for
126
553
62
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

It's a real shame. The conversion of the building was brilliantly done, and the location, while inconvenient in some respects, is a treat if you're in Singapore on business and are being ferried to meetings by car or taxi anyway. The problem is that the whole place is so darn badly run. They have obviously cut staff to what they think is the absolute minimum number of bodies, but it's not enough to run the place adequately. Twice I called room service and got no answer at all. Once I called the front desk to complain that room service wasn't answering and the front desk didn't answer either! Even worse, the employees they do have are clearly inexperienced and hired primarily because they are cheap. Most were of good will, but simply confused and inept. There wasn't a single day that I didn't have to call and tell the front desk that housekeeping had failed to do something like leave enough towels. And only once did I get any response to my complaint. Whoever the general manager is, he is either the most ineffectual manager in the history of the hotel business or just willfully blind to the inadequacy of his staff. And it really is a darn shame. A beautiful conversion of a historical building has been ruined by cheap and adequate management. Put Ritz Carlton in there and you would have something. Now you have...well, not much.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SukhumvitRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear Sukhumvit Road


Thank you for staying at Hotel Fort Canning, and for your feedback on your stay.

We were dismayed to hear of the inconveniences you experienced during your stay and we can understand your frustration. We pride ourselves on delivering our guests a great experience at all times, we would like to assure you that the challenges you encountered are not an indicative of our usual service standard. Please accept our sincere apologies for any in convenience caused.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and it is only through valuable feedback like yours that we can improve the level of our customer services and satisfaction.

We hope this incident does not mar your memories with us. Should your travel plans take you to Singapore again in future, we hope to have another opportunity to be of service to you.

Yours sincerely
Leslie Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Hotel Fort Canning is a modern and clean hotel, but rooms are not very spacious, and are designed in a way that takes getting used to. We stayed in the deluxe room (with the separate bathroom), which looked a little different than in the pictures on the website. Our bed faced the (huge) bathroom, so when no one was in it the room did feel sort of spacious and airy. However, when people are using the bathroom, the closed doors meant that the rest of the room immediately felt smaller, darker, and too enclosed (because there are no other windows to let the light in). Also, despite the hotel just being over a year old, things were already starting to show wear and tear. For example, the handle on our room door no longer worked, and some of the switches were dangling off the boards.

The hotel servers its guests complimentary wine and canapes but the variety isn't much to talk about. Breakfast is okay. Service was nothing special - despite it being a small hotel, there isn't that much of a personal touch. Overall for its size the hotel could have been warmer and cosier than it was. Would we come back again? Maybe, but only for the same reason we chose the hotel the first time round - it was near an event that we were attending just a five min walk away.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank faayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Faayr

Thank you so much for choosing Hotel Fort Canning as your choice of accommodation in Singapore. We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay with us. It is indeed our pleasure to have had you with us.

Your kind words of praise to the hotel are very much appreciated. Your feedback on various areas have since been investigated and highlighted to the departments concern for improvement to be made.

Once again, thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning soon.

Yours sincerely
Leslie Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed in a Deluxe Garden Room from 10 - 12 Feb 12. It was a rather average sized for a couple but really tiny for our family as we have two young children (5 year old and 3 year old) with us. The fact that there was a bath tub in the room (right next to the bed) was cool but it actually took up a lot of our precious room space whenever we were not using it. The room came with a very small and pleasant 'garden' that was nice for reading books/newspapers. However, the garden wasn't really private because the other side of the garden was a common walkway for hotel staff/guests.

Location was good, secluded enough so that we don't feel like we're really in Singapore. But yet it's not too far away from civilization in that it only takes us about 10 - 15 min to walk to Plaza Singapura (up/down several flights of stairs though).

The hotel is currently carrying out a trial on in-room movies and until the trial is finished, movies are free for us to watch. The choice wasn't extensive but my boys found what they liked -- Despicable Me, Shrek Forever, and Megamind etc.

The three pools were smallish but I really liked them because they were ultra clean and not crowded at all. There was a lap pool (1.2m), a main pool (between 0.9m and 1.7m) and a tiny round children's pool (0.4m). The main pool and children's pool are just next to each other while the lap pool is a flight of stairs away.

Breakfast at The Glass House wasn't fantastic. The food selection was not extensive (no nutella!), and the restaurant couldn't cope with the high volume of guests on the second day that we ate there. Granted that the occupancy was unusually high that day, but even then, constantly running out of food was rather bleah.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Janerty

Thank you so much for choosing Hotel Fort Canning as your choice of accommodation in Singapore. We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay with us. It is indeed our pleasure to have had you with us.

Your kind words of praise to the hotel are very much appreciated. The hotel is relatively new; hence, it will take some time for the greens around the private patio of a Deluxe Garden Room to grow really thick. In your next visit, we recommend a Premium Luxe Room which come with a twin sofa bed would be more spacious and comfortable for a family of four.

Your feedback on our breakfast selections and services have since been investigated and highlighted to the department concern for improvement to be made.

Once again, thank you for your valuable comments. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning soon.


Yours sincerely
Leslie Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Ok first the bad - the hotel is hidden away in a park on a hill, the room smelled a bit of stale air upon arrival and the breakfast could have been better BUT the hotel staff is friendly and engaging, the rooms are beautiful and spacious and they have three pools, although not as large as the pictures on their web site makes them look. The smallest pool is for kids, then their is the freeform and at last the lap pool.

We stayed on the second floor which waas the pool floor so you could put on your swimsuit and dive in, well almost. Since the hotel is located on a hill the views are good and the traffic noice low. The ceiling height in the rooms are close to, if not 4m and our room, the deluxe was good for two. There is lots of storage space. The bathroom has both a walk-in shower and a huge tub.

The location is good eventhough you have to walk about 10 minutes to the closest MRT (through Park Mall) but your close to both Orchard Rd and Clarks Quay. Downtown Singapore is walkable eventhough the heat can get to you.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SushiX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear SushiX

We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay with us. It is indeed our pleasure to have you with us.

Your kind words of praise in your encouraging note are very much appreciated. Once again, thank you for taking time to share your experience with us.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning soon.

Yours sincerely
Leslie Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
1.1 km away
Naumi Hotel
Naumi Hotel
#19 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,041 reviews
0.5 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality
1.0 km away
Fairmont Singapore
Fairmont Singapore
#17 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Grand Park City Hall
Grand Park City Hall
#48 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,364 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Vagabond, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
1.1 km away
InterContinental Singapore
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fort Canning? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fort Canning

Property: Hotel Fort Canning
Address: 11 Canning Walk Hotel Fort Caning, Singapore 178881, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#31 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#36 Business Hotel in Singapore
#42 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,894 - ₹ 18,458
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Fort Canning 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the lush greenery of a historical park, the heritage Hotel Fort Canning offers a discreet sanctuary of calm in the vibrant city and an epitome of style and modern comfort in each of its 86 guestrooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Fort Canning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Canning Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing