We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Converted fort becomes cool hotel”
Review of Hotel Fort Canning

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Fort Canning
Ranked #35 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Converted fort becomes cool hotel”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Ok first the bad - the hotel is hidden away in a park on a hill, the room smelled a bit of stale air upon arrival and the breakfast could have been better BUT the hotel staff is friendly and engaging, the rooms are beautiful and spacious and they have three pools, although not as large as the pictures on their web site makes them look. The smallest pool is for kids, then their is the freeform and at last the lap pool.

We stayed on the second floor which waas the pool floor so you could put on your swimsuit and dive in, well almost. Since the hotel is located on a hill the views are good and the traffic noice low. The ceiling height in the rooms are close to, if not 4m and our room, the deluxe was good for two. There is lots of storage space. The bathroom has both a walk-in shower and a huge tub.

The location is good eventhough you have to walk about 10 minutes to the closest MRT (through Park Mall) but your close to both Orchard Rd and Clarks Quay. Downtown Singapore is walkable eventhough the heat can get to you.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SushiX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear SushiX

We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay with us. It is indeed our pleasure to have you with us.

Your kind words of praise in your encouraging note are very much appreciated. Once again, thank you for taking time to share your experience with us.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning soon.

Yours sincerely
Leslie Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    359
    108
    43
    45
See reviews for
139
586
66
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I'm not sure why some travellers gave such bad review of the room/hotel. It was almost perfect to me and my husband. Service was good, we even got a call from Housekeeping asking if we need any replenishments of amenities since we chose not to have our room house-kept when they went around. Hotel isn't too crowded to make it lose the resort feel. Hotel could have better anticipated the number of guests and made sure there are enough tables and seats for everyone instead of having people queuing to wait for breakfast. Evening free flow of canapes and wine was not worth waiting for. Accesible to MRT and nearest malls are Park Mall and Plaza Singapura. Overall, for the price paid for the quality, it was very worth it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WanderLSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Yvanie

Thank you for choosing Hotel Fort Canning as your choice of accommodation in Singapore. We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay with us. It is indeed our pleasure to have you with us.

Your kind compliments of our service staff are very much appreciated and these will be duly conveyed to them. Indeed, your heartening response and feedback will be shared with all our staff and these will undoubtedly motivate them to strive for even better service for our guests.

Once again, thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning soon.

Yours sincerely
Leslie Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenlyon, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Beautiful restored building with a lot of character. Quiet location in the park. Nice pool area that makes you feel like you are in the middle of the park trees. Friendly and efficient staff. Well appointed rooms with very large bathroom.

Room Tip: City view gives a glimpse of the city, or Park view for a nice tranquil setting
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Judith C

Thank you for choosing Hotel Fort Canning as your choice of accommodation in Singapore. We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay with us. It is indeed our pleasure to have you with us.

Your kind compliments of our service staff are very much appreciated and these will be duly conveyed to them. Indeed, your heartening response and feedback will be shared with all our staff and these will undoubtedly motivate them to strive for even better service for our guests.

Once again, thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning soon.

Yours sincerely
Leslie Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City, Country
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Hotel Fort Canning was everything all the trip advisor reviews said it was. Loved being in the middle of Fort Canning Park but close to MRT and all other attractions. Very friendly staff and food at both restaurants was good. Lovely old colonial building but very trendy inside. Loved our stay at Hotel Fort Canning.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timberhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Timberhead

Dear XXX

Thank you for choosing Hotel Fort Canning as your choice of accommodation in Singapore. We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay with us. It is indeed our pleasure to have you with us.

Your kind compliments of our service staff are very much appreciated and these will be duly conveyed to them. Indeed, your heartening response and feedback will be shared with all our staff and these will undoubtedly motivate them to strive for even better service for our guests.

Once again, thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning soon.

Yours sincerely
Leslie Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aliso Viejo, California
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Hotel Fort Canning is a top-notch 5* boutique hotel - although that isn't saying a whole lot in Singapore, which has more than a fair share of high-end hotels from which to choose... What really sets HFC apart from most other 4-5* accommodation in this city is it's location and relative value.

Set behind the Singapore National Museum in Fort Canning Park, the hotel is at the East end of Orchard Rd. This makes for a quiet, leafy, and relatively secluded location in which to enjoy your stay, in contrast to the busy street life that accompanies most Orchard hotels. This location is also the hotel's main drawback, since any quick journey (even to a 7-Eleven) usually involves a car or taxi, and doesn't offer immediate access to the city's amenities. It's not impossible to walk to public transportation or to the commercial district, but it will take some time (5 -15 minutes). And, as the hotel is on a hill, any return walk will have to contend with the S'pore humidity. However, if you're looking for a peaceful location, or green space for exercise or to play with the kids, then this location is excellent. You can truly forget you're in the city...

Rooms are as advertised with touch-automated controls for everything (think iPod classic), super-high ceilings that make the room seem even larger than it is, and separate offices from the sleeping area. The pools and gym are excellent, as are the free wi-fi and complimentary evening drinks (wine/champagne). Service is superb, and the on-site (though separately managed) Italian restaurant is fantastic. Breakfast is comprehensive.

Paid around $260 nett, which was a relative value to comparable hotels in this category/location.

Room Tip: Entry-level rooms have park views, so if you want a view of the city skyline, choose an upgraded roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaikoG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear MaikoG

Thank you for choosing Hotel Fort Canning as your choice of accommodation in Singapore. We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay with us. It is indeed our pleasure to have you with us.

Your kind compliments of our service staff are very much appreciated and these will be duly conveyed to them. Indeed, your heartening response and feedback will be shared with all our staff and these will undoubtedly motivate them to strive for even better service for our guests.

Once again, thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning soon.

Yours sincerely
Leslie Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
1.1 km away
Naumi Hotel
Naumi Hotel
#16 of 312 in Singapore
2,190 reviews
0.5 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality
1.8 km away
SO Sofitel Singapore
SO Sofitel Singapore
#30 of 312 in Singapore
1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Fairmont Singapore
Fairmont Singapore
#15 of 312 in Singapore
5,821 reviews
1.1 km away
PARKROYAL on Pickering
PARKROYAL on Pickering
#21 of 312 in Singapore
2,803 reviews
1.1 km away
InterContinental Singapore
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 312 in Singapore
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fort Canning? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fort Canning

Property: Hotel Fort Canning
Address: 11 Canning Walk Hotel Fort Caning, Singapore 178881, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#31 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#35 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#36 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,747 - ₹ 23,370
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Fort Canning 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the lush greenery of a historical park, the heritage Hotel Fort Canning offers a discreet sanctuary of calm in the vibrant city and an epitome of style and modern comfort in each of its 86 guestrooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hotel Fort Canning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Canning Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing