We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Peace and quiet in the middle of a city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Fort Canning

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Fort Canning
Ranked #40 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
City, Country
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peace and quiet in the middle of a city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Hotel Fort Canning was everything all the trip advisor reviews said it was. Loved being in the middle of Fort Canning Park but close to MRT and all other attractions. Very friendly staff and food at both restaurants was good. Lovely old colonial building but very trendy inside. Loved our stay at Hotel Fort Canning.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timberhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Timberhead

Dear XXX

Thank you for choosing Hotel Fort Canning as your choice of accommodation in Singapore. We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay with us. It is indeed our pleasure to have you with us.

Your kind compliments of our service staff are very much appreciated and these will be duly conveyed to them. Indeed, your heartening response and feedback will be shared with all our staff and these will undoubtedly motivate them to strive for even better service for our guests.

Once again, thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning soon.

Yours sincerely
Leslie Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    568
    320
    105
    41
    44
See reviews for
125
536
61
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

Hotel Fort Canning is a top-notch 5* boutique hotel - although that isn't saying a whole lot in Singapore, which has more than a fair share of high-end hotels from which to choose... What really sets HFC apart from most other 4-5* accommodation in this city is it's location and relative value.

Set behind the Singapore National Museum in Fort Canning Park, the hotel is at the East end of Orchard Rd. This makes for a quiet, leafy, and relatively secluded location in which to enjoy your stay, in contrast to the busy street life that accompanies most Orchard hotels. This location is also the hotel's main drawback, since any quick journey (even to a 7-Eleven) usually involves a car or taxi, and doesn't offer immediate access to the city's amenities. It's not impossible to walk to public transportation or to the commercial district, but it will take some time (5 -15 minutes). And, as the hotel is on a hill, any return walk will have to contend with the S'pore humidity. However, if you're looking for a peaceful location, or green space for exercise or to play with the kids, then this location is excellent. You can truly forget you're in the city...

Rooms are as advertised with touch-automated controls for everything (think iPod classic), super-high ceilings that make the room seem even larger than it is, and separate offices from the sleeping area. The pools and gym are excellent, as are the free wi-fi and complimentary evening drinks (wine/champagne). Service is superb, and the on-site (though separately managed) Italian restaurant is fantastic. Breakfast is comprehensive.

Paid around $260 nett, which was a relative value to comparable hotels in this category/location.

Room Tip: Entry-level rooms have park views, so if you want a view of the city skyline, choose an upgraded roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaikoG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear MaikoG

Thank you for choosing Hotel Fort Canning as your choice of accommodation in Singapore. We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay with us. It is indeed our pleasure to have you with us.

Your kind compliments of our service staff are very much appreciated and these will be duly conveyed to them. Indeed, your heartening response and feedback will be shared with all our staff and these will undoubtedly motivate them to strive for even better service for our guests.

Once again, thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning soon.

Yours sincerely
Leslie Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

The hotel is a converted colonial building. As with many hotels in Singapore, it is very centrally located with respect to the main sights and activities in Singapore. What makes this unique is its quiet location- very rare in Singapore, with Fort Canning Park right behind it. Most tourists rave about other 4 or 5* hotels' locations, but in reality this is not a big differentiation in such a small place as Singapore. Peace and quiet through being at Fort Canning Park, double glazing and not being overlooked is very unusual in Singapore. (I'm not a tourst, I live here- we took a staycation.)

It has all the facilities you would expect from a 5* hotel- one of the best gyms I have ever used in a hotel (and quiet!) and better than average pools (except compared to MBS).

Nice restaurants and bars if you like Italian food. Breakfast buffet was pretty good.
Free wifi and internet.
Rooms look just like those shown on website.
Staff were friendly and helpful, although not as plentiful as you find in other 5* (but chain / bland) hotels.

We had a young infant. The cot provided was pretty average quality and did not have the right fitting bedding (mattress and sheets). We just brought along our moses basket, but not everyone would be so lucky. Please raise your game HFC and buy at least one decent cot!

Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank IJB_Cavendish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear IJB Canvendish

Thank you so much for choosing Hotel Fort Canning as your choice of accommodation in Singapore. We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay with us. It is indeed our pleasure to have had you with us.

Your kind words of praise to the hotel are very much appreciated. Your feedback on various areas have since been investigated and highlighted to the department concern for improvement to be made.

Once again, thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning soon.

Yours sincerely
Leslie Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

This hotel is located within Fort Canning Park, which is like a small botanical gardens. The park is great to walk through, and also has some tourist sites (the Battle Box etc). We enjoyed the location, as it was about 5 minutes walk to the marina/quay areas in one direction, and 5 minutes walk to Orchard road (shopping) in the other.

To the hotel itself,

Pros:

1. Beautiful old building, only 3-4 levels, so you didn't feel like you were in a massive, crowded hotel.
2. Nice pool areas, with 2 separate pools.
3. Rooms are very nicely designed, a bit different - modern/stylish. The glass doors leading to the bathroom, and the full wall window from the bathroom looking over the singapore skyline was stunning.
4. Great service, including opportunity to have a freshen up/shower later in the day after checking-out in the morning.

Cons:

1. Taxi drivers don't seem to know the place exists - we had to constantly give directions, or ask for Fort Canning park in general.
2. Buffet breakfast was okay, without being great.

In summary - highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BFGMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear BFGMelbourne

Thank you so much for choosing Hotel Fort Canning as your choice of accommodation in Singapore. We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay with us. It is indeed our pleasure to have had you with us.

Your kind words of praise to the hotel are very much appreciated. Your feedback on various areas have since been investigated and highlighted to the department concern for improvement to be made.

Once again, thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning soon.

Yours sincerely
Leslie Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

We stayed in the Hotel Fort Canning 5 Nights in December 2011. The Rooms and the Hotel were very nice and especially the huge garden sorrounding it was lovley. Unfortunetly the Service was not so good. My room did not get cleaned and I had to tell the roomservice 2 days in a row that my room has not been made (althought it was empty the whole day). Furthermore i really wanted to take a bath but the shower head was broken and the water ran out. When my parents checked out it was nearly impossible explaining the staff, that they wanted to pay for my room as well althought I was staying longer.
The breakfest was nice but nothing special. The rooms were wondefully designed and very quiet (a pleasure while staying in Singapore). Also notable is the location of the Hotel. It is not to far from a MRT-Train Station and near the famous Orchad Road.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrauKpunkt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Natalie K

Thank you so much for choosing Hotel Fort Canning as your choice of accommodation in Singapore. We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay with us. It is indeed our pleasure to have had you with us.

Your kind words of praise to the hotel are very much appreciated. Your feedback on various areas have since been investigated and highlighted to the department concern for improvement to be made.

Once again, thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning soon.

Yours sincerely
Leslie Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
1.1 km away
Naumi Hotel
Naumi Hotel
#19 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
1.0 km away
Fairmont Singapore
Fairmont Singapore
#16 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,460 reviews
0.5 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
The Quincy Hotel by Far East Hospitality
0.6 km away
Grand Park City Hall
Grand Park City Hall
#46 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,298 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Vagabond, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fort Canning? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fort Canning

Property: Hotel Fort Canning
Address: 11 Canning Walk Hotel Fort Caning, Singapore 178881, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#31 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#36 Business Hotel in Singapore
#40 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,147 - ₹ 22,069
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Fort Canning 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the lush greenery of a historical park, the heritage Hotel Fort Canning offers a discreet sanctuary of calm in the vibrant city and an epitome of style and modern comfort in each of its 86 guestrooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Hotel Fort Canning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Canning Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing