We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and great location”
Review of Ark Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ark Hostel
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Good value and great location”
Reviewed 23 December 2011

After reading others experiences here, I guess I had a better experience. The most important thing for me is a cheap place with a comfy bed and I got exactly that here. Far from perfect, but comfy enough, nice people and very convenient for the price (Singapore is generally an expensive city!!!). If you want luxury, stay in a hotel. If you want value for money, go here.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardOsmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArkHostelSingapore, Guest Relations Manager at Ark Hostel, responded to this review, 21 December 2016
There has since been a refurbishment and change of management since Dec 2015. This review is outdated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    22
    11
    13
    6
See reviews for
19
11
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2011

My Korean friend in Singapore introduce me this hostel. I stayed there for about one week, and enjoy our holidays in Singapore. We find this hostel reasonable reasonable good for privacy and simple and ok.

Room Tip: 2nd floor has more shower rooms for guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tong Ko L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArkHostelSingapore, Guest Relations Manager at Ark Hostel, responded to this review, 21 December 2016
There has since been a refurbishment and change of management since Dec 2015. This review is outdated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We picked this as it was one of the cheapest we found. Rooms were basic but adequate as we did not plan to spend too much time in our room. The station was a quick 3 minute walk away and 10 minutes ride into town.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArkHostelSingapore, Guest Relations Manager at Ark Hostel, responded to this review, 21 December 2016
There has since been a refurbishment and change of management since Dec 2015. This review is outdated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We stayed in Singapore for 6 days and the first hostel we stayed in was so bad we had to move out. Fortunately, we were able to find this hostel at short notice. The price was reasonable but the location was great. Travel into town was under 20 minutes and food was readily available in the vicinity. Staff were generally helpful in helping plan our journeys. The rooms were basic but I suppose that is what you expect with the price. If you are after a cheap room at a convenient location, I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ravi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArkHostelSingapore, Guest Relations Manager at Ark Hostel, responded to this review, 21 December 2016
There has since been a refurbishment and change of management since Dec 2015. This review is outdated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

The hostel is rather value for money. Not sure if I was lucky but the staff were quite friendly to me. Although the room is small but since everything required was provided I am pretty okay with everything as I am only at the hostel to sleep. Very affordable. hence, bearable n not too bad. :) great location in sense of ease of navigation.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peggy y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArkHostelSingapore, Guest Relations Manager at Ark Hostel, responded to this review, 21 December 2016
There has since been a refurbishment and change of management since Dec 2015. This review is outdated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
2.6 km away
No photo provided
Hotel 81 Fuji
#282 of 307 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel 81 Kovan
Hotel 81 Kovan
#184 of 307 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
1.4 km away
Blanc Inn
Blanc Inn
#39 of 225 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
ABC Premium Hostel
ABC Premium Hostel
#95 of 225 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
1.7 km away
7 Wonders Hostel
7 Wonders Hostel
#86 of 225 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.1 km away
Joyfor Singapore
Joyfor Singapore
#79 of 225 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ark Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ark Hostel

Property: Ark Hostel
Address: 89 Geylang Road, Singapore 389203, Singapore (Formerly Ideal Backpackers Hostel)
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 225 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,601 - ₹ 6,480
Hotel Class:2 star — Ark Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Air-conditioned family and dormitory rooms are available at Ark Hostel, a short 3-minute walk from Kallang MRT Station. With free WiFi available throughout the property, the hostel is minutes' from famous local eateries at Geylang Road that include both halal and non-halal options. Self-service laundry facilities are available at an extra charge. The air-conditioned rooms all come with a flat-screen TV. Lockers are available outside the room. Bathroom facilities are shared and equipped with a shower. Most rooms do not come with windows. Ark Hostel is also 5-minute walk from Stadium MRT Station. By train, it is within 10 minutes' from City Hall or Dhoby Ghaut MRT Stations. Changi International Airport is a 25-minute drive away. This property is also rated for the best value in Singapore! Guests are getting more for their money when compared to other properties in this city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ark Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ideal Backpackers Hotel Singapore
Ark Hostel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing