We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money in Singapore”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club
Ranked #112 of 316 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 26 April 2012

If travelling from changi airport easy mrt route to city hall station which is just across road from hotel. Don't get off at raffles place station as a fair walk away. Mrt is cheap and very clean and efficient/ safe during evenings. We stayed in twin room which was directly in front of the busy road and was told that only the double rooms were in front of the cricket pitch. Traffic noise noticeable and secondary double glazing would have been helpful to minimise noise. Room was large and good fixtures and fittings. Air con quiet and effective. Mini fridge and tea/ coffee making facitlities. Walk in shower ( no bath) plentiful toiletries and house keeping excellent. Satellite tv and iPod docking station. Free in room wireless Internet with excellent reception. Breakfast served in downstairs poolside cafe which was good with friendly staff. It didn't have fancy tables and linen but was more than adequate to start the day. Have stayed in Singapore twice before and this was the best location for convenience and excellent value for money. Would certainly return again and recommend to others. The members of the club itself who we met in the reception or in the lifts were so pleasant and would take the time to say hello and be welcoming. Five minutes walk to raffles hotel. We caught mrt to botanic gardens, orchard road, Singapore zoo ( mrt and then bus ride) marina bay sands is also a walk away ( turn right outside hotel and cross walkway) we also used taxis for speed and convenience which were affordable due to location of hotel.( use taxi rank across the road at swisshotel Stamford hotel) raffles city shopping complex right next to mrt which also had some great eating facilities together with McDonald's, Starbucks etc. Ensure to book ahead as hotel is very popular which isnt surprising as its certainly great value for money in an expensive city. Will return in the future......

Room Tip: Be aware that twin rooms are on the road side of hotel and there is traffic noise.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LindsayCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (894)
There are newer reviews for The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

600 - 604 of 894 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2012

Nice clean modern room, excellent location, we followed advice on here and asked for room overlooking the padang, nice and quiet with a nice view, shared balcony with 2 or 3 other rooms, only 1 slight drawback was that we got the impression that health club took priority over hotel guests.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the Padang
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJSPOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

With the many hotels in Singapore that I was considering, I chose this place because of the consistent positive feedback from hotel reviewers and its affordable price. True enough, our expectations were even exceeded because of the excellent customer service ;  its accessibility to almost all tourists spots ; very good and clean facilities  and room fixtures ; very good food served by the restaurant.  We are a family of four with 2 children and  we are glad that our requests during booking were all granted. We arrived early at the hotel and were allowed to check-in much earlier. The front desk staff at the third floor were friendly and accommodating and very quick in acting on requests.  We were even assisted in packaging our additional luggage. I can say that excellent service is present in all areas -  entrance/lobby ,  front desk, restaurant. Even the manager and supervisor were assisting personally all the guests.  We are also happy on the tasteful buffet breakfast with many selections and very nice ambience. Most of all, the place is actually at the center of the city with just a few steps from City Hall MRT and several other malls, fast food chains, supermarkets, and tourist spots.  We are all satisfied with this hotel/recreation club. We will surely be back here in our next travel to Singapore.  

Room Tip: Request for a room with a nice view of the football area
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LADYMMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

It is right across the road from Raffles City and the MRT is also under Raffles City. So I'd say location is its best point. I walked to the Casino at Marina Bay. It took 15 mins. On the way I passed Marina Square, more shopping places.

The breakfast was so-so on first morning and I skipped by the second morning after seeing that it was the same as the first. But, no smell from the swimming pool.

Room was of decent size and shower was powerful in a reasonably large bathroom. I liked the in room free wifi and the free use of a desktop and printer at the lobby.
I'd definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wct38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We were so pleased to have found this hotel, bang in the middle of Singapore.

The hotel's atmosphere is subdued and friendly, which is welcome after the hub bub that is Singapore. Booking in was very relaxed and professional and the rooms have an inclusive club feel (my husband is already on his way to use the gym and pool). Our room looks over the Padang - a view which is very special - but also means that its really quiet - no traffic noise!

The room is very comfortable and set up either for holiday/travellers or business folk. Fast , free wifi and large LCD TV are standard.

The western breakfast was very plentiful , varied and tasty ( espresso coffee on demand)

We made a mistake with our booking (all our fault) and all the staff went out of their way to help sort it out. Especial thanks to Duncan the manager.

We would definitely come again and recommend it to or friends

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CeeBeePee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Naumi Hotel
#16 of 316 in Singapore
2,268 reviews
Grand Park City Hall
#51 of 316 in Singapore
2,493 reviews
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
#116 of 316 in Singapore
4,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Marina Mandarin Singapore
Marina Mandarin Singapore
#49 of 316 in Singapore
5,891 reviews
Fairmont Singapore
#20 of 316 in Singapore
6,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club

Address: B Connaught Drive Singapore Recreation Club, Singapore 179682, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Business Hotel in Singapore
#94 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 26 deluxe rooms, in a central location conveniently located near the business district, major attractions and shopping centres, The Residence at Singapore Recreation Club offers travellers an oasis of entertainment and pleasure. Located just minutes away from Singapore's newly opened integrated resorts, it is perfect for those new to the Lion city or visitors who want to experience Singapore in a new light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing