We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really bad. Don't stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Far East Plaza Residences by Far East Hospitality
Certificate of Excellence
Sentosa Island, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really bad. Don't stay here!”
Reviewed 5 March 2011

The only good thing about the Far East Plaza Apartments is the location. From there it is all downhill. For a start the room looked nothing like the pictures you see on their website. I was in a two bedroom apartment and it was old and very drab and well overdue for an update. The curtains were falling apart, paint was peeling and there was mould about. There was a strong musty smell and the room was not clean. The bathroom was shocking. It had lots of mould and was not very clean. Plus the shower would not work. Sleep quality was bad. There was lots of traffic noise from outside (even though I was on the 24th floor) and there was also lots of internal noise due to the atrium design of the building. I had been promised an upgraded renovated room when I made my booking. I mentioned to the apartment staff that my room looked nothing like those on the website and they claimed that I was in a renovated room. Sure, there were some new very basic cabinets in the kitchen and a new washer/dryer but I think it was quite misleading to claim that the room had been renovated. I was due to stay at the Far East Plaza Apartments for two months but because it was so bad and that I felt I had been seriously mislead I checked out after just one night. Fortunately my company was able to organise something more appropriate.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozzietraveller101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fareast60, General Manager at Far East Plaza Residences by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on Far East Plaza Serviced Apartments. We sincerely apologised for the inconveniences that you encounter during your stay with us. We would like to assure you that we will strive to provide a better stay experience on your next visit.

We are currently undergoing refurbishment to our apartments to provide our guests with better stay experience.

We look forward to welcoming you to Far East Plaza on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    128
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
180
9
8
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach County, FL
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2011

The Far East Plaza serviced apartments are right at the heart of Orchard and Scotts Roads so can't complain about the location. However, as soon as we opened the door to our apartment we were very disppointed. The property was likely not renovated since the 70's. It looked nothing like the pictures on their website. There were tiny ants all over the kitchen so if you left any food or crumbs out it would be covered with ants in minutes. The floors needed a good mopping and the carpets were dirty, so much so that if you walked barefoot for an hour your feet would turn black. So, not the greatest feeling staying there with 2 young kids. So, unfortunately, I wouldn't recommend staying there especially since it really wasn't all that cheap either (by Singapore standards).

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank road9traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fareast60, General Manager at Far East Plaza Residences by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on Far East Plaza Serviced Apartments. We sincerely apologised for the inconveniences that you encounter during your stay with us. We would like to assure you that we will strive to provide a better stay experience on your next visit.

We are currently undergoing refurbishment to our apartments to provide our guests with better stay experience.

We look forward to welcoming you to Far East Plaza on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2011

Good enough but wouldn't recommend / come back unless under $120 per room per night. To its credit the rooms are of a really good size, the free internet and plasma TV with cable are a real plus along with a very central location along with pool.

The down side is that whilst IT IS clean and tidy, the primary problem is the street noise from the outside (even high up) and customer noise from the inside (atrium design that echos up the whole way). If you are an especially light sleeper you will hate this place.

Additionally, my particular room had an odd musk smell in every cupboard which was odd but managable.

In short, a good place IF you can get it on the cheap and could use more than 1 bedroom, additional space etc. due to kids - otherwise I'd pay extra and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monkeyboy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fareast60, General Manager at Far East Plaza Residences by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on Far East Plaza Serviced Apartments. We sincerely apologised for the inconveniences that you encounter during your stay with us. We would like to assure you that we will strive to provide a better stay experience on your next visit.

We are currently undergoing refurbishment to our apartments to provide our guests with better stay experience.

We look forward to welcoming you to Far East Plaza on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
176 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

I spent 2 months at this place and have very fond memories. It is right in the heart of the city and is well connected to every corner of Singapore. Room service was excellent. The only thing lacking was a good restaurant but as it is situated over a mall, this was never a big issue. The pool is pretty awesome and so is the squash court. Overall, loved the experience.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aayushrivastava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fareast60, General Manager at Far East Plaza Residences by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review to compliment Far East Plaza Serviced Apartments and our staff. It is such compliments that will spur our staff to continue to provide excellent service to our all guests.

We look forward to welcoming you to Far East Plaza on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandurah Western Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2010

My family and I travel to Singapore every year and have stayed at many serviced apartments. We found a great deal for the Far East Plaza Serviced Apartments for January 2010 on the internet and booked for three weeks. We did request a lower floor apartment, but ended up on the 22nd floor with the most amazing views of Singapore. Our three bedroom apartment, was clean and spacious. The kitchen was well equipped with a gas hotplate and full size oven, which most other apartments have not had. Yes, the apartment was a bit "tired" and could use some renovation, but the location and value for money definately made this of little consequence to us. I did have issues with the mattress in the master bedroom, but a call to the Maintenance Section, had them changing the mattress for a softer one by the end of the day. We did find the noise from the airconditioning units on the shopping centre below a little annoying as they run 24 hours a day, and would next time prefer to stay on the other side of the building facing the Goodwood Hotel. We did have some other small issues, problems with the safe and airconditioning unit leaking, but all were fixed quickly by their efficient Maintenance Team.

My boys loved the Billiards room, and Gym. They also spent hours swimming in the pool. The seventh floor was a great place to just sit and chill out after a day of shopping, and the breeze was fantastic. There is a small playground, a jacuzzi and laundry facilities also located on this floor.

The apartment location was great. Only a short walk to Orchard Road, bus stops and the Orchard MRT. Food places were everywhere !!!!! Our best find was the Hiannese Delicasy on the 5th Floor of the Far East Plaza Shopping Centre below the apartments for the BEST Chicken Rice in Singapore for only $4 . Food Republic at Wisma Atria, The food hall at Takyshimia and ION Shopping centre were only a few minutes walk away. So close to food and great shops - what more could you want. I picked up a virus during our holiday and found a great doctor at the Takashimia building, Tower B on the 27th floor. Everything that you need is only a short walk away - which makes this an unbeatable location to stay in Singapore.

We will definately be back to stay at the Far East Plaza for our next holiday to Singapore. Their friendly staff and outstanding location make this the perfect place to stay for a week or longer with your family.

Thankyou to the staff of Far East Plaza for making this one of our best holidays yet !!!!

The Wells Family
Mandurah, Western Australia

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wellsofwannanup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fareast60, General Manager at Far East Plaza Residences by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review to compliment Far East Plaza Serviced Apartments and our staff. It is such compliments that will spur our staff to continue to provide excellent service to our all guests.

We look forward to welcoming you to Far East Plaza on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Royal Plaza on Scotts
#46 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,273 reviews
Grand Hyatt Singapore
#40 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel
Orchard Road
Pan Pacific Orchard
Pan Pacific Orchard
#28 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
Orchard Road
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
#71 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Far East Plaza Residences by Far East Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Far East Plaza Residences by Far East Hospitality

Property: Far East Plaza Residences by Far East Hospitality
Address: 14 Scotts Road Far East Plaza, Singapore 228213, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 225 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,781 - ₹ 17,776
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Far East Plaza Residences by Far East Hospitality 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at Far East Plaza Residences provides guests with a whole new experience. The Residence is integrated with the popular Far East Plaza Shopping Centre, which has a wide variety of retail outlets and broad selection of local as well as international cuisines. For more shopping, dining and entertainment options, Orchard Road, Singapore's main shopping belt is a short stroll away with some of the newest malls. If you would like to venture further, the nearby Orchard MRT station provides easy access to the rest of Singapore. Guests have a choice of 139 apartments ranging from two-bedroom units to spacious penthouses, which provide you with a home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Far East Plaza Residences by Far East Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Far East Plaza Serviced Apartments Hotel Singapore
Far East Plaza Residences By Far East Hospitality Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing